We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOMEMADE FOOD”
Review of Old Monolithos

Old Monolithos
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Monolithos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The business was firstly established by our grandfather in 1929 and we took over in 1978, keeping the tradition in our cuisine. We rebuilt the whole building in 2007, keeping it's original shape.
Esbjerg V
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOMEMADE FOOD”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A outstanding place deserves a Michelin star for LOVELY HOMEMADE FOOD.
Good raw materials that keep the colours, you can taste the food is made with love and care.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanishMrSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    40
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great eating in Monolithos”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a brilliant place. My adult daughter and I went three times during our week in Monolithos. The food was great, authentic and good value. By the time we left, Manolis and Despina felt like old friends. Manolis describes the food in his excellent English if you wish and consequently there's no need for photos outside making the food looking like plastic!! It feels like you're really in Greece, not in a tourist trap. Thanks, Manolis. We had a great time with you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great company!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A family restaurant offering not only great food but also friendly environment and unforgettable moments with the owner. Don´t forget to taste melitzanosalata!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia_Tampouratzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top restaurant on the top of Rhodes”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

One of the best ever restaurants combining excellent food by Mrs Despina and Mr Manolis, friendly atmosphere and authentic Rhodes

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drag1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we've been to on Rhodes...”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Local cuisine with everything to offer - a family restaurant serving home cooked local dishes, but with surprising elegance and balance, attention to fine detail, thoughtful use of spices and restraint in regards to oil (that is sometimes overused in local cooking). The tzatziki, moussakas and souvlaki that we had were delicious and perhaps the best we have tried on he island. Located in the mountain village of Monolithos, providing a wonderful serene small village atmosphere in a cool and quiet area, just minutes drive from the castle.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Monolithos also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Old Monolithos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing