We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located good value”
Review of Clifton Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Palms
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Spent 10 nights at the Clifton Palms. It is well located for exploring the region. Close to a good shopping center, the beach and walking distance to Palm Cove shops and restaurants. Kerryn was very helpful and knowledgable about the area and very helpful with booking trips. Units while quite basic are comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robynj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

So glad we found this place! Was trying to find a reasonably-priced place to spend two nights in the Cairns area and came across this here on Trip Advisor. I am from Minnesota. I had never been to the tropics before. What a great introduction! This place is so cute. We arrived later in the evening but the proprietor, Kerryn, saw us and came to welcome. She even helped us reschedule our snorkel trip to a different day for nicer weather. It truly was like an apartment. We parked right in front of our unit. There is a little living room, kitchen and bedroom and bathroom. All is clean. White and shiny comes to mind. We used the laundry facilities which were average. The kitchen had everything we needed to make ourselves nice breakfasts. Again, coming from Minnesota, it is strange not to have carpet and sleep with the windows open, but it was great, waking up to the sounds of exotic birds. There are a few units, and some were occupied, but we felt like we were the only ones there. Just down and across the street is beach access. We walked to the Palm Cove area which has nice shops and cafes. And there is a little mall just a few blocks from the apartments along the highway. It felt like home away from home, like staying with a favorite aunt. I highly recommend this quaint, relaxing place during your stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank packhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at Clifton Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay
and were able to share 'our piece of paradise"!
The Northern Beaches of Cairns are such a great location to access all
the tours available in Cairns and Far North and yet our property allows our guests a little peace and quiet also.
I very much hope to be able to welcome you back to Clifton Palms at some point in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Excellent base for day trips to Karunda, Port Douglas, Daintree and the tablelands. Extensive tour and attractions information and advice provided by the owner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights for our honney month, and we rejoiced our choice -- Clifton Palms. Good location, so nere the beach, market and the bus stop. Reasonable price for us also.
Kerryn was so nice to gave us most of suggestions to arrange our diving and Kurranda trip. We missed our plane the day when we flied to Cairns and delayed arrival, so she ready the room for us and left the key on the table with a gift in the refrigerator, is's so warm! When we asked about the direction to the zoo nearby, she was so kindly drived us there. Thank you so much Kerryn to gave us a wonderful and unforgetful memories in Cairns. If we are back to Carins one day, we will back to Clifton Palms!
Only one thing, the air-condition was too noisy ^_^

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhou z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My mother and I stayed at Clifton Palms for 5 nights and we had a wonderful time. We only requested a 1 bedroom condo but the owner upgraded us to a 2 bedroom for virtually nothing (only a small laundry fee each night). The apartment was comfortable, clean and well stocked. Air conditioner that worked great and fans in the bedrooms for hot nights. The entire complex was always peaceful and quiet and the owner was friendly incredibly helpful with any activities we were trying to plan. The best thing about this accommodation is that it is literally across the road from one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. There were hardly anyone on the beach at the same time as us, and if they were, they were locals because it is located in a residential area. My mother and I both had an amazing time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at Clifton Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

many thnkas for taking the time to review our property.
I'm glad you enjoyed the upgrade of apartment - in quiet months we are happy to offer 'best room' available regardless of tariff paid.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our 'little piece of paradise' !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This place is so clean- it's cleaner than my house! It is well maintained and beautiful. Hosts are friendly and helpful. Kitchen is well stocked. It's a great choice if you want to self cater and it's good deal for the money. Onsite laundry and pool. Grocery store very close. Kangaroos right on the other side of the fence. The time we were there was rainy, but it was OK because it was such a nice indoor space. Close walk to Clifton Beach.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank judiPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at Clifton Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Sincere thanks for taking the time to review Clifton Palms.
Your comments are very much welcomed and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We liked this place! Kerryn was really helpful in arranging our booking beforehand, and in helping with local advice on trips etc., after arrival. The unit was clean, and met our needs, very quiet and ideally located for a peaceful stay, with places of interest in easy reach. The hotel is within walking distance of a Coles supermarket, take-away food shops, a pizzeria and a Thai restaurant, and it's a lovely walk along the beach to Palm Cove. There is a bus stop just outside the Clifton Palms, though we were picked up from the hotel for our trips to Kuranda and to the Barrier Reef, and also walked along to Cairns Zoo, another great day out! The beach near Clifton Palms is beautiful, we found the pool area very relaxing, with plenty of shade, in peaceful surroundings. Happy to recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at Clifton Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your review of Clifton Palms and kind words.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed our property, the area and some of our many
great attractions here in paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argosy on the Beach
Argosy on the Beach
#2 of 7 in Clifton Beach
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
#1 of 3 in Clifton Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Warrawong Lodge
Warrawong Lodge
#2 of 3 in Clifton Beach
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
#3 of 7 in Clifton Beach
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Lahania by the Sea
#5 of 7 in Clifton Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Palms

Address: 35 Upolu Esp, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £115 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 one and two bedroom fully self contained apartments set within one acre of tropical gardens, located opposite the beachfront at Clifton Beach.Central for all activities incl Skyrail, Kuranda, Daintree rainforest and Great Barrier Reef tours. Free Wifi now available.Relaxing ...Private ...Peaceful ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifton Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Palms Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing