We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the world's best kept secrets......unfortunately!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warrawong Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Warrawong Lodge
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the world's best kept secrets......unfortunately!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Warrawong B&B at Clifton Beach near Palm Cove for four nights last week when visiting the Cairns region. We had found the B&B through the Queensland B&B site. Karen and Frank, the hosts, have "only" been in business for two years after a six year build of their hillside dream house. The B&B has three rooms, all with two queen size beds. The rooms are spacious and quality built. But it's the whole lodge that made the stay spectacular. The view is incredible, especially at sunrise with the sun rising up out of the sea. The award winning design pool. A treat to hang over the edge and watch the world pass by underneath you.

The place we will be revisiting when returning to the region for sure!

Karen and Frank are great hosts whom made our stay unforgettable. everything is possible. If it's not on the table for breakfast and you want it, it will be the next day!

Thanks guys! Our visit to your B&B was an unforgettable one.

I have attached a couple of nice photo's ;)

R&A&G

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to book a room! There are only three ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a wonderful week at Warrawong Lodge with Frank and Karen. They were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure our stay with them was great. The view is absolutely beautiful and we spent much of our time relaxing and reading on the veranda. Up on the hillside, this B&B is apart from the touristy atmosphere of the city and has a great location close to Palm Cove. We even spotted a wallaby in the driveway one day! We can't wait to return to Australia to visit Frank and Karen again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently stayed at Warrawong Lodge and had my wedding here as well. Frank and Karen were so helpful and accomodating with preparations for my wedding and I had the most beautiful day! Very affordable, beautiful location and lovely rooms, highly recommend to anyone visiting Cairns!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLeizelPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My daughter and I spent a week with Frank and Karen at their fabulous mountain top mini-private-resort. Yes, this is a B and B -and SO much more! Located directly between Cairns and Port Douglas, this is the perfect location for an adventure trip. We are Americans and have never driven on the left side of the road- Karen assured me as I was planning the trip, that driving was a must to see all of the wonderful sites and very easy to do! And she was right. Karen gave me some great tips before I made the reservation, which was very helpful in the overall planning of the trip. Karen and Frank are a great team and made us feel completely at home. There are only 3 rooms, so we felt like we were in our own private mini-resort. The rooms are large and the "rain-forest" shower is so refreshing. The views are breathtaking, the pace is peaceful and very laid-back. The award winning pool has the best views and you can sit for hours on the lovely deck taking a nap or reading a book from their private library. We even saw fireworks from the beach on the first night. All in all, a perfect location for us and we will recommend to all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had the best time at Frank and Karen's lovely Bed and Breakfast. They were very accomodating and the location was convenient to the airport and Great Barrier Reef and the view from the veranda and infinity pool was breathtaking. If we ever get back to Australia we would definitely stay there again. Peg McCarthy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanzach, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place was lovely. The hosts made us feel very welcome (sorry to have forgotten your names!). The view was simply incredible. room was lovely and clean. the swimming pool was an nice additional extra. there was also a good standard of restaurants to choose from, not too far way. We would definetly recommend this place to family and friends. Thank you :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_kanzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Frank and Karen are fantastic hosts. Their hilltop B&B has the most amazing view from the wrap around veranda. We were treated like royalty. Fantastic breakfast, especially for myself as I am Gluten Free and Karen went out of her way to bake two cakes that I was able to eat. The breakfast keeps you going for the day. Less than five minutes to the beach. Gave us lots of great tips on where to go and what to see.

Room was very clean and air conditioned for Canadians like us who find the 30C weather and humidity a little hard to get used to when it is winter at home. Room could use a luggage stand though.

We found the location (20km north of Cairns) really easy for us to drive to the Daintree Forest (about 75mins), Cairns (35mins).

Many thanks to Frank and Karen for all their knowledge about the area and for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms are a must. All rooms at Warrawong Lodge have amazing views from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa123456789_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrawong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrawong Lodge

Property: Warrawong Lodge
Address: 20 - 24 Alexandra St, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrawong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in a northern suburb of Cairns featuring panoramic views of Double Island and the Coral Sea. Guest rooms all with 2 queen beds, en suite, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fans. There is a spacious guest lounge room, but most guests choose to sit on the verandah so they can enjoy the spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warrawong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrawong Lodge Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing