We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by chance, would return by choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argosy on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Found by chance, would return by choice”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel actually consists of flats which are very well set up. Functioning kitchen with all ket utensils, a well appointed laundry room, large TV, and enormous balcony on which to have breakfast. We rented a 2 bedroom flat - excellent beds and the flat was immaculate. We were let down by a previous hotel, which emailed us on the day we were travelling to Cairns that there had been a double booking & that was that. My selection of the Argosy was purely on the basis that it was on the beach and had some availability (thanks again Karen, for shuffling things around!).... Both Karen and Angelo are lovely and provide their guests with a warm welcome. There's a supermarket and restaurants nearby and the beach is picture perfect. If you go to that part of the world, don't hesitate to stay in this place. We would happily return and will recommend it to our Aussie friends. If you haven't got a car, you car take a cab from the airport ($50 ish) or book yourself on the shuttle.

Room Tip: All the apartments face onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploration2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We chose to stay here to be near the Great Barrier Reef instead of in the big city of Cairns...soooo glad we did. The beach was quiet and gorgeous and all we had to do was walk across the street. Our balcondy overlooked palm trees and the ocean. The owners were so nice and helpful...they booked us a visit to the Aboriginal cultural center, as well as a snorkeling trip to the reef. Kangaroos were in the bush behind the hotel, and lots of birds chirping. Bus stops were very convenient, as well as a small shopping area.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd level, but I bet the 3rd level has even better views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greengardener15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, 2 minutes walk to an incredible beach for a morning or evening stroll. Stinger proof net on the beach & surf life saver facility also bbqs on the beach. Close to a Great shopping centre with Coles and associated stores butcher baker news agency, etc Excellant restaurants in close vacinity. Short drive to Cairns and Tablelands also Smithfield shopping Centre short drive away! Excellant Hosts! No traffic noise! All up a bloody good place to stay for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Argosy is a great place to spend a very pleasant and relaxing holiday. Not wanting the hustle and bustle of Palm Cove we were pleasantly surprised to find this quiet, charming spot at Clifton Beach that ticked all the boxes. The 2-bedroom/2-bathroom luxury apartment was very spacious and modern and the beds were really comfortable. There is lift access to upper floors so lugging heavy cases up stairs is unnecessary. We loved our balcony view of the sea, which was just across the road, and from the rear bedroom balconies we were treated to views of wallabies and colourful bougainvillaea against a rainforest backdrop.

Our hosts, Karen and Angelo were most helpful and welcoming. Angelo provided us with useful information about places to visit. As we had a hire car we were within easy reach of the Atherton Tableland to the west, Mossman Gorge and the Daintree to the north, and Mission Beach and Josephine Falls to the south – all within a couple of hours drive. The temperature was a very pleasant 26° C most days (August) of our 11 day stay, with just the brief odd shower - a welcome relief from our Victorian winter.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed 2 weeks at Argosy on the Beach (we actually went back to them after we realised how much better it was than Palm Cove!). Just wonderful. Our hosts, Karen and Angelo were so caring, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Angelo even offered to pick up a pizza for us when our flight was 3 hours late arriving and we were starving!

The position is perfect - right across the road from the beach and although there is only one restaurant in Clifton Beach that makes yummy pizzas, the kitchen in the units had everything we needed to make great meals and enjoy them out on the deck overlooking the ocean.

It was a really cold winter in Cairns and a heated spa would have been the icing on the cake. Maybe by next year?

The owner of the unit we stayed in needs to upgrade the old analog TV but it still worked and we enjoyed watching free PayTV.

All in all a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Argosy on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
All Argosy apartments were upgraded in late June with large 40+ inch Plasma TV's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in late June/early July this year. Clifton Beach is a fantastic location when you are staying in Cairns, but want to be away from 'the City' (though it is easily reached by the many buses which pass along the Esplanade, or by car). Karen and Angelo were so very welcoming when we arrived, super lovely with our two children and very helpful. (The children were delighted with being able to borrow boogie boards that previous guests had left behind!)

The location is quiet, but not far from any amenities that you want or need. The quick jump across the very quiet Esplanade to the beach is perfect for those travelling with young children. The beaches on either side of Clifton Beach (Kewarra and Palm) are just a stroll along the sand. Clifton Beach is an excellent location for heading up to Port Douglas and the Mossman Gorge. Also nearby is the Cairns Tropical Zoo which (in our opinion) is a far better day out than Australia Zoo (which is only 20 minutes drive from where WE live!) as it's the perfect size for small children to see everything without tiring.

Our apartment (12) was modern, clean and VERY spacious, with a wraparound balcony at the front, and a balcony at the back (great for looking at the wallabies who come throughout the day!)

Everything about Argosy was perfect for our holiday and we would (and do!) highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights (May 29th to June 1st). It is difficult to pick a place to stay at from thousands of miles away, but it seemed like a nice place via the website. Now we can assure others looking for a place in the Cairns Area, that the Argosy is an excellent place to stay. Karen and Angelo couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. The place was clean, updated and we had a wonderful view of the sea from our balcony (2nd floor). There also is a balcony in back too. We got to watch wallabies from our back balcony.

Clifton Beach was a nice centrally loacted area. It was an easy and very pretty drive up to Port Douglas and Daintree and and a quick drive south to Cairns. Due to the distance from Minnesota in the USA to Australia it will be awhile before we are back. However, when we come back, we will stay at the Argosy.

Room Tip: I think 2nd floor has the best view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjfaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.9 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,097 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argosy on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy on the Beach

Property: Argosy on the Beach
Address: 119 Arlington Esp | Clifton Beach, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argosy on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the serene beachside location of Clifton Beach, 20 minutes from Cairns City is the perfect place to enjoy a tropical region of ancient rain forests and The Great Barrier Reef. This stylish beachfront complex offers all comforts needed for the perfect holiday. Our beautifully appointed apartments are fully self-contained with spacious living areas opening onto huge balconies overlooking the beach. Garden lovers will delight in this sanctuary for birds and wildlife, see kangaroos roaming free in this truly spectacular tropical beachside paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argosy on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy On The Beach Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing