We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those Special Hotels”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“One of those Special Hotels”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Location, location, location, and a little bit of elegance, too. This hotel is right on Hardangerfjord. It's large enough to entertain substantial groups of people, conferences, etc. There are many public meeting rooms, usually with large windows facing the fjord and the surrounding mountains. Food from the smorgasbord is a bit less good than the place itself, but if one wants more elegant (and expensive) dining then one can eat a sit-down dinner a la carte in a fancier dining room.

In addition to being large enough to house a conference, this hotel is romantic enough to provide a delightful experience for a couple. There are basically two types of rooms--those facing the hills along the road, and those facing the fjord. Guess which ones are more expensive? Rooms are comfortable enough, but also feature the typical Scandinavian two twin beds pushed together.

The pool is both inside and outside, and heated, allowing the guest to swim wherever he or she feels most comfortable. A few row boats are available free of charge. Motor boats are available, too, but must be rented. Hotel staff in the lobby are friendly and helpful, but not to the scale of a large city hotel.

Room Tip: Obviously, more expensive rooms on higher floors and facing the fjord is a decision about which you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear GEDLosAngeles_CA
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Hotel Ullensvang.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that especially the location and the pools were to your liking. With regards to the buffet dinner, please be assured that we spend a lot of time and effort in continously maintaining and improving its quality. We certainly understand that when travelling as a couple, many appreciate our more intimate a la carte restaurant which is open during the summer months.
We hope to be able to welcome you back!
Yours sincerely, Barbara Zanoni Utne, 5th Generation Mg. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    128
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
115
216
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel has a killer view of the water and mountains in front.
The buffet dinner is so nice and elegant, and we felt we were so underdressed with casual attire.
The rooms are nice albeit having metal keys instead of key cards. The lake view rooms have balconies which are perfect.

Room Tip: Gonna have the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Michael C
Thank you very much for recommending our property and sharing your „Hotel Ullensvang experience” on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have chosen the Hotel Ullensvang and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the view and the buffet dinner.
Yours sincerely, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My fiance and me, spendt a night here during our summer vacation. Its a really lovely hotel that cherishes Hardangers heritage. We loved the new pool and sauna area. Very nice tennis hall as well. When we arrived we got upgraded to a room with a view over the fjord, and it was truly amazing. Excellent food both dinner and breakfast. The hotel was fully booked, but there was no lines to get food in the buffet, and the service was excellent. I the evening we sat by the fjord drinking wine, really romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannekristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Hannekristin
We are very happy to read that you had a romantic stay at Hotel Ullensvang! Your kind words about the new wellness area, the food and the service are very much appreciated. Hardanger is the very cradle of Norwegian National Romanticism, and it is hard to imagine a better setting for a wedding than blossoming fruit trees, glaciers of glistening white and fjords of the deepest blue. So in case you and your fiance haven't found a wedding location, you are very welcome to take contact with us! Welcome back! Kind regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was easily the most outstanding hotel in our Scandinavian tour and quite unanimously, my tour mates and I felt we should have stayed 2 nights here to enjoy the surroundings more. The hotel is laid out like a palace by the fjord and all kinds of seating is provided fjordside as well as in the hotel. Pity that the light rain on our arrival evening and early departure prevented us from having drinks and leisurely chats by the fjord. It would have made the trip more memorable. The buffet dinner & breakfast was good and we enjoyed the live music in the evening provided by a harpist. It was really delightful to be personally welcomed into the hotel on our arrival and to see staff dressed in their Scandinavian costumes.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guests from Singapore!
Undoubtedly a lovely compliment, being described as the most outstanding hotel in your tour through Scandinavia. We highly appreciate your feed-back which we shared gladly with our team. Thank you very much and best regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was part of a business group who decided to hold one module of an executive training program at Ullensvang. To be honest, when management told us we were going there, we had no way to tell what to expect. When we were told it would be one great experience, each started envisioning what it would be like. I can safely say, what we all experienced exceeded each of our expectations.

The facility is equipped well for business meetings and seminars. But that was only part of what we did. My room was overlooking the fjord and the snow capped mountains. The scene was breathtaking. The lobby and terrace are great and are cozy yet very welcoming for a get together with the team and other guests.

Boats are available for some venturing away on the fjord.

The location is great... management arranged for excursions nearby where we had fun kayaking, snow shoeing and hiking.

I strongly recommend it and am sure I will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear WaeID
We remember you and your group with great pleasure. We can only imagine that Fjord Norway was very exotic to you - we on our side truly enjoyed having you here as well! Nothings makes us happier than knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome back! Best regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne, 5th Generation Mg. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I saw the brochure in the Tourist Office in Bergen and despite the price we thought it looked special. We arrived as there was a grand storm over the fjord but it cleared up and we were amazed by the views. The room was fine and had a wonderful view over the fjord to the cliffs across the way, but the hotel also has some of the most beautifully and classily decorated public rooms as well as fine grounds. (The large swimming pool has the same great view.)

The buffet dinner (pricey, but worth it) and breakfast were excellent. Overall this is perhaps the
most memorable hotel I've stayed at--and I've been in a few.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Herb559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Herb559
Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We are always interested in how guests find us, so thank you for sharing that information with us. We are truly delighted to read that you call us one the most memorable hotels you stayed at. Thank you and welcome back! Best regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne, 5th Generation Mg. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I came to Lofthus by chance, having been thwarted in our attempt to drive north by a bizzard which made the roads north of Flam unpassable. Changing direction and driving south we arrived in the middle of the afternoon and chose the Hotel Ullensvang based on reviews in the guidebook. The reception staff were fantastic (a trait which we encountered all over Norway) and they gave us a free upgrade to a fjord view room. And having experienced the view from our room it would definitely have been worth paying the supplement for.

The features of the hotel have all been well documented by the previous reviewers so I will not repeat. Despite its large size it retains a very cosy homely atmosphere. The buffets in the restaurant (both dinner and breakfast) were outstanding, and they had really quite a good wine list. I agree with a previous contributor that it would be good to have a manned station to cook the eggs at breakfast time, but apart from that there didn't seem to be much to improve.

Room Tip: Even if you have to pay the supplement, I would recommend strongly the fjord view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDC_CFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay on Tripadvisor. It was also interesting to read that you chose us based on previous comments! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you appreciated our buffets so much. Best regards from Norway, Barbara Zanoni Utne, 5th Generation Mg. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
6.7 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
123 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
119 reviews
15.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
215 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
259 reviews
19.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Property: Hotel Ullensvang
Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing