We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, wonderful owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kivotos Villa

Pool area  with... a  view !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda Night view from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda
Night view from veranda
Relaxing near the pool  and  the gazebo
Villa garden and pool area
Romantic relaxing
lavanders in the garden...
living room
Fish ...in the living room area .
Kitchen
Bedroom with double bed
Twin beds
Main bathroom for the disables
Master bedroom with en- suite bathroom
Sofa bed in the Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
bathroom en-suite with jacuzzi
children painting....
children playing...
Master bedroom
Sofa bed in the master bedroom
Master bedromm
Vegetables from your organic garden
sun set by the pool
pool area
pool area
relaxing by the pool
sea view from the living room
night views from the living room
pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Marion W
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa, wonderful owners”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed with a friend at Villa Kivotos for a week in October. We had a perfect time and would have liked to have stayed longer but unfortunately we were a late booking and the villa was already booked by other lucky people.
The villa is situated in the hills above Rethymnon and has great views from all levels. The villa itself is modern, spotlessly clean and had every amenity we could have wished for. We didn't cook while we were there but could have if we'd wanted to as it was fully equipped with everything needed. We loved the sliding doors which opened up the villa to the patio outside. I also liked the screens which meant we weren't bothered by flies, mosquitoes etc, although there probably weren't many around by then. It is also very suitable for people with mobility issues as the bathroom is equipped with rails and a walk in shower. Outside, there is a ramp down to the pool area so it's not necessary to use the steps.

So that's the villa...but what really made our stay perfect was the kindness and helpfulness of Eva and her husband. From our arrival, when Eva met us after 10.30pm at the bottom of the hill so that we could follow her to the villa, they couldn't have been more helpful. The following morning there was a problem with our rental car and Eva's husband spoke to the rental company to give them directions so that they could bring a replacement, and then also went to meet them to guide them to the villa. When we managed to get a parking ticket, he also offered to take our payment to the local post office. And one evening we thought we'd locked ourselves out (but hadn't!) and had to call Eva out. The villa is lovely, but they are what makes it really special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Best villa we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just spent two fabulous weeks at the Kivotos Villa. Located up in the hills above Rethymno, it is a great base to explore all the main sights in the Central region. You need a car and we hired a VW Polo which was absolutely perfect for the journeys that we made, particularly some of the narrow alleys in the villages. We visited beaches on the north and south coast, the main historical sights and spent time in Chania and Rethymno. We ate out most days and every meal we had was delicious.

The villa itself is modern, well kitted out with everything you need and generously stocked with all the basics when you first arrive. It is cleaned twice a week, highly secure and air conditioned. Rethymno is only 15 mins drive and there is a local supermarket just 5 mins down the road. The views from the terrace over look the beach on one side and the mountains on the other. So we had beautiful sun rises over the mountains and sunsets over the ocean. Just breathtaking.

We have two kids aged 11 and 9 and there wasn't a day that they weren't in the pool. It was very much their highlight! A great base for families or couples travelling together.

We have stayed in villa's in France over the years and this was by the far the best. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of villa
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floralcan...
Horam, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise and heaven rolled into one amazing space.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived late at night to a warm welcome from Eva, which immediately put us at ease and allowed us to relax after a very long journey.The modern facilities and decor of the villa were to a very high standard. The specialist equipment Eva organised for us to support our friends disability was installed exactly as we'd requested and there were no problems.The villa overall was delightful and the gardens were gorgeous. The swimming pool made the difference with the hot weather and the views to the sea at all levels were fabulous. Eva very kindly gave us home made olive oil and marmalade, she also brought us freshly grown vegetables throughout our stay, which were incredible and very much appreciated. It truly felt like a home from home and we will be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: No bus service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron L
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a fantastic holiday and Eva was a very kind and generous host . The swimming pool was bigger than the average villa pool so was excellent for keeping fit ,having fun and cooling off .

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaCorn...
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Villa in Crete ”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived in Crete early hours of the morning after picking up the car from the airport we followed Eva's instructions to the villa. Eva was waiting at the meeting point ready to take us on the last part of the journey to the villa. Eva regularly kept in contact prior to our arrival and was fantastic with any questions that we had. We were travelling as two families made up of 4 adults and 3 children. On arrival at the villa we were not disappointed it was modern, clean spacious and the pool and grounds were amazing. There was also a welcome pack waiting for us which was great after a long trip and allowed us to have a bite to eat before heading out to do a shop. The villa had all you needed and more to ensure you have a more than comfortable stay. The views from the terrace were fabulous and we found it a great place to relax with a drink and admire the views. Whilst the villa is only a short distance from the amenities a car would be essential, there are lots of local shops and restaurants in the local area as well as supermarkets where you can stock up of villa essentials. Eva was always on hand for any questions that we had and was extremely helpful at all times. We spent most days exploring the local sights returning to the villa to swim in the pool and then head out for the evening or have a bbq by the pool.

I would not hesitate in recommending the villa and we are already talking about returning again. Thank you to Eva and her family for making sure we have an amazing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accomodation close to the beach and lost in the olive trees”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house was wonderful, very bright, modern, pleasant to live in, yet warm to spend a rainy day inside. Great for children, there is even a stair gate and toys for little ones. I loved the view of the ocean and the sheep at the end of the garden in middle of the olive trees.
It is a 10 min drive from the beach, more touristic restaurants and supermarkets. And there are couple of amazing restaurants lost in the hills behind the house. I would definitely recommend it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren J
2 reviews
“Enjoyed our week in Crete”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our week in Crete. Eva was an excellent host. We arrived late in the evening and she met us a hotel near the Villa. When we arrived there was groceries for our breakfast the next morning along with a bottle of wine.The next day she showed us around Rethymno where to eat where to get groceries etc. The Villa was beautiful and had everything we needed. Location is central so you could visit much of the island and be back at the villa in the evening. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendiness of Eva and her family.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing