We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give it 8 stars?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solstrand Hotel & Bad
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can I give it 8 stars?”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My first experience of Solstrad was booking my wedding reception there, which took place in June 2009. Living in London at the time my wife and I relied on the hotel staff to organise and advise on all but the most intimate details, visiting only to view the various function rooms and bedrooms, and then again to sample the menu and wines. At no point in the two year lead-up to our big day were we left with any doubt about the professionalism and competence of the team there, as they organised accommodation, coach transport and baby-sitters for our guests. Even more impressive was the way the staff entertained our every whim in the few days leading up to the big day, and the quality of the food, service and surroundings made our wedding reception one of the most stress-free parties I have ever thrown!

Having footed the bill for a party for 50 at Solstrand, I would say that while not cheap, (even by Norwegian standards) the place does represent great value. The staff are extremely well-trained and the matriarch of the Schau-Larsen family is nearly always visible somewhere, greeting guests and ensuring standards are kept up. At no point did I feel they were out to get my money, and there were even a few extras that never made it onto my bill...

Aside from the organisation and service aspects, the hotel has about the most stunning location possible, with a view out over the fjord, a glacier visible in the distance and immaculate, peaceful gardens in which to pass the time contemplating existence... If that's not enough, the spa is like nothing else - brilliantly designed with three large steam rooms/saunas of different flavours, a jacuzzi the size of a small swimming pool, with huge windows facing "that view", a generous-sized indoor pool for serious swimming and a smaller super-heated outdoor infinity pool with built in lounger, purely for lazing around. There are also plush-looking treatment rooms if you want to pay for massage etc, but I never used those. Incredibly, all but the outdoor pool is perfectly hidden under the hotel and lawns, so cannot be seen from the rooms.

There's also the option to take one of two locally built Oselvar rowing boats out on the fjord at no extra cost, to see the place from another angle. That was pleasant...

Most of our wedding guests had never been to Norway before, and the feedback from them was that Solstrand had made them really want to come back to see more of the country.

Three years on, and now living in Bergen, I visited Solstrand for an extended business meeting in August 2012, and the standard had not dropped one bit. Meeting, private dinner, drinks and breakfast were brilliantly managed - just the right balance of discretion and attention from the staff, and the same excellent facilities. I spent at least two hours trying everything at breakfast the next morning, and quietly enjoying the location with a newspaper before I was ready to drive back to the office...

I have stayed at a few so-called five-star hotels around Europe, but for me nothing comes close to this one for setting, service and dining, with all the facilities you would expect and then a little more. I would move in there for good if I could afford it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
96
7
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great large room with incredibly beautiful views of the gardens and parks and beyond Bjørnefjorden. Varied and delicious food at the buffet for lunch and good dinner. The hotel is huge and has many salons and antique furniture, great stoves and fireplaces and much beautiful interior. It's easy to understand why the female owner and driver of the hotel has won several awards for her work. We also saw the same lady had an overview of the lunch buffet and arranged the flower beds outside. The hotel has an excellent spa area with a 2 pool. A heated pool where you can swim from the hotel and out, beautiful to look up at the stars in the dark-while swimming around. The bar and dance area had a pianist and singer who created a great atmosphere and got many guests to dance and enjoy the evening. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, a woman who washed spa area took the time to accompany me to the meeting room. A hotel I would like to visit again.

Room Tip: The hotel is built so all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Solstrand Hotel & Bad (Solstrand Hotel and Baths) is located in the town of Osøyro, half an hour south of Bergen city, in quiet and picturesque surroundings right on the water's edge in the West Norwegian fjord landscape. The hotel is well established with long traditions in the Norwegian conference market, and hosts the famous Solstrand leadership development program for the business elite.

The hotel building itself is a mixture between old but well renovated and more modern additions with an atmosphere of gentility and tradition. The room I was in was very spacious, with vintage details and finish, but quite up to modern standards. Conference facilities were also very good, in the same modern and vintage mix that really gave it a character beyond your average conference hotel. Huge windows with a spectacular view added to this.

I had two lunches, a breakfast and a 3 course dinner during my stay. Breakfast and lunch buffets were seccond to none. Some of the best I have had, with a very good selection of breads, hot and cold dishes with particularly excellent use of traditional Norwegian fish and meats.

The hotel is known for its spa and bath facilities, among other things with a heated outdoor pool at the fjord side, but I did not use these and can't really review them. The hotel also has a big park, with walking paths that give the opportunity for various length walks along the sea.

Prices seem to be in the upper range, but this is is a world class hotel experience offering an atmosphere that sets it quite well apart from your average glass and steel conference hotel. If price is not important, or if you can get a good deal, I would heartily recommend this. Particularly if you see more than enough of your usual run of the mill hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SverreBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Couldnt find fault with this hotel, second year visiting for a conference. Food is wonderful, wine bit expensive, but it is in Norway. Quality of rooms is very good. Great location, heated infinity pool lovely. Sauna and steam room nice. didnt get to try any of the treatments

Room Tip: Try to get one facing Fjiord
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

After 4 weeks of solid travel we thought we had arrived in heaven when arriving at Solstrand. The location takes your breath away and then there are the rooms. We booked a deluxe room and it more than met expectations. Very adequate. Plenty of room and storage space and then there was the view!!! The spa facilities are some of the best we have encountered in many years of travel. The pools (plural) were amazing. To swim outdoors with snow capped mountains in the background was a little surreal. Dinner was very expensive so the second night we ate in our room after walking into Os (very picturesque) and buying wine at great prices and then off to the supermarket for fresh produce, we had a lovely meal. Staff are very accommodating and the breakfasts are ample. The only negative is the cost of getting to the airport in Bergen..870 Nor Kr

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It's pretty expensive but it's absolutely positively
worth it. All kinds of beautiful pools and the breakfast
buffet was extraordinary. The view out the window
was lovely. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
About the only negative is that they just had two
computers for guest use and one was kaput. But if you're in the mood to
splurge, this place is just amazing!

Room Tip: No problem - all the rooms have a wonderful fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robduchene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It was a great place to relax. We had a corner room and with great views of the fjord. One can just sit there for hours looking at the picture perfect scenery. Definitely a place for romance. It had beautiful pool and spa, wooden canoes for rowing into the fjord and places to swim in the fjord. The gardens surrounding the hotel was very well kept and maintained. There was only one single restaurant. It was probably the only decent place to eat in the area. There were not many menu choices. They provided a daily 3 course menu which probably the best value. The food was quite good.

Room Tip: One will need a car to get there from Bergen. There are parking places around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osoyro
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
280 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstrand Hotel & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstrand Hotel & Bad

Property: Solstrand Hotel & Bad
Address: Solstrandvegen 200 | Os, Osoyro 5200, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Os Municipality > Osoyro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstrand Hotel & Spa is a historical resort located right by the fjord on the west coast of Norway. We offer a spectacular view over the norwegian fjords and mountains - at the same time our location is just 30 km from Bergen Airport Flesland and downtown Bergen. The grand Swiss style hotel on the countryside has been hosting national and international guests ever since it was built in 1896. Solstrand has 135 guest rooms, all with individual decor and charm. The meeting facilities have a capacity of up to 200 participants and is tailored to management and board meetings, seminars and major national and international events. Our wellness area lets you unwind in hot therapy pools, swim a few laps in the pool, dip into the cold pool, relax in the sauna or gaze at the stars in our outdoor pool. The wellness area is spacious, with large windows facing the fjord outside. We recommend taking a fjord bath from our bathing pier - it is open all year! Or if you feel like running miles on the treadmill, stop by our fitness room. Take time to relax - our SPA experiences are soothing for body and soul. Our award winning SPA offers spa treatment that suits your needs - relaxing, revitalising or cleansing, for face and body. The food we serve is deeply rooted in coastal culture, and we offer Western Norwegian specialities as well as continental flavours. We are happy to serve our guests local fish and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solstrand Hotel & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solstrand Hotel And Bad
Solstrand Hotel Bergen
Solstrand Hotel & Bad Norway/Osoyro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing