We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain cabins on peacefull place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gala Hogfjellshotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gala
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The cabine we had has 61 sqere meter. Very spacy and comfortable. It is about 4 kilometer from the hotel reception.
The lake is about 600 meters from the place, but you can spot some parts of it from the cabin.
There is all you need in the cabin, but no wi-fi. You must have a car to enjoy this place and the surraonding area and lanscapes.
We loved evrey moment of our stay, which was 7 nights.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the highiest level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2008

We stayed in the cabins belonging to the hotel. over New Year They were really nice. The skiing was great. Truly door to door and the ski school was good with no queues for the lifts even during this high season period. Night tabogganing was fun. However there is absolutely no apres ski whatsoever. Just one cafe which is open in the day time and very busy. There is a shop/mini market which will cover most needs if you aren not too demanding. Prices are quite high and alchol is almost priced out of reach. Only beer and cider available in resort. Wine /spirits can be bought at a price in the towns but the nearest is 8 very twisty/icy roads away.

Perfect for our family holiday as all we really wanted was to ski and then spend family evenings playing cards/games in front of a log fire. We would go again but I would worry about recommending it to someone who expected to be a lively holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MrHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
13
Reviewed 28 February 2006

We stayed in the apartment/cabins here over the summer and were amazed by how beautiful the settings are. The cabins themselves are really comfortable with underfloor heating a lovely kitchen and living room and lots of movies on the TV. My only complaint as far as the cabins went was that the double bed was actually two matresses pushed together.

The resort itself is just so beautiful - we spent 3 or 4 days just walking around the countryside -on the walks that the hotel staff will point out for you. A ski lift to the top of the mountains proves a magnificent view and the lakes surrounding this area are crystal clear.

I would definitely reccomend a car - I could not see how you could get around at all here without one- and the highlight of our stay in Gala was a days hike in the national park.

The only downside of staying in Gala is the food- the supermarkets are incrediably expensive and devoid of much fresh produce and the restaurants were too expensive for us to consider.

I would definitely reccomend this beautiful area for a holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gunnar_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 532dauu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SULLIVAN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gala
0.0 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
0.0 mi away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peer Gynt Hotel & Spiseri
Show Prices

Been to Gala Hogfjellshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Hogfjellshotel

Address: Gudbrandsdalen valley, Gala 2646, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Sor-Fron Municipality > Gala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gala
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gala Hogfjellshotell & Cabins is located in the heart of Gudbrandsdalen, some 930 metres above sea level. With stunning views over lake Galavannet and the Jotunheimen mountains, it is ideal for mountain adventures - all year round. At Gala you can enjoy skiing in winter, explore the lush, green scenery in spring, breathe fresh mountain air in summer or take in the spectacular colours of autumn. If you opt for a cabin holiday or short-break, you are guaranteed plenty of atmosphere mixed with the comfort of modern facilities. You can then return to everyday life feeling refreshed and rested, with renewed energy and wonderful memories. All cabins are within easy reach of Gala’s skiing facilities. Simply step outside, put on your skis and enjoy the 15 alpine runs or 230 kilometres of cross-country ski trails. Galaseter offers Gala’s most affordable accommodation. From Rondane and Jotunheimen, the two apartment types available, you can enjoy breathtaking views over Gala’s vast countryside, lake Galavannet or the Jotunheimen mountains. All apartments are newly refurbished and are equipped with everything required for a self-catering holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gala Hogfjellshotel Hotel Gala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing