We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“likeable ski lodge type lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“likeable ski lodge type lodging”
Reviewed 22 June 2008

As mentioned by other travelers, this is not your run of the mill hotel. Our room was more like a ski lodge, with two loft beds, a nice size (big) living room, a cot, and funny enough, a privately accessed bathroom outside our room. It is more like a typical ski condo than a hotel room.

We liked it. It was different. The character was cool. There's a nice view of the water / fjord from the hotel. The staff was nice, there's free internet there. They had self-made waffles for breakfast (yummy!).

The downside is that the hotel is not really in Bergen. It is in Osteroy, about 15 miles away (I think), so it's not as convenient. The town is pretty, quaint, but like most small Norwegian towns, things close down early, and you don't have the niceties of Bergen. On the other hand, you don't have the tourists / noise either.

The value was good, it was cheaper than many of the Bergen hotels at 1150 Nkr a night for 2 people during a popular season.

  • Liked — character, quaintness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
17
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Bjornefjorden Gjestetun last week and liked it very much. Truthfully, we were a little disappointed when we first arrived. The hotel website had led us to believe that the hotel would have a more secluded and rural setting. In actuality, the hotel is located in an upscale suburb of Bergen. The hotel's grounds are small and are bordered on one side by a fairly major road and on the other by houses. There is no access to the waterfront, although there is a nice view of the fjord. While I had envisioned spending time relaxing at the hotel itself, we did not do this. The good news is that this hotel is not only a short drive to Bergen but is located close to a few ferry lines for exploring the fjords. Our room was very comfortable -- although the beds were located in a loft and the private bathroom was located off a public hallway. You could at times hear the people in the adjacent room, including someone snoring at night. One night there was a large group drinking and partying on the hotel patio, located just outside our room. We waited until 11 pm and then called the front desk to complain. Within seconds the party had been cleared out. The best part of this hotel is the food. We had the prix fixe dinner both nights, and each night it was excellent! The breakfast selection each morning was large, varied and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We found this cosy and friendly hotel late one evening, driving frantically around the outskirts of the town of Bergen. A very welcoming atmosphere helped us in deciding to stay for the night. Cosy room, although a bit dark situated one floor down as it was. Maybe the breakfast was a little bit bleak, but overall our stay att Bjornefjorden was a experience rating above average. Superb staff!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The lack of good light in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at the Bjornefjorden Gjestetun from the 20th to the 24th of June on our honeymoon. The price was not nearly as expensive as was quoted by a previous poster but I wouldn't exactly call it cheap either. We had a nice room, or in fact two rooms, a bed room and a living room with a nice big terrace/balcony looking over the magnificently beautiful fjord. The beds were rather small but extremely comfortable, and I'm almost 2 metres tall and haven't had a better sleep in ages. The hotel is excellent for someone who isn't looking for a stay in the downtown, but rather looking for a few relaxing days surrounded by beautiful sceneries. Our room even had a little kitchenette and breakfast was included although we preferred to make our own breakfast and enjoy it in the privacy of our own little terrace.

One evening we had the chance of experiencing the hotels restaurant, which due to a large group arriving only had a veery limited menu available, but extremely tasty and with nice house wine. The only downside was the ludicrous price of the dinner which was even in Norwegian standards on the expensive side considering the remote location of the hotel. All in all an excellent and relaxing stay and would certainly recommend it to people who are looking for something different and romantic.

Hint: rent a car to get to the hotel. If you rely on taxis or buses you'll waste your holiday.

  • Liked — Great view and size of room.
  • Disliked — Soundproofing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dondiegoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Ok, the unfortunate fact first: By our standards, this nice hotel was very expensive: Over 300 EUR for a double room. This included all meals, however, and the country is a very expensive place to start with. As can be expected in Norway, the alcoholic drinks were extra, and also very expensive.

Other than that, I really like the hotel. The rooms were small, but tastefully decorated and had a homely feel to them.

The best thing, however, is the view over the fjord. The dining room has a huge windowfront to the water, and it's simply amazing. If you like, you can also get to the shore quite easily.

Since it was mid-June, it would never get really dark, so it was possible to sit in the garden as long as you like.
Too bad that most of the day we were in a conference room that looked to the back.

Adding to the relaxed feeling was the fact that the hotel is located a bit outside Bergen.

I also liked the fact that were many common areas to meet and hang out: The garden, a terrace, lounge areas and a small bar.

Meals were also very good, with a large breakfast buffet and both lunch and dinner featuring three courses (sometimes, lunch was also a buffet). The quality of the food was high, with local ingredients.

The staff was quite friendly, and there was also a free wireless internet service.

  • Liked — Scenic view, nice rooms, food and the scenic view
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

This hotel is just amasing!!!! The service is exellent, and the food is proper for the king!!! The wiew was the beautifullest wiew i have ever seen. it is 10 times beter than in bergen.. This hotell is really nere Bergen, and ther is a golfcourt on the other side of the road.
YOU are going to love this hotel!!!!!! and it is not that expensive either for norwegian prices! visit --- you are not going to regret it!!!! Everybody is worth a stay here, i can't say enough times how imprest i am of the service, food, rooms, staff, wiew and hotel.
Os is a really nice little town too! You'll love it- just like we do :P

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom Gunnar Kall... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Looking for a self catering apartment at the last minute in July '06, I wrote to various hotels whose details I got through the official Bergen website. This hotel was the first to revert with details and I found them consistently prompt in replying and answering queries. They also have a website which helped. It is an old farm on a very wide fjord converted into a hotel. Each room has its own name and ours was The Loft Room, an attic conversion. It had the most magnificent view and we really needn't have bothered to go to see the other fjords. We arrived in time for breakfast which was pretty good although expensive by UK standards - but then this was Norway! Our room was accessed by a very steep but short staircase. And then the view - completely ohmigosh! The bathroom was a bit tiny but then who was going to spend much time there. There are larger apartments but they were all booked. Many have balconies. When booking one should specify a view and balcony if possible as the rooms on the ground floor may not have such a good view as they are blocked by fruit trees.. They have a lovely garden with lots of fruit trees and we were told by the owners to help ourselves to as much fruit as we wanted! We met someone from the kitchen picking plums to make into jam. This is not a typical hotel with various modcons. It is full of Scandanavian charm with pine finished walls and decor. Anyone looking for a non hotel, non-resort atmosphere can find it here. A car is convinient else there is a bus stand right outside the hotel going to Bergen. I would recommend it to families or couples who loves nature and wants a relaxing break. Plenty of opportunities for water sports, walking or just driving around.

  • Liked — The view and decor
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room with view and balcony, the higher the better
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Chandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osoyro
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Rosendal Fjordhotel
#1 of 2 in Rosendal
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama Hotell & Resort
#1 of 1 in Steinsland
86 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
548 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bjornefjorden Gjestetun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bjornefjorden Gjestetun

Property: Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
Address: Hatvikvegen 25 | Os 5211, Osoyro 5211, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Os Municipality > Osoyro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bjornefjorden Gjestetun 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun is situated on Hauge, Os, just half an hour's drive south of Bergen. Gjestetunet (Guest House) has 38 rooms, seven meeting rooms of different size, banquet facilities, a fireplace lounge and a restaurant. The farm was formerly part of Lyse Kloster (Castle), founded in 1146. The farmstead consists of five houses, and from guest courtyard there is a beautiful view over the Bjornefjorden (Bear Fjord).Family Birch is the eighth generation of the farm Hauge. At the entrance is a burial mound from the Viking era. The oldest building on the farm - former barn, and nowadays an accomodation for several of the guest rooms, is from 1655. The farm was once a part of Lyse Kloster, a rich and powerful monastery founded by Bishop Sigurd of Bergen, with more than 200 farms of their own.Guest farmstead is situated in a large garden, on the top of a hill above the majestic Bjornefjorden. From Gjestetunet there is a view to Folgefonna, Rosendal and Tysnes mountains in the distance. The farm is located ten minutes walk from the center of Os. It is also close to Lysoen, the wonderful and adventurous summer villa of Ole Bull.There are several hiking trails and jogging routes nearby. It is possible to combine this with a swim in the bay (for most of us this will be dependent on the season ...).Bjornefjord Golf Club is located on the property and is a nine-hole all-year-round court. We help you with booking and equipment you need.If you want to tailor challenging activities, maybe you will want to rent a real Oselvar (traditional boat), take horse-drawn sleigh rides, canoe or have a mini boot camp before dinner? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bjornefjorden Gjestetun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Bergen
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Hotel Bergen
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Norway/Osoyro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing