We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the beach and right on the money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argosy on the Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Argosy on the Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right on the beach and right on the money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

A nice big apartment with all the favilities we needed. The beach is literally across the rosd and what a magnificent beach it is. Staff were very helpful with suggestions on local places to eat. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Scone-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Family of 4 on vacation to AU for 1st time, Argosy one of the highlight places we stayed. The rooms beautiful, clean, elegant, comfortable. Laundry facilities a great help. Location great. But for us best of all was Karen, who was incredibly helpful in steering us to wonderful excursions in and around Cairns. Her advice helped make our stay there incredibly fun and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for a week on the final leg of our 4 week stay in Australia. Angelo was on his way out to their son's wedding when we arived, but the apartment was ready and waiting for us. It is exactly as it says on the website. Balcony overlooking the ocean at the front and forest at the back. My brother-in-law and his family were in the apartment next door and we spent a few nights together eating and playing games in one or the other's place. Highlight of the week was most definitely the day we spent on the GBR!! I can highly recommend booking your trip there with a company called 'reef daytripper'. They are a smaller company (max 20 people) than those that steam out to Green Island and therefore for a nervous 1st timer like me anj ideal way to see the GBR as you really felt as if you were getting personal service, but at a very reasonable price. We paid AUS$ 106 per person and this included tea, coffee, lovely lunch, glass of wine on way back to Cairns as well as cheese and biscuits and fruit. There was 2 hours of snorkelling/diving before lunch then another 2 hours after. Diving was an extra AUS$ 70, but my husband and children tell me it was worth it. Palm Cove is a pleasant walk along the beach for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner (although I recommend a torch for evenings)!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor as these have the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzyodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Clifton Beach is a great place for a quieter holiday. Very good for beach walks and reasonably close to other Cairns attractions.

Argosy units are spacious, well equipped and comfortable.

Close to a shopping centre with supermarket, butcher, etc plus a few eateries.

Managers very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. 3 levels with lift. Corner rooms have a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel actually consists of flats which are very well set up. Functioning kitchen with all ket utensils, a well appointed laundry room, large TV, and enormous balcony on which to have breakfast. We rented a 2 bedroom flat - excellent beds and the flat was immaculate. We were let down by a previous hotel, which emailed us on the day we were travelling to Cairns that there had been a double booking & that was that. My selection of the Argosy was purely on the basis that it was on the beach and had some availability (thanks again Karen, for shuffling things around!).... Both Karen and Angelo are lovely and provide their guests with a warm welcome. There's a supermarket and restaurants nearby and the beach is picture perfect. If you go to that part of the world, don't hesitate to stay in this place. We would happily return and will recommend it to our Aussie friends. If you haven't got a car, you car take a cab from the airport ($50 ish) or book yourself on the shuttle.

Room Tip: All the apartments face onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploration2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We chose to stay here to be near the Great Barrier Reef instead of in the big city of Cairns...soooo glad we did. The beach was quiet and gorgeous and all we had to do was walk across the street. Our balcondy overlooked palm trees and the ocean. The owners were so nice and helpful...they booked us a visit to the Aboriginal cultural center, as well as a snorkeling trip to the reef. Kangaroos were in the bush behind the hotel, and lots of birds chirping. Bus stops were very convenient, as well as a small shopping area.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd level, but I bet the 3rd level has even better views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greengardener15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, 2 minutes walk to an incredible beach for a morning or evening stroll. Stinger proof net on the beach & surf life saver facility also bbqs on the beach. Close to a Great shopping centre with Coles and associated stores butcher baker news agency, etc Excellant restaurants in close vacinity. Short drive to Cairns and Tablelands also Smithfield shopping Centre short drive away! Excellant Hosts! No traffic noise! All up a bloody good place to stay for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
0.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
2.0 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argosy on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy on the Beach

Property: Argosy on the Beach
Address: 119 Arlington Esp | Clifton Beach, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argosy on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the serene beachside location of Clifton Beach, 20 minutes from Cairns City is the perfect place to enjoy a tropical region of ancient rain forests and The Great Barrier Reef. This stylish beachfront complex offers all comforts needed for the perfect holiday. Our beautifully appointed apartments are fully self-contained with spacious living areas opening onto huge balconies overlooking the beach. Garden lovers will delight in this sanctuary for birds and wildlife, see kangaroos roaming free in this truly spectacular tropical beachside paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Argosy on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy On The Beach Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing