We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with a Personal Touch”
Review of Clifton Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Palms
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This single-storey, motel style hotel is in walking distance to the beach and a shopping center. We enjoyed our own bbq outside, next to the pool. There is plenty of room to park a car and sit outside. The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have enjoyed extended stays (7/9 nights) here in recent years as a couple or as a family. Clifton Palms is extremely well situated with a beach across the road and a convenient bus stop and Shopping village nearby.
This month we stayed for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The units are comfortable and spotlessly clean as usual. The good laundry facilties are a bonus.

Normally Kerryn and this time, Isobel always do a great job to make our stay pleasant.

We shall definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked to stay here for 11 nights with our 2 kids (5&3) based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a great stay and our kids LOVED the pool, which although not large, with the property being so small was never crowded, in fact it almost felt like our own pool, most of the time! Rooms are clean and linen crisp and staff very friendly and knowledgeable about tours etc.Whilst not the largest rooms, it was adequate for our small kids and us.

I had been to Clifton beach as a kid 25 years ago, and not much has changed. Still a lovely quiet haven with mostly local residents, so plenty of space on the beach. Palm beach is close ( 5 min drive) if you fancy a night out or a meal. We hope to come again!!

Room Tip: WiFi doesn't reach all rooms, so let them know if you require WiFi whilst you are staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bf_blaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Arrived early as our flight arrived early morning and Karen went out of her way to get us in our room as quick as possible. Room was lovely and clean with a great laundry area. Very good Internet connection. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have nothing but great things to say. I was traveling alone and was looking for somewhere for a little down time. I chose Clifton Palms as it was self contained and a minutes walk to the beach. The 1 bedroom was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed for cooking and such. It's a small property which was exactly what I was looking for. Gorgeous getaway from it all. Beautiful gardens and lots of wildlife. About a 5 minute walk to the local grocery store and about a 20 minute stroll along the beach to beautiful palm beach where there are tons of restaurants, cafes and bars. The staff at the clifton palms were kind and very helpful, lovely people :) I would love to return again and would definitely suggest visiting Clifton Palms. So sad to be leaving....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a really good experience at that place.
The area is quiet and this makes this place perfect to chill out and rest.
The garden is really nice and well maintained. It provides a nice environment; even kangaroos are coming around as well as lots of birds.

The location of the place is really good: it is close to a nice clean beach with palm trees all along.
You can have a run on the beach as it's quite long or have a swim in the warm waters.
The beach area is equipped with net during the stingers season). The beach also has a good BBQ area with picnic tables, games for kids.

The place is also close to Cairns, close to a shopping centre and close to the airport as well (15 min away only).
The place is also close to Palm Cove.
The cabins are nice, clean and well equipped for cooking.
There is a lovely swimming pool area where you can relax in the long chairs or have a barbecue.
The managers are kiwis.
They are welcoming and very helpful to plan your holidays activities.
We recommend this place for a good experience during your holidays!
Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were a little worried that we would need a car while staying at the Clifton Palms because of its location half-way between Cairns and Port Douglas but our fears were groundless. Kerryn arranged for airport transportation, all of our excursions (Great Barrier Reef, Daintree, etc.) provided free pick-up/drop-off, a large grocery store and restaurants were within a short stroll, and we had our own tropical beach paradise across the street. Local bus service was easy and convenient. The neighborhood was very quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for great value and a respite from the over-developed beach towns of the coast this place will fill the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GRundle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
0.9 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.0 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Argosy on the Beach
Argosy on the Beach
#2 of 7 in Clifton Beach
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Palms

Address: 35 Upolu Esp, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £115 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 one and two bedroom fully self contained apartments set within one acre of tropical gardens, located opposite the beachfront at Clifton Beach.Central for all activities incl Skyrail, Kuranda, Daintree rainforest and Great Barrier Reef tours. Free Wifi now available.Relaxing ...Private ...Peaceful ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifton Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Palms Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing