We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, location a little out of the way though...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, location a little out of the way though...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Can't understand previous reviews of this Hotel, it's very clean, well maintained, food just what you expect from all-inclusive (can be repetitive but overall something for everyone). The nearby beach is lovely. Staff esp. Bar & Reception, were friendly and welcoming! only downside we found was nowhere nearby to go to unless you catch bus to Rhodes. And some sort of evening entertainment would be beneficial to both hotel & guests, as when all-inclusive finishes at 11pm, that's it! Where if they had a small disco they would make from sale of drinks. Very few british guests predominantly Eastern Europeans, who have NO consideration of other guests!

Room Tip: ask for rooms in new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stookiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    101
    111
    97
    71
See reviews for
182
157
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marijampole, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

People, remember, it's Greece... This hotel is tipical 3* hotel (in Greece). In Lithuania 3* are much more better! We went to Rhodes to travel, to see nature, to dive, to visit all historical places.So hotel was for sleeping and for eating. And was all enough. Especially the barmen ! Not typical greek-likes his work and works realy a lot!
But for those, who want only to lay near swimming pool and to eat and drink at hotel - Virginia H. is average - has everything, but no luxury. Want smth better? Look for 5* !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have decided to do a day by day review of this holiday sorry if it goes on a bit but you should read on it might save you some disappointment.

Ok well I guess I will start at the beginning, I have been on lots of holidays and have never felt the need to write a review coz the holidays have always been good, but.....the virginia hotel in Rhodes has prompted me to start a day by day review, this is day one and two.

Day one. Can't say too much because of delays to our flight we did not arrive till gone midnight, where on arrival we were given our room and told if we want food go in the bar. Cool right? Not really, we paid for all Inc. but found out we had to pay for drinks coz it was past 11 pm. Ok so we paid for drinks then the guy brings some food out for us, stone cold sausage and rice!! We ain't off to a good start here I'm thinking.

Day 2, well breakfast was a joke the sausages are out of a tin of hot dogs, the bacon is cold and that is the best bit about it, I ended up making a bacon and egg roll and a cup of tea, which was not to bad, but the only thing that was not cold was the tea, so breakfast done it's time to check out the hotel and the facilities, that took 5 mins, the pool is on two levels and is the size of two postage stamp laid side by side, (i should point out at this point that the new part of the hotel where we were suposed to be staying was completly closed down for the season)!!
The grass was 6 inches high as they had not bothered to mow it, the cats seemed to love it though playing at being tigers in the long grass lol. Lunch was a bit better had some chicken which I gave most of to the cats, and smash mashed potatoes, (great if you like retro I guess), if you like squid your sorted. For desert there was a selection of stuff that looked different but all tasted the same. Nice afternoon sitting round the pool drinking beer, the other half was not happy coz they did not have lemonade!!! in the hotel to go with her vodka.
In the afternoon coffee, and water for making tea is in flasks for you to help yourself, and are mostly cold we found. So, so far the other half has not found anything to drink that she likes, and I'm acquiring a taste for the beer, the first couple are not good though!
Dinner, it was alright, so says the other half, she had a chip butty, I just had a load of chicken bits, the only nice thing for desert was banana ice cream and some small cake things. Oh and by the way if you need a soft bed don't even bother thinking about coming here, the beds are rock hard, though they are doubles not two singles you have to push together.

Day 3, Breakfast was the same, cold bacon, and cold everything else.The beans were so cold they had formed a skin over them!! Lunch was horrible, this is fast turning into the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.....let's see what dinner is like later (fingers crossed). Skipped dinner,(cold soup and octopus? It's getting worse), this is how bad the food is, we walked 1.5kms into town for some proper food. I think this will be the trend for the rest of our stay here.

Day 4. Same old breakfast Thought about going into old Rhodes for the day, after waiting at the bus stop for over an hour and seeing two buses, with standing room only go by, we decided to go back to the hotel and call a cab. Dinner was rubbish again.

Day 5. Was looking forward to our bacon and egg rolls this morning, only to find out there is no bacon, so it was cold fried eggs on toast, there was not even any beans to have with it.
Lunch was a bit better cold turkey and cold chips. At this point you are probably getting the trend that everything is cold! So from now on if is was hot I will say, if not it was cold. Dinner was prob the nicest since we got here I had pork and rice the pork was slightly warm. After dinner we sat in the bar listening to Greek rapping on the hotel cd player. Some new people arrived today we got chatting to them and they were as disgusted as us with the food, plus they had issues with there room too. Im just waiting to go to bed now to get another day out of the way.

Day 6 much the same as day 5!

Last day, thank god!! At breakfast this morning there was no bread at all, when we asked for some, we were told there is no more bread! And the toaster was gone! There was no fruit, which left cold bacon and cold fried eggs, or some dried up little croissant things. We found out the hotel is closing down on Tuesday for 5 months, so I guess for the poor guests that are here till Monday there will probably be no food left for them. One good thing, we don't leave till 6pm and were told we could keep our room and all Inc arm bands till we leave. Personally I think we should get a refund coz this was advertised as a 4 star hotel, and in truth it is about 2 star at a stretch!!!
There is a little 2 year old girl staying here, and last night there was nothing suitable for her to eat, when her parents asked if they could do her some chips they flatly refuse, so she had a bread roll for dinner!!!!
There are 4 Internet computers here but 3 have been switched off! So there was a que to use the last remaining one last night!
Today there is no barman on duty, we waited 15 mins to get a drink, then the missus had to go and get the guy sweeping the floor in the restaurant to come and serve us!!
I am not usually one to moan or complain, and consider myself pretty easily pleased, but I have nothing good to say about the hotel virginia, only that Iris at reception was very lovely and very helpfull, and Christos the nightime barman is very friendly. All that said, if you choose to ignore this review, then on your own head be it, This is a true and honest account of our stay at the Virginia hotel. You have been warned!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koskinou hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Just got back from a week stay on an all-inclusive basis, Food ok but at the end of the week I started to struggle on what to eat and there were alot of flies on and around the food pudding same each day pastries with a bit of cream on top and mouses, also you could have fruit but did not look very nice!! breakfast was the nicest meal of the day. Drinks not to bad but the selection very limited on the all-inclusive. Hotel was clean in side and out and the rooms cleaned 6 times a week, Room we had a broked toilet seat reported it and it was fixed but still kept coming off !! the room it self was nicely decorated and comfortable. Reception staff nice and friendly. Restaurant staff took a long time to clear plates off the table and would stand around talking to each other. Bar staff were ok and you did'nt have to wait long to get served. All in all a ok base to stay on Rhodes quiet out of the way, small beach down a hill and easy to get to the main towns using the buses that were cheap and ran often. Would I go back to this hotel only if I was staying on a bed and breakfast basis other wise NO.

Room Tip: Not a very child friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31KIMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just come back from a weeks stay all inclusive. This was not the hotel we booked but had to go here after date mix ups. We were very open minded after reading some horrendous reviews?, we were however pleasantly surprised, they did not take cups from the bins and reuse them, every time I gave a plastic cup back at the bar it was thrown straight in the bin! The soft drinks were ok not brand names such as coca cola or r whites, but drinkable. The food on offer was ok, a little bit mix n match not always with a potato option, but plenty of meat salad and pasta. There was fruit but it was bruised most of the time and desserts were ok repetitive though! The pools were clean and plenty of sun bed available. The room was small and basic, the bathroom could do with a revamp and the balconies were not child friendly as they had large gaps down the side and were very low. Has a small shop on site which was ok for little bits pieces such as crisp and biscuits, the women behind the till however was very stuck and often looked down her nose at us! No entertainment but that suited us as we had a small child. Nice little park and indoor toddler area, not always clean but nice enough. Staff were ok but in the restaurant they could only say welcome, and mainly chatted and laughed together. All in all an ok holiday, probably wouldn't go back.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just spent 2 weeks in hotel Virginia....The food was good ,and the main large pool is also good,but the room was 2 star at best.....there is a newish wing to the hotel and that looks 4 star quality ,but the rest of it is crap ,I don't say that lightly ,but the walls were paper thin I could hear everything that was going on either side of my room ,things like people going to the toilet which is not the most pleasant of experience at 2 in the morning,and the bed was the hardest bed I have ever slept on ........the staff were good ,but if your looking for a quiet room with coffee making facilities and more then 1 english channel on the tv ,this is not the hotel for you.....

Room Tip: insist on the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playtime1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

just got back from the virginia, after reading all the reviews before i went i thought it cant be that bad.Well when we checked in at 5am we were not helped to the room and we had 2 large suitcases, a wheelchair we were not told it was an an apart hotel. When we got to the room there was no kettle or hairdryer in the room. The part of the hotel we were in the room was not a 4* it was more like 2/3* as we stayed in the old bit, there are set meal times for breakfast dinner and tea, and nothing in between. the hotel was not all inclusive!! not much choice of drinks here either, the coke was cheap coke! we got air con which was 6 euro a day and it was rubbish, the key to get in is for you electric to and switches off when you leave the room, so we took the magnet off,so we could leave it on when we went out we were not paying that a day and the room being red hot when we got back.! coffee and tea was served at meal times and by the bar there is a flask and stuff so i made one, it was stone cold. there was no entertainment at all, the pool was really in need of a revamp.the only good thing were the other receptionists and the cleaners, especially the receptionist iris, the rooms were clean to an ok standard. be prepared for a bad back though as the beds are like wood. If you are going here i would say make sure you are in the new bit but you will still be eating the food in the old bit and make sure you eat a lot at meal times as there is nothing in between. the food was ok,the only good thing was the salads no feta tho!!!! and yes they do wash the plastic cups, they were always wet.we went up to the snack bar and because it was not meal times had to pay for food! deff not going back!

Room Tip: if you want hot drinks take a travel kettle with you oh ye and no hair dryer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafydd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.3 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
25.2 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
11.1 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#15 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#25 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Property: Virginia Hotel
Address: Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Koskinou
Virginia Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing