We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Warrawong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warrawong Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Karen and Frank have done an amazing job at creating a truly stunning B&B / venue, with the most inspiring view of the Coral Sea. The rooms are beautiful, from the linen & pillows (I'm fussy with pillows!) huge shower, etc, then there's the deck the gorgeous pool and even the friendly dog. Noise transferral between rooms is barely noticeable - it's been masterfully built.
A good continental breakfast sees you through the day. Less than 5 mins by car and you're at Clifton Beach, or Palm Cove, and away from all the hassle of Cairns or Port Douglas.
I would not hesitate to recommend it highly as a VERY affordable, VERY comfortable and beautiful B&B with everything you need, if you want stunning views, a unique experience, and a very quiet environment.
Kudos to you Karen & Frank!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Warrawong Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Frank and Karen have built a fabulous house into the hillside with 3 large ( 2 double beds) for b+b. When you step out onto the large verandah area, you have the most fantastic panoramic view across the Coral Sea. The rooms themselves are well appointed with a large shower area, tv, a/c and all you would want. We did not have the cooked breakfast as continental was substantial and more than met our needs. Karen bakes muffins and cakes which are really welcome when you return in the late afternoon. There is also a lovely infinity pool where one can just laze and look over the lovely landscape. We stayed for a week in August when every day was 28C and really pleasant. We had the extra treat of cuckatoos in late afternoon on a tree very close to us. We found the location (20km north of Cairns) really easy for us to drive to the Daintree Forest (about 75mins), Cairns (35 mins) or the Tablelands. Many thanks to Frank & Karen who have only had this facility for less than a year and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q6495UIdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. It is absolutely beautifully built. The view and pool are amazing. Frank and Karen provided everything we asked for. I have a gluten intolerance and Karen made special bread and bought gluten free foods for our breakfast. They also allowed us to use their BBQ and prepare a meal for ourselves one evening. The rooms are very spacious and the bar area adjacent to the kitchen is very nice too. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are going to be in the Cairns area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed at Warrawong Lodge for three nights. We felt very comfortable and welcome. The view from the terrace is spectacular, the rooms are luxury, the pool is unique and Karen and Frank were great hosts. A lot of restaurants are just a few minutes away at Palm Cove. To Cairns and Port Douglas it takes just a few minutes by car. A great place to stay. Thank you so much having us as guests.

Room Tip: All three available rooms are equal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Warrawong lodge in March (we were lucky with the weather, considering it was the rainy season..) and loved it! After finding the lodge short-notice before going to Cairns, we were positively surprised. The view is simply amazing, and the lodge itself is really nice. Karen and Frank have done a great job building it, they are - and should be - proud of the lodge. The pool is something special - swim around in it and enjoy the view at the same time!

Not only is the lodge nice, the service is also great. Karen and Frank put up the breakfast and are prepared to add anything extra you might want. Enjoy the breakfast in the sun on the terrace! The rooms are in very good condition, clean, spacious and well furnished.

The lodge is on the hillside, above all the other houses. I would highly recommend staying here if you want some quiet, enjoy ocean views and relaxing times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a property! Built into the side of the mountain. The view was out of this world and over looked the coast. Swimming in the pool was a breathtaking experience and it seemed to join the sea.. Karen and Frank looked after us very well and made us feel at home. The rooms were huge with two double beds and great facilities. Where ever you sat or relaxed, inside or outside you still had this view of the green "jungle" framing the blue sea. I find it difficult to describe but I read the other reviews and think they have really nailed it.

Room Tip: Sleep with the windows and curtains open1
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This new property is overlooks the lovely Palm Cove (2 mins drive, 20 mins walk). Its views are unparalleled in the area.

My wife and I came here for a break, but suddenly my wife was hit with a desperately short timescale to design a dress range. We had out IT equipment with us, and Frank and Karen couldn't have been more accommodating - providing another air conditioned room and carrying in a solid desk for my wife to use.

The infinity pool is exquisite, the solid wood furnishings and finishings are quality, and small details (such as instantaneous cold or boiling filtered water for drinking, binoculars, honesty bar etc) make all the difference.

The pictures below provide examples of the views - generally 40kms to Green Island, with Double Island in the foreground.

Whilst my wife had to work, I worked on my laptop in support - and it might be coincidence, or it might be the new clarity provided by the extensive views - but I've never had such inspired ideas and positive responses to all my emails!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
#1 of 3 in Clifton Beach
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
1.3 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#1 of 25 in Palm Cove
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrawong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrawong Lodge

Address: 20 - 24 Alexandra St, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £92 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrawong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in a northern suburb of Cairns featuring panoramic views of Double Island and the Coral Sea. Guest rooms all with 2 queen beds, en suite, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fans. There is a spacious guest lounge room, but most guests choose to sit on the verandah so they can enjoy the spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warrawong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrawong Lodge Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing