We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel on Hardanger Fjord” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel on Hardanger Fjord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a very nice family-run hotel in a wonderful location. The rooms are comfortable and the service in the hotel is very good. Possibly the nicest and most unique feature of the hotel is the number of sitting rooms all very tastefully decorated and with elegant furniture. Of course the views of the fjord are stunning and there is an extensive sitting area at the fjord side with boats available for the use of the guests. We enjoyed a very nice buffet in the restaurant with a real feast of local delicacies on offer. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Rover022
Many thanks for taking the time to write about us on TA! We are delighted that you had such a nice time at our hotel, in a period where we traditionally have less foreign guests. Greetings to you from snowy Lofthus and a warm welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    117
    28
    17
    6
See reviews for
109
209
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway, Around the Capitol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Except it is narrow roads in the area. But the hotel is excellent, the staff nice and helpful.
The rooms are good and the atmosphere is just awesome.
Food from the best commodities from the area.
Privately owned.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Most of the rooms are, but is no problem asking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goalerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Goalerhill
Thank you for your kind lines. The narrow roads in our area will hopefully be soon part of the past...! The Hardanger Bridge will open at latest on June 1st 2013 (7th longest suspension bridge in the world!) and that must at some point lead into upgrading the nearby roads. Welcome back and kind regards, the Utne family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed here during my business visit to Europe in 1st week of June. I had a privilege of staying in a room which had breath taking view of fjord . This property is an ideal holiday resort ,rooms are clean and well maintained. It has a specious sitting area by fjord side which has boats for the use of hotel guests , this area also serves as pick up for fjord cruise

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaulrakesh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear kaulrakesh90
My apologies for this late feed-back, we nevertheless wanted to thank you for posting on TA and are very happy to hear that you tok warm memories with you back to India! Kind regards and welcome back, the Utne family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Actually has the original hotel but with additions iin keping with the style.
I loved staying here as our room had a wonderful view of Hardanger Fjord - the room itself very comfortable and quite large, with a balcony to enjoy the view.
Lovely dining with entertainment, staff friendly and willing to please.

Room Tip: ask for a fjord view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Jenny M, many thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ullensvang! Kind regards, the Utne family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I usually travel as a single but this time I was part of a family group and we had 5 rooms. Rooms are comfortable with a traditional look with dark wood funiture. Beds are comfy, tv is a flat screen and there is free wifi and everything is spotlessly clean.
Being a single traveller I'm used to being shoved into the smallest most out of the way room except when I use a business hotel, but this time I got a big room with a seating area and plenty of space. The room is probably used as a single room because the bathroom was small compared to the other rooms but it was more than roomy enough for one. The family rooms had a balcony, crib for the baby and an extra bed that folded down from the wall for the other kids.
But what really makes this hotel a wow experience is the staff and the facilites. Situated right next to the water the fjord vistas are stunning and as an added bonus you can see the tip of the Folgefonna glacier peeking over the mountains. Get a room with a balcony facing the fjord and you are set. The hotel has a wonderful outdoor area located between the building and the fjord. Sweeping green lawns, majestic birch trees and stonepaths dominate. Everywhere there are sitting and lounge areas where you can enjoy a coffe or a drink while soaking in the vistas. Being a norwegian I'm used to sights like these but even I found myself pausing to just enjoy the views on several occasions. The hotel also has a small beach area where you can find a trampoline with a small slide floating in the water, perfect for the kids. The hotel also has rowboats that guests can borrow for free. Other facilities are an indoor pool, squash and tennis courts and play room for the kids.
There is a buffet reastaurant as well as an a la carte. We only used the buffet but it was great. Loads to chose from, and very tasty.
Staff at the hotel was really pleasent and service minded and helped us arrange things to our liking for my parents 40th wedding aniversary. Examples of this are getting their hands on a beatifull bunch of long stemmed roses on short notice, bringing out the main gift as a surprise as well as seating us in a private area for the anniversary dinner even though we had not booked that.
All in all a place I would gladly go back to and the others in my group agreed wholehearthedly.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the fjord with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear oann72! Thank you for having taken the time to write such a detailed report. We are very happy that you and your family's stay with us was so positive. Your kind comments have been passed on to our staff - they certainly motivate to give the best of service to our valuable guests also in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, the Utne family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were given a fjord view room with a balcony on the fifth floor, which was excellent. Good buffet breakfast and dinner served in the spacious dining room. On one night and at breakfast, a harpist played! The hotel has rowing boats and pedallos which are available free of charge to guests.
For experienced walkers, we can recommend a trip to the Blue Glacier near Odda. Allow about two hours each way and be prepared to scramble up short, steep stretches with fixed ropes. Sounds difficult, but it is very straightforward.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear iandcl, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Ullensvang. It was a true pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon again. Best regards from Lofthus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Sure, this place has a view. Then again, there are plenty of hotels in Norway that have great views of fjords. None of this matters if you can't get a good night of sleep.

My room had two single beds pushed together. The beds were like trampolines. After several hours of trying to keep from falling on the floor I moved the mattress to the floor and that is where I slept.

What else. As noted by other reviewers - a charge for everything. Buffet and ala carte restaurant are pricey even by Norwegian standards. $15 USD for a 500ml local beer.

The buffet breakfast was acceptable but not special. This place caters to large tour groups so expect the buffet restaurant to be a mob scene.

Bottom line. Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear sir/madam
We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. We accommodate travellers from all around the globe with different preferences. Therefore we have also different mattresses to satisfy different needs. Being aware that changing room before going to bed certrainly isn't an ideal thing to do, it would have at least allowed you to have a good night sleep. Unless the hotel is completely fully booked, we are always happy to find a solution, in this case moving you into another room with a harder mattress. After a night on the floor I understand very well that one isn't positive to anything anymore.
Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back with clear instructions reg bed preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
6.7 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Property: Hotel Ullensvang
Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing