We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive view, beatiful lodge”
Review of Warrawong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warrawong Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Warrawong lodge in March (we were lucky with the weather, considering it was the rainy season..) and loved it! After finding the lodge short-notice before going to Cairns, we were positively surprised. The view is simply amazing, and the lodge itself is really nice. Karen and Frank have done a great job building it, they are - and should be - proud of the lodge. The pool is something special - swim around in it and enjoy the view at the same time!

Not only is the lodge nice, the service is also great. Karen and Frank put up the breakfast and are prepared to add anything extra you might want. Enjoy the breakfast in the sun on the terrace! The rooms are in very good condition, clean, spacious and well furnished.

The lodge is on the hillside, above all the other houses. I would highly recommend staying here if you want some quiet, enjoy ocean views and relaxing times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a property! Built into the side of the mountain. The view was out of this world and over looked the coast. Swimming in the pool was a breathtaking experience and it seemed to join the sea.. Karen and Frank looked after us very well and made us feel at home. The rooms were huge with two double beds and great facilities. Where ever you sat or relaxed, inside or outside you still had this view of the green "jungle" framing the blue sea. I find it difficult to describe but I read the other reviews and think they have really nailed it.

Room Tip: Sleep with the windows and curtains open1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This new property is overlooks the lovely Palm Cove (2 mins drive, 20 mins walk). Its views are unparalleled in the area.

My wife and I came here for a break, but suddenly my wife was hit with a desperately short timescale to design a dress range. We had out IT equipment with us, and Frank and Karen couldn't have been more accommodating - providing another air conditioned room and carrying in a solid desk for my wife to use.

The infinity pool is exquisite, the solid wood furnishings and finishings are quality, and small details (such as instantaneous cold or boiling filtered water for drinking, binoculars, honesty bar etc) make all the difference.

The pictures below provide examples of the views - generally 40kms to Green Island, with Double Island in the foreground.

Whilst my wife had to work, I worked on my laptop in support - and it might be coincidence, or it might be the new clarity provided by the extensive views - but I've never had such inspired ideas and positive responses to all my emails!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here or our anniversay and it was truely beautiful. The pool looks out to the horizon and makes you feel like you could be anywhere in the world! The open plan living / deck area offers plently of room for personal space if other guests are present, the rooms are spacious and bathrooms suitable. All round is a beautiful piece of paradise so close to everything cairns has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I attended a function at Warrawong Lodge a few weeks ago. The view and ambience took my breath away. Probably 50-60 people were present and there was still heaps of room to move on the giant deck and within the communal living area. The nautilus shell-shaped pool is exquisite and at night, the colours from the underwater lights lit up the surrounding native bush. The view extends over Double Island, the Scouts Hat and you can see all the way to Green Island. It was so pleasant watching the yachts racing and a couple of freighters wending their way through the reef channels. The bedrooms were so comfortable and nothing has been left out. The ensuite bathrooms are exquisite. The kitchen and living area open onto the deck so that breakfast and other meals can be taken out and eaten whilst watching what was going on out on the Coral Sea. There is a fantastic mural when you enter and it puts you in the mood for a tropical retreat. What amazed me was the fact that the Lodge was not far from the Highway and yet you could hardly see any other possible human habitation. Being right beside the natural bush, the wildlife (wallabies, flying squirrels, and a variety of parrots and other bird species) are right beside you. I wish I had had a torch with me so that I could do a bit of spotting when the day flowed into night. For a peaceful, homely and friendly weekend or holiday I highly recommend the Warrawong Lodge where the billion dollar view is free.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - spectacular view, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DcDirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer in Bestlage und Aussicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
1.3 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
#1 of 3 in Clifton Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrawong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrawong Lodge

Address: 20 - 24 Alexandra St, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £94 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrawong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in a northern suburb of Cairns featuring panoramic views of Double Island and the Coral Sea. Guest rooms all with 2 queen beds, en suite, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fans. There is a spacious guest lounge room, but most guests choose to sit on the verandah so they can enjoy the spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warrawong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrawong Lodge Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing