We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
159
51
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
51
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated pool garden view port douglas palm cove across the road washing machine the kitchen rental car management team pull out couch comfy bed great pool top floor short drive watching the world walk up an older style building
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Agincourt for 5 nights and it was great. Directly across from the beach (40m), clean, well appointed, quite (ok, except for the sound of surf... which we thought was great). The owners were incredibly helpful with their knowledge and advice about tours, and absolutely nothing was a problem. Great pool - 20m, heated at 29.5 deg C, yet virtually no one using it (strange that!). We hired a small rental car (with booster seat for our 6 yr old) twice, and it was super clean and reliable, for less than $50 (plus about $15 for the extra liability insurance), but didn't mind that because if was far less than what the bigger car rental co's were charging. And what was great was that we needed the car on odd days between exploring the reef/rail. We honestly recommend this place - the views were lovely, the apartment great, and what better way to fall asleep/wake up to the sound of the surf on the beach.

Our experience:
- arrive: we were able to check in early at 10am. Walked the 20 minutes along the beach/short non beach section to the shopping centre (Coles, bottle shop, Target, Baker's Delight, etc)
- day 2: hired a car and drove to Hartley Crocodile Farm. Great croc tour, but a bit pricey at $87 for 3 (we stayed 2 hours doing the cassowary feeding/croc tour), although it could be a full day. Continued on to Daintree to do a great river cruise ($25 for all)
- day 3: trip to Green Island. Definitely take jumper in July. Wind was blistering cold. Super low tide by 12pm it was not suitable to do any snorkelling (well, not snorkelling for our daughter). Tip: 11.30am semi-submersible actually went on for 40 minutes because they have to wait for the larger boats to depart. Get on this one!
- day 4: Kuranda rail/Kuranda skyrail: a definite MUST. Engineering at it's finest, spectacular view. Tip: Windows are open on the railway. Bring warm clothes if cool.
- day 5: hire car again from Agincourt for drive to Atherton Tablelands. Crystal Caves is a rip off, unless you're seriously into stones/gems. $45 for two adults, $13/child for a 20 minutes walk thru of a basement cave (artificial)
- day 6: because the apartment complex is so popular (and we can understand why), we checked out at the required 10am, they organised our transfers to the airport. Our flight didn't depart until 19.20, but we left ALL of our luggage at the airport (arrivals terminal, $42 for 24 hours). Took taxi into the city, great Italian lunch, then we took the "awesome cruise" (1 hour super fast cruise along the harbour/mangroves/croc spotting - it was awesome!).

Thanks to Agincourt for making our stay personable and so easy. We'll be back

Room Tip: 2nd floor has great views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We needed a well earned break from the awful weather down south and we were not disappointed. Absolute perfect location right on the water. We had a 3rd floor room which gave great views , along the coast and out to the Cruise ships moored nearby.
Extremely well equipped apartment. Full kitchen with absolutely everything.
Thank you Craig and Petra. You have thought of everything when furnishing and equipping them out .
We will definitely return and recommend to others.
R and R

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights in a 1 bedroom, 3rd floor apartment overlooking Clifton Beach. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the apartment and how well equipped the the kitchen was. The washing machine and dryer are located in the bathroom, not really a problem as the room is big enough the space allocated for the shower, toilet and vanity. The king size bed was comfortable and so were the pillows, which is always a big plus. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the gardens were immaculate. There is ample undercover parking and although the lift is quite slow and a bit smelly it beats climbing the stairs with luggage. The building is located across the road from the beach, so it's only a short walk, short drive to the local supermarket and shops and we found it very quiet at night. The only down side is if you have a 3rd floor apartment and the guests below you are smokers then you will have to put up with the smoke drifting upwards onto your balcony and into your room if the door is open. You are not permitted to smoke in the rooms and that for us wasn't a problem as we are non smokers, but every time we went to sit on the balcony for breakfast or dinner we had cigarette smoke to share it with, it was like they had a hidden camera in their room and knew when we were on the balcony. The whole idea is to be able to sit and enjoy your meal while looking over the beach etc. The sign over reception says there is a 40m heated lap pool - goody we thought, as we do like to swim - stuck our toes in the day we arrived and it was like there was an iceberg in the pool. I swam, hubby didn't!!! Asked manager if the pool was heated, to be told it usually is but after 10 years the heater has bit the dust and a new one is on its way. The dryer worked the first time I used it, then decided to conk out after that. Told management and they said they would get it looked at. Didn't really bother me as things dry quite well on the clothes airer. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor apartment overlooking the beach - although the apartments that overlook the garden would have a pleasant outlook as well!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blabbergums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for a week while waiting to get into our house. Good spacious one bedroom apartment well equipped for laundry, cooking etc. We found the bed a little hard but management quickly found an overlay that made the bed much more comfortable. Great location on the esplanade. We had a garden view but it was a still a good view. No eatery in the complex but some good restaurants less than five minutes drive away. Would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Agincourt for a week. We had an apartment on the 3rd floor, (recommended!) with the large balcony facing the beach. There is a road between the beach & the Agincourt, but it was quiet with minimal traffic. The apartment was a good size, with everything we needed, including a washer & dryer. Craig & Petra were very helpful hosts, and definitely added to our positive experience there. Clifton Beach is peaceful & quiet, but a shopping center & restaurants are nearby, but you will need a car. The only negative, which was not Agincourts fault, was it was 'stinger season' when we were there, so we didn't want to go swimming in the beach opposite, but it was a short walk down the beach to a safe netted area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 323jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews