We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”
Review of Kresten Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kresten Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrive on our honeymoon to be advised the hotel is overbooked and the staff were rude about it as though it was our fault. We get sent to a hotel down the road which was old in serious need of TLC and no more then 2 star. There was no porter and we had to carry our luggage 300m to a room that we had to work out on our own how to find it. The following fatback at kresten, the compensated us by giving us the room safe free of charge(I have never paid for a room safe before) 2 lunch vouchers to hotel without drinks and a tiny wine with 4 peices of fruit. The lunch was awful so we didn't even use the 2 voucher. The hotel is old and in need of renovation, the foyer is hot and stuffy(only area to use free wifi) and the staff a rude. This is not a 4 star by any means. It has above pool and a bus stop closely but apart from that I would never recommend this to anyone. Rhodes is a stunning island and don't book here to have you holiday experience ruined. Not worth the risk.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Kresten palace hotel for a week and were very impressed after being worrie due to various negative reviews. I would like to state that these people who are writing negative reviews are just being pedantic as you could not fault this hotel. The location was fantastic! There are bus stops right outside the hotel which can take you to either Rhodes town or faliraki both of which are only 15 minutes away. The hotel itself is beautiful,there are amazing views from every angle and the hotel is on a hill with it's own private beach at the bottom. The food is a bit hit and miss however there is always something to eat. The entertainment was great, during the day there is water aerobics and water polo and in the evenings there is also a variety of entertainment which does not just cater for couples/adults but also children and families.We pleasantly enjoyed our experience at the hotel and will more than likely be going back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emilywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First impression was not so good. We arrived at 00.30 pm, it looked dark, old and the gentleman at reception was rather unpleasant. Further there was a mistake with the reservation, instead of family room we got triple room (travelled with kids, 4 & 10 y). Had to stay there as the hotel was fully booked, luckily we got the fam room the next day. The manager apologized, sent fruits & wine and free of charge safe box as compansation. Our stay was in July/Aug.

The room was nice, reconstructed, clean & spacious. Very close to swimming pool. Everyday cleaned very nicely. There was a small fridge as well. The only negative part is that the AC was switch off around dinner time sometimes till 9.30pm.

The restaurant. The food was good, had always many choices & tasty as well. I think even a fussy eater will find something....

Swimming pool is pretty big & ideal for kids as well. The beach is a bit further but very small & with stones so don't forget water shoes. It was also nice for snorkeling.
Other beaches in the area are much better though. You can take bus to go to those places.

Car rental. We rented a car from Kosmos rental car, they have a counter at the hotel so we thought it's easier. Wanted to have Ford focus but was not available so got Fiat which was not in good shape. Informed the lady about it when we returtned it. 2h later she called us to the room that we didn't fill in the tank (??) which was not true & demanded extra payment from us. When we said to check it again together, she said the car is at other hotel anymore (??). Well have to say what a lousy procedure & felt deceived.

Shops. The hotel is situated far from everything, no shops, supermarket in the area. You have to take a bus, taxi to go somewhere. There's a shop in the hotel but VERY overpriced.

Fitness center/wellnes spa. What fitness/spa? There are 4/5 machines in miserable condition, Wouldn't even call it fitness as stated on their website.

Wifi only in reception area, but very poor signal.

Generally the hotel is a good 3* (maybe it was a good 4* in the 90's)). But then it is a totally overpriced 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Family rooms are ideal for fam with kids, spacious & close to swimming pool and restaurant too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Attina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was quite nice and the staff very helpful and kind. It was very easy to get along in English with everyone. Room was very clean (fresh towels every day, etc). Food was also very nice, with quite a lot of variety. Love the fact that it's not close enough to Rhodos to feel crowded, but not far away either. Easy to go around the island by bus (station is right near the hotel). What I didn't like too much was the quality of the internet (only available near the reception and it was very hard to use it at rush hour when everybody was there). Also, I didn't appreciate that you had to pay extra for the strongbox (but gladly that was not a problem, there were no incidents in the hotel where you had to worry about your items). Loved the swimming pool and the beach (be sure to take your snorkeling gear). Also, the entertainment team was very nice and they were always kind to guests and tried to have as many games and activities as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool are very nice, but fortunately there's good access from most rooms as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bubuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is good. Food was tasty. Rooms are spacious and clean. The location is very good. The pool area is great. The beach next to the hotel is nice and calm.
For me personally the service is very important. I gave the hotel only 3 stars because the restaurant staff was rude and impolite to me. Besides that on the reception it does not feel that they are glad to see their guests. I think that good and friendly atmosphere and service are very important, and impoliteness of the staff can destroy the whole impression. But, as I said, everything else was good.
I only think that you have to train your staff to provide high quality service, then the hotel will be worth of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed between 5th and 12th July 2014. Arrived at midnight with family on a half board package. As we had missed the evening meal we were given a voucher which we redeemed a few days later for a meal at lunch time. Be aware that unlike other hotel half board options ALL drinks need to be purchased in an evening, even water (2.80 euro for a large bottle).
Food was fine - buffet style. On the first morning the staff couldn't cope with the number of people for breakfast so for periods there were no cups, plates etc.

We have stayed in Rhodes two years previously in the same area (Kalithea) and stayed at Eden Roc and in comparing the two hotels Eden Roc has the edge in terms of food.
On other occasions the restaurant staff were seen to be arguing amongst themselves and were oblivious to the needs around them, at times it was chaotic.
Overall we were not impressed with the catering arrangements.
We paid the extra (10 euro per person) for the Greek Night, for which you get wine. The entertainment was good, and there was a good variety of BBQ food but we didn't feel it was worth the extra.
We stayed in 846 and 848. The air con in 848 was poor but we solved this by having a second key and keeping the air con on all day. It was far better in 846.
The cleaning staff were excellent, they were friendly and worked extremely hard, as did the bar staff. There is a shop which is very handy, and sells most anything. The staff in there were also very friendly.

As with hotels of this kind there is an animation team for evening entertainment. Bingo one night, pool party another etc. All very good.

The hotel is quiet but be aware that the main noise comes from the insects which at times are loud. We enjoyed seeing the swallows some of which had built nests with their young above the light fittings in the corridors to the rooms - it was great to see.

The hotel caters for every nationality, there were mainly Germans, Russian, Dutch and those from Belgium when we stayed. Everyone spoke English as the go to language. As it was during the latter stages of the World Cup a room was set up for the matches which was good.
The only package tour appears to be Jet2 Holidays who have a rep (though we didn't see them and booked independently), most of the brochures about day trips etc were in other languages.

The buses are 2.30 euro to Rhodes Town each way. If full they won't stop. When this happened we joined with another couple and had a taxi, which works out cheaper. Taxi to Rhodes is 9 euro. The bus stop is outside the hotel on the main road as is the taxi station.
A bus to Lindos is 5 euro.
1 mile and a quarter away (turn left out of the hotel and walk) is Kalithea Springs - well worth a visit. If you don't want to talk then catch the bus. We had a taxi there for 5 euro and walked back. Entry fee is 2 euro except in an evening or if there is a wedding when it is free. Had a great meal there and they bay is great for sun bathing and swimming / snorkling.

There is also car hire from the hotel (though we didn't use this option).

We went as a family and are sons are 17 and 20 and they enjoyed the facilities. The gym has weights and a bike but doesn't have a running machine. Nor is there a water cooler. Obviously water can be purchased at the shop but in comparing other hotels I found this poor.

Wifi is free, and the code is displayed in the hotel reception area. At certain times reception was poor just down to the number of people who were on using the bandwidth. We were pleased it was free, and used it daily.
Within a short walk there are sports bars with free wifi. Likewise in Rhodes Old Town (well worth a visit) most of the cafes offered free wifi in order to get you to stop for a drink / meal.

Rooms were fine but for the air con issue. In both our rooms there were faults e.g. hole in the wall next to the telephone but no horrors.

Overall I would say the hotel is a 3 star plus rather than a four star but very pleasant. Staff generally very friendly and efficient except the staff in the restaurant.

Having been to Rhodes twice and stayed at Eden Roc the previous time my preference would be Eden Roc but our stay at Kresten Palace was good, and we were very pleased generally.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonNBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

...best staff, specially in restaurant, we have a small child (2Y), and must say they were great, one special lady, MS ELENI, even made oure son a simple paper boat, next time a plane,... she allways had the bigest smile and was allways so helpful.
...we foud the location great, 6 km from old town, the bus stop next to hotel, and only 2,2 euro, and no problem for stroller (the bus leaves every 20 min)...
...it has a big swiming pool, one side is especially low for smal children, and must say we enyojed 100%, its own sea beach is smal, and rocky, but if you are not too lazy, rent a car, see all the beaches and everything else that this beutiful island has to offer...
..they offer a lot of animation, oure son danced every night (mini klub after diner)...great!

...big hug and thanks to ELENI!

Room Tip: i think every room in this hotel must have a great view, because is made that way, we were above poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara_rezek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.2 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,527 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
26.6 mi away
Lindos Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kresten Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kresten Palace

Address: 6th Km Kallithea Avenue, Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range: £43 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kresten Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kresten Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kresten Palace Hotel Koskinou
Kresten Palace Koskinou
Kresten Palace Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing