We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is an older property but relatively clean and well maintained. The manager, Linda is friendly and very attentive and helpful. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which we got online for a discounted rate. The kitchen was quite old and should probably be updated. The bench top was scorched and the drawers were very sticky and difficult to open and close, but it was adequate and had lots of dishes supplied. We were able to cook 5 of our 8 meals, which saved us a lot of money on eating out. There is a fabulous restaurant across the street with excellent food and service. very convenient!The shower curtain needed to be replaced and Linda promptly made a note of this. Pool was clean and refreshing, I went swimming every day. There was only A/C in the bedroom but with the door open and the bathroom door kept closed, it stayed adequately cool in the apartment. The bed was a bit firm for our liking and the apartment felt a bit cramped. There was no DVD in the apartment, but Linda supplied a cable so we could watch a movie I chose from their collection. Overall, good value for money, but I might stay in a premium apartment if I book again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose a premium updated apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nice comfortable apartments and very affordable for families. 1 block from the beach and you can see the ocean from your balcony even on the ground floor. Linda the manager was very friendly and helpful. Its a bit of a drive from Cairns but the quiet relaxed area makes up for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Clifton Sands. Very much enjoyed the experience. The apartment was comfortable and well sized and had a an ocean view. Linda the manager was friendly and helpful. If you look for a friendly laid-back comfortable, self contained and affordable place to stay don,t look any further. The buses to the CBD stop almost at the front door and the environment is quiet.
Joop & Frieda Wieringa

Room Tip: Rooms on the Swimming pool side have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suikerklontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This place was a real gem, we had not stayed in apartments before and what a treat, everything that you could possibly need or want - 3 minutes from a magnificent beach. Right on the bus stop was great - we could go where ever we wanted.
Linda was a real perfect host, nothing was too much and she was a real source of excellent information and directed us to the best snorkel experience on the GBR.

Room Tip: upstairs is best because you can see the sea, 3rd floor at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonSands_11, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi, Thanks for your wonderful review! It's always good to know people have enjoyed their stay with us at Clifton Sands, and it's a pleasure to have such a kaleidoscope of Guests from all over the world. The top floor apartments do have great views of the Coral Sea, but all of the others have views through the gardens to the sea - even on the ground floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights in apartment 17 and really enjoyed it.

The apartment was clean, and spacious enough. The apartment had a well sized balcony with Ocean view. Kitchen and laundry was fully equipped. Living and bedroom has air con and fans.

Linda, the business owner, was always helpful and very friendly-excellent customer service. The price level was very affordable with great value.

We enjoyed the calm location, but it is central enough to get to Palms Cove (5min) or Cairns (15min) by car.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonSands_11, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you both - model Guests! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay so much - and look forward to seeing some of you photos on Clifton Sands FB page of your day on Ocean Freedom. See you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stay for nearly two weeks. Excellent place to stay, comfortable with a useful balcony and nice common places to read or use the BBQ. Easy to move anywhere around the beaches; excellent and friendly attention from Linda. The apartment was very spacious, clean and equipped. The kitchen had everything you needed for a self catering. We leave thinking in our return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank australia013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonSands_11, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Santiago y Catalina,

Great to know you are home safe in Patagonia! Thank you for posting photos, love the kookaburra. We miss you around in the mornings with your teapot...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for 9nts in July 2013, we originally came across these apartments on Wimdu but decided to book direct in a 'value plus' apt at a very good rate of $79pnt.
The apartment was very spacious, clean and well equipped, the kitchen had everything you needed for a self catering stay.
The Manager Linda was very friendly and always around in the day if you needed anything.
There is a bus stop right outside either taking you to Palm Cove in one direction or Cairns in the other (going via Smithfield shopping centre).
Lovely quiet beach at the end of the road.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riddler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonSands_11, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Great to know you had such an enjoyable time with us here at Clifton Sands. We do have the perfect combination of location, quality and value for money I believe. Thank you for helping to make us Number One here on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
0.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
1.8 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: Clifton Sands Holiday Units 81 - 87 Guide St | Entrance on Clifton Road, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £55 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the gently breaking waves, Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments at Clifton Beach is the ideal choice for a relaxed holiday in a beautiful beach-side village. All apartments look over the gardens to the Coral Sea beyond. The casual, laid-back atmosphere is an ideal escape for those seeking to be away from the rush and stress of modern living. Our spacious and well appointed one bedroom apartments are an ideal base to explore all that the Tropical North has to offer. We are - without doubt - the best value accommodation on the Cairns Northern Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing