We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful family friendly villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kivotos Villa

Pool area  with... a  view !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda Night view from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda
Night view from veranda
Relaxing near the pool  and  the gazebo
Villa garden and pool area
Romantic relaxing
lavanders in the garden...
living room
Fish ...in the living room area .
Kitchen
Bedroom with double bed
Twin beds
Main bathroom for the disables
Master bedroom with en- suite bathroom
Sofa bed in the Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
bathroom en-suite with jacuzzi
children painting....
children playing...
Master bedroom
Sofa bed in the master bedroom
Master bedromm
Vegetables from your organic garden
sun set by the pool
pool area
pool area
relaxing by the pool
sea view from the living room
night views from the living room
pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
sunrayhel...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful family friendly villa”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the villa for one week at the end of April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner (Eva) was extremely friendly and helpful. She made sure the house was stocked with essential food on our arrival which was much appreciated and was helpful with sightseeing tips and local information. The villa itself was beautiful with great views of the sea, spacious and light. We only used the upstairs part of the house which we felt was lighter and warmer than the rooms downstairs. It was extremely family friendly with toys, a stair gate, cot, high chair and utensils, perfect for our very active toddler. The outside area was great with garden, patio and pool (although not warm enough to use the pool). You would need a car to get out and about and discover the local area. Plenty to see and do. In short the villa comes highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean modern accommodation with great views down hill to sea. Excellent friendly customer service
Liked least: swimming pool not heated (not uncommon in crete !)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgix
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We had a great time at the Kivotos Villa, as well as in Crete in general. The site, the view, the villa and amenities, as well as the kind generosity of Eva and her family; everything was as described or better. We travel with our teenagers, and offering them a bit of space (and access to Wifi) after a day's worth of touring, which the villa offers, is definitely a positive.

Crete is one of the most stunningly beautiful, yet laid back, places in Europe. And travelling in early November, although cooler than earlier autumn dates, you get the extra advantage of fewer tourists, little traffic, etc. Eva and her family helped us along with recommendations for the local bakery, butcher shop, etc., and provided us with some of their own produce, cooking, a few bottles of the best olive oil I have ever tasted. We definitely ate and drank very well.

A definite recommendation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rooms, cleanliness, proximity
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmfromlo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in August 2013

We had an excellent stay at Kivotos Villa and Eva and her family could not have been more helpful. Lovely vegetables given to us, the pool was great and the location good. Thanks for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Pool
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnar N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent two wonderful weeks at villa Kivotos. The location on the hillside makes for a peaceful and undisturbed stay, with a fantastic view of the Cretan Sea. It lies only a short drive away from supermarkets, tavernas, and beaches. We spent a lot of time at the pool, which was perfect for our three children, aged 4-11.

We arrived at our son's birthday, and were greeted with a lovely birthday cake and decorations. Throughout the stay, Eva would pop by several times with fresh vegetables from the garden, and even a hot vegetable pie which we enjoyed for dinner. She also gave us recommendations for places to go and tavernas to try, which were all excellent. For example taverna Plateia with a spectacular view from the hills above Plakias.

The house is tastefully decorated and has air conditioning in every room, and mosquito nets on all windows. The kitchen was well supplied and we baked both pizzas and bagels there.

The villa was very clean, and was cleaned every third day, including change of linen and towels.

All in all this is a great place to stay, and we highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb villa with stunning views and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've stayed in many villas and holiday apartments and Eva's hospitality was, by far, the best we've had. We were given fresh vegetables from her garden, Eva's home made olive oil, oregano, and more! She recommended a fantastic fish restaurant about a 5 minute drive from the villa, where we were taken into the kitchen to choose our freshly caught fish. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Eva; a very pleasant, generous person to say the least!

As for the villa, it was very clean and comfortable (cleaner came in twice a week) and the air conditioning throughout was a very welcome relief in 35 degree weather. The best features were the pool, which our sons spent endless hours in, and the terrace off the kitchen. We enjoyed beautiful views of the sunset, sea and mountains until later in the evening without being pestered by mosquitos. Definitely the best view we've had. Fantastic!

There is plenty on offer within 5 min drive of the villa: supermarkets (Aldi being the biggest), bakeries, medical centres, pharmacies, tavernas, etc. These are all along the busy touristy strip. We never ate out there and instead chose to drive a little further (10 mins) to Rethymnon, which is a charming, lively port town with a venetian fortress and plenty of restaurants just steps from the water and fishing boats. You can park for about 2 or 3 Euros for the evening. Definitely worth the drive. The restaurants were very good with lots of fish and seafood on offer, and complimentary desserts and Raki. We tried (and brought home) a type of Raki with honey and cinnamon. Very nice. The frozen yogurt and many ice cream places were very good too.

All in all an excellent place to stay. Thank you, Eva!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchmoby...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could give a 6 I would!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Family of 5 stayed in august. Great location in the hills above seaside town so could leave the hustle behind, yet just a short drive from bakers, butchers, ice cream and cappacino's. The host could not do enough supplying home grown vegetables, which we bbq'd with garlic, yum, and a homemade pumpkin and feta cheese pie - this was delicious! She was very helpful and on hand if needed but otherwise left us to enjoy the beautiful setting! The perfect place to stay. Kids for info were 10,12&14 and had everything they needed I.e. internet and a pool.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico W
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed at Kivotos Villa during the last week of May and the first week of June 2014. This was the third time we've rented a house for the holidays and this time we could not have chosen better. No description or picture can do justice to this fantastic place. The villa has everything we could have asked for, the pool is a dream, the 180 degree view of the Aegean Sea is undescribable and the house owner family is so generous and so sincerely interested in the well being of their guests. Words fall short. This place is so private that it is hard to believe that we were just a five minute drive away from the beach and merely 10 minutes to the lovely town of Rethymno. Eva, Sakis and their daughter Zania made the stay memorable, offering valuable advice on what to see and where to eat. The welcoming package that awaited upon our arrival was ample, the house was cleaned 2 times a week, the pool was chrystal clear every single morning and we even had our own organic garden where we could go and pick our own veggies :) The hardest part during our stay was to convince the kids that there was more to see and do than simply use the pool! This place is a 5+ star property in our book and we will most definitely be back! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing