We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argosy on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We were looking for a quiet place to enjoy the Queensland beaches and still eb able to do a few tourist activities, and was delighted to find a luxurious accommodation right on the beach! I was swayed as soon as I saw the map location, but the pictures of the apartments are exactly what we found - a fully equipped apartment, with everything needed, privacy, and just out the front door to a beautiful beach. The hosts were incredibly friendly and helped plan our excursions on the reef and horseback riding. I cannot think of a more perfect spot and only wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2008

We were lucky enough to stay at the Argosy in Clifton Beach in September 07. What a fantastic find!! The complex has 16 two bedroom units each with two bathrooms, full kitchen, balconies off the bedrooms and a very large balcony running the length of the room from the lounge looking out to the beach. It also has a fantastic pool and BBQ area which made it feel like home!

The apartments are very quiet, and very spacious. The full kitchens and space really meant we could feel at home while here and truly relax. The apartments were also exceptionally clean (which is a bonus when you are there for a week).

Situated 25 minutes from Cairns and 10 minutes from Palm Cove it is close enough to the malls (if you need them, and far enough away to wind down). A short walk across the road takes you to a beautiful beach.

There is not enough I can say about the property - it was quiet, exceptionally clean, and truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Constant_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

If you are heading to Cairnes, don't stay in the city, but head to the Northern Beaches, where Argosy on the Beach is among the best accommodations at a great value. Situated in quiet Clifton Beach, it is directly across the Arlington Esplanade from the Coral Sea. They offer 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartments, all of which are beach facing, with balconies that overlook the sea. We enjoyed getting up early to watch the sunrise each morning. The entire complex was remodeled a few years ago, and is clean and modern. The rooms have a washer and dryer and a full-kitchen. As for dishes and pots and pans, it was the best-stocked holiday apartment I have ever stayed in. The owner-managers, Karen and Angelo Cappellazzo, are pleasant and are very helpful with tour recommendations. If you want a little more excitement, Palm Cove is about a 20-minute walk north along the beach. You can also wave down the sunbus in front of the Argosy for a 10-minute ride to Palm Cove, or a 30-minute ride to Cairnes. There is also a Coles supermarket on the bus line or 20 minutes away by foot. Perhaps the only drawback in the area is that there are few restaurants within walking distance for dinner (though we did walk to Palm Cove once for lunch). Two evenings we bought dinner at the super market, cooked it on the barbie next to the pool, and ate dinner on the balcony, which was very enjoyable. Our teenage son and nephew enjoyed walking to Palm Cove on their own to swim at the beach, which they rated much better than Trinity Beach. You can also swim at Clifton Beach right in front of the Argosy, though there was no life guard on duty. We would certainly stay at Argosy on the Beach again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanspeterCH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cappos, Owner at Argosy on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoseMiguel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cappos, Manager at Argosy on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwaskaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brutusLieserhofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifton Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
#1 of 3 in Clifton Beach
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
#3 of 7 in Clifton Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Warrawong Lodge
Warrawong Lodge
#2 of 3 in Clifton Beach
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlington Apartments
Arlington Apartments
#1 of 1 in Clifton Beach
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Beach Retreat
Clifton Beach Retreat
#3 of 3 in Clifton Beach
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argosy on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy on the Beach

Address: 119 Arlington Esp | Clifton Beach, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range: £65 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argosy on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argosy on The Beach is perfectly located right on the Esplanade facing the beach and only 20 minutes north of Cairns International Airport. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens with views of Clifton Beach and Tropical Mountain Rainforest the property features freeform swimming pool, spa, pool side BBQ cabana, sauna room, FREE secure carparking and FREE WIFI. Argosy on the Beach Apartments are individually furnished throughout in a modern tropical design all accessed by a lift to each floor. The apartments are extremely spacious open plan full air-conditioning with large fully equipped kitchens, laundry, large flat screen TV's, CD music systems, Free Cable, Free WIFI and most bedrooms opens directly onto rear balcony which over look rainforest and where the birdlife and free roaming kangaroos are simply a delight with all visitors. Floor to ceiling glass frontage opens onto balconies where one can dine all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argosy on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy On The Beach Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing