We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A marvellous holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gala Hogfjellshotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gala Hogfjellshotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gala
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A marvellous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the warm comfort of Gala cabins, and had a lot of trips in the beautiful surroundings.
The area is particularly relevant for national parks (Rondane, Jothunheim) and magnificent landscapes. After so many km by car, we loved the cosy athmosphere of our cottage in the woods.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We didn't know what to expect, as we could not find the hotel by the name we had (Gålå Fjellgrend), and went hoping it wouldn't be a miserable Christmas. The cabins were absolutely lovely, and far more comfortable than we expected! It was decorated very nicely, and was well supplied with all things needed to cook for a family. They even allow pets (in the cabins), so we were able to bring our two small dogs (requested to keep off furniture and beds, but that was no problem.)
There are few dining options anywhere nearby, except the main hotel dining facilities (again not a problem, as we had brought cooked meals with us) and there is also a well supplied grocery store in the area. For our cabin location, it was necessary to drive to both of these, as this is a remote area, very spread out. Also there are plenty of television stations showing English speaking shows, but there is no internet in the cabins (free wi-fi in the hotel lobby area). Amazing skiing as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OddieShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

23/12-26/12

Our family has spent christmas here since the late 1930`s until the mid-80`s when my grandfather passed.

6 of us came back this christmas to have a good time and check out the hotel and the surroundings. 1 child, 2 older children in their 40`s and three even older visitors. We had a good time. Much of the old charm was definetly gone. That was expected.

But it was a nice experience. The rooms were good. And the dinner was surpringsly excellent christmas eve and on christmas day. Buffet with a lot of local food and traditional norwegian christmas meat.

However, there was a lot of details here that wasn`t quite up to par. There was an extensive christmas program on the web-site. Not much of it played out. (Which was quite understandable since there wasn`t a lot of guests. Maybe 35 including dinner guests.)
And I was not impressed by the fact that I couldn`t rent skies from the hotel even though they state that you can on their web-site.

But the overall experience was definetley pleasant. The local guy in the reception (Steinar?) was quite helpful and knowledgeable.

And maybe most important of all, this is a particurlarly beautiful place. Golå was just as pretty as I rembered it from the old days. Lots of snow on the trees and the odd german car stuck in the snow on the road up. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "villa".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The cabine we had has 61 sqere meter. Very spacy and comfortable. It is about 4 kilometer from the hotel reception.
The lake is about 600 meters from the place, but you can spot some parts of it from the cabin.
There is all you need in the cabin, but no wi-fi. You must have a car to enjoy this place and the surraonding area and lanscapes.
We loved evrey moment of our stay, which was 7 nights.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the highiest level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

We stayed in the cabins belonging to the hotel. over New Year They were really nice. The skiing was great. Truly door to door and the ski school was good with no queues for the lifts even during this high season period. Night tabogganing was fun. However there is absolutely no apres ski whatsoever. Just one cafe which is open in the day time and very busy. There is a shop/mini market which will cover most needs if you aren not too demanding. Prices are quite high and alchol is almost priced out of reach. Only beer and cider available in resort. Wine /spirits can be bought at a price in the towns but the nearest is 8 very twisty/icy roads away.

Perfect for our family holiday as all we really wanted was to ski and then spend family evenings playing cards/games in front of a log fire. We would go again but I would worry about recommending it to someone who expected to be a lively holiday.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2006

We stayed in the apartment/cabins here over the summer and were amazed by how beautiful the settings are. The cabins themselves are really comfortable with underfloor heating a lovely kitchen and living room and lots of movies on the TV. My only complaint as far as the cabins went was that the double bed was actually two matresses pushed together.

The resort itself is just so beautiful - we spent 3 or 4 days just walking around the countryside -on the walks that the hotel staff will point out for you. A ski lift to the top of the mountains proves a magnificent view and the lakes surrounding this area are crystal clear.

I would definitely reccomend a car - I could not see how you could get around at all here without one- and the highlight of our stay in Gala was a days hike in the national park.

The only downside of staying in Gala is the food- the supermarkets are incrediably expensive and devoid of much fresh produce and the restaurants were too expensive for us to consider.

I would definitely reccomend this beautiful area for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gala
0.0 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Beitostolen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
#3 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
#2 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Resort
Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Res...
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Hogfjellshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Hogfjellshotel

Property: Gala Hogfjellshotel
Address: Gudbrandsdalen valley, Gala 2646, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Sor-Fron Municipality > Gala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gala
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gala Hogfjellshotell & Cabins is located in the heart of Gudbrandsdalen, some 930 metres above sea level. With stunning views over lake Galavannet and the Jotunheimen mountains, it is ideal for mountain adventures - all year round. At Gala you can enjoy skiing in winter, explore the lush, green scenery in spring, breathe fresh mountain air in summer or take in the spectacular colours of autumn. If you opt for a cabin holiday or short-break, you are guaranteed plenty of atmosphere mixed with the comfort of modern facilities. You can then return to everyday life feeling refreshed and rested, with renewed energy and wonderful memories. All cabins are within easy reach of Gala’s skiing facilities. Simply step outside, put on your skis and enjoy the 15 alpine runs or 230 kilometres of cross-country ski trails. Galaseter offers Gala’s most affordable accommodation. From Rondane and Jotunheimen, the two apartment types available, you can enjoy breathtaking views over Gala’s vast countryside, lake Galavannet or the Jotunheimen mountains. All apartments are newly refurbished and are equipped with everything required for a self-catering holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gala Hogfjellshotel Hotel Gala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing