We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$148
Quality Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$179
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
13
31
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
31
6
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We found this cosy and friendly hotel late one evening, driving frantically around the outskirts of the town of Bergen. A very welcoming atmosphere helped us in deciding to stay for the night. Cosy room, although a bit dark situated one floor down as it was. Maybe the breakfast was a little bit bleak, but overall our stay att Bjornefjorden was a experience rating above average. Superb staff!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at the Bjornefjorden Gjestetun from the 20th to the 24th of June on our honeymoon. The price was not nearly as expensive as was quoted by a previous poster but I wouldn't exactly call it cheap either. We had a nice room, or in fact two rooms, a bed room and a living room with a nice big terrace/balcony looking over the magnificently beautiful fjord. The beds were rather small but extremely comfortable, and I'm almost 2 metres tall and haven't had a better sleep in ages. The hotel is excellent for someone who isn't looking for a stay in the downtown, but rather looking for a few relaxing days surrounded by beautiful sceneries. Our room even had a little kitchenette and breakfast was included although we preferred to make our own breakfast and enjoy it in the privacy of our own little terrace.

One evening we had the chance of experiencing the hotels restaurant, which due to a large group arriving only had a veery limited menu available, but extremely tasty and with nice house wine. The only downside was the ludicrous price of the dinner which was even in Norwegian standards on the expensive side considering the remote location of the hotel. All in all an excellent and relaxing stay and would certainly recommend it to people who are looking for something different and romantic.

Hint: rent a car to get to the hotel. If you rely on taxis or buses you'll waste your holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dondiegoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Ok, the unfortunate fact first: By our standards, this nice hotel was very expensive: Over 300 EUR for a double room. This included all meals, however, and the country is a very expensive place to start with. As can be expected in Norway, the alcoholic drinks were extra, and also very expensive.

Other than that, I really like the hotel. The rooms were small, but tastefully decorated and had a homely feel to them.

The best thing, however, is the view over the fjord. The dining room has a huge windowfront to the water, and it's simply amazing. If you like, you can also get to the shore quite easily.

Since it was mid-June, it would never get really dark, so it was possible to sit in the garden as long as you like.
Too bad that most of the day we were in a conference room that looked to the back.

Adding to the relaxed feeling was the fact that the hotel is located a bit outside Bergen.

I also liked the fact that were many common areas to meet and hang out: The garden, a terrace, lounge areas and a small bar.

Meals were also very good, with a large breakfast buffet and both lunch and dinner featuring three courses (sometimes, lunch was also a buffet). The quality of the food was high, with local ingredients.

The staff was quite friendly, and there was also a free wireless internet service.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2007

This hotel is just amasing!!!! The service is exellent, and the food is proper for the king!!! The wiew was the beautifullest wiew i have ever seen. it is 10 times beter than in bergen.. This hotell is really nere Bergen, and ther is a golfcourt on the other side of the road.
YOU are going to love this hotel!!!!!! and it is not that expensive either for norwegian prices! visit --- you are not going to regret it!!!! Everybody is worth a stay here, i can't say enough times how imprest i am of the service, food, rooms, staff, wiew and hotel.
Os is a really nice little town too! You'll love it- just like we do :P

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Tom Gunnar Kall... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Looking for a self catering apartment at the last minute in July '06, I wrote to various hotels whose details I got through the official Bergen website. This hotel was the first to revert with details and I found them consistently prompt in replying and answering queries. They also have a website which helped. It is an old farm on a very wide fjord converted into a hotel. Each room has its own name and ours was The Loft Room, an attic conversion. It had the most magnificent view and we really needn't have bothered to go to see the other fjords. We arrived in time for breakfast which was pretty good although expensive by UK standards - but then this was Norway! Our room was accessed by a very steep but short staircase. And then the view - completely ohmigosh! The bathroom was a bit tiny but then who was going to spend much time there. There are larger apartments but they were all booked. Many have balconies. When booking one should specify a view and balcony if possible as the rooms on the ground floor may not have such a good view as they are blocked by fruit trees.. They have a lovely garden with lots of fruit trees and we were told by the owners to help ourselves to as much fruit as we wanted! We met someone from the kitchen picking plums to make into jam. This is not a typical hotel with various modcons. It is full of Scandanavian charm with pine finished walls and decor. Anyone looking for a non hotel, non-resort atmosphere can find it here. A car is convinient else there is a bus stand right outside the hotel going to Bergen. I would recommend it to families or couples who loves nature and wants a relaxing break. Plenty of opportunities for water sports, walking or just driving around.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Chandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews