We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardangerfjord Stay”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hardangerfjord Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful place to stay. There are great views, great service, comfortable rooms, and good food. Lofthus is beautiful and the hotel is a wonderful place to enjoy the area.The food was excellent and a good variety. This hotel provides a good place to relax and just enjoy Norway.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Brian W

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated the view, the rooms, the food and the service of our staff.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    128
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
115
216
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is just wonderful! The scenery is amazing, the food is incredible, the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) are so relaxing. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The hotel facilities are great! The outdoor swimming pools are amazing - looking out over the fjord while swimming (or sitting in the heated outdoor pool for adults) is just beautiful! There's also a jacuzi to relax in. The grounds of the hotel are lovely to wander around in and there are plenty of walking trails and other activities close to the hotel too. The rooms in the public area of the hotel are beautiful - each one is a little bit different and all are incredibly comfortable. The bedrooms were basic but more than adequate. Request a room overlooking the fjord if possible! We had a room looking at the mountains, which was quite nice but I'd imagine a view over the fjord would be much nicer. The food that we ate in this hotel was the best that we had in the whole trip to Norway (both breakfast and dinner). We only had one night in Lofthus in this beautiful hotel and I just wish that we had longer to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the Fjord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Niamh_012

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your views about your „Hotel Ullensvang experience” in such a detailed way.

Rest assured that your kind and encouraging review has already been shared with the entire team. Your thoughtful words are a great motivation for us all!

Welcome back!

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I believe that five generations have managed this hotel. The building is not the original one but is a very well built modern hotel on beautiful grounds with all it takes for a very nice holliday. Unfortunately the weather was not so nice, so we could not take advantage of everything, the combined indoor/outdoor pool for instance.
We had a nice room facing the fjord. ( Who would want a room facing the parking and the road ? )
Good size, very comfortable. Good bathroom but the lighting could be better.
Plenty of nice rooms on the ground floor where you can relax . My wife went to the gym which she found very nice.
The dining room is very pleasant, the buffet was excellent, the tables not too close to each other.
We had a nice Chianti classico riserva for around 100 dollars. Of course a litlle higher than in Tuscany but then , that is Norway ! I have seen a few TA reviews which seemed to complain about the large bus groups in the hotel and thus in the restaurant . We had thus decided to dine in the more intimate a la carte restaurant , but it is closed on Sundays and Mondays :( The buffet alternative was however perfectly pleasant. Please note that if the bus crowds worry you, you should have no problem in the mornings as the tours leave the hotel rather early. The buffet breakfast was nice as almost anywhere in Norway . A harpist played excellent music. Very soothing in the morning. Beware however, the buffet closes at 10 am sharp.
Everything in the hotel is excellent quality and impeccably clean. The staff is friendly and very professional. The Ullensvang is warmly recommended.

Room Tip: A fjord view of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear JJGRome

Many thanks for passing on your valuable thoughts and for your saty at Hotel Ullensvang.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Like most hotels in Norway, this is pretty expensive for what you get. Still, a great place to stay. Magnificent location. The most scenic view from a pool I have ever seen, and that includes many visits to tropical island resorts. Cascading waterfalls on either side of the fjord, glacier in the distance, apple orchards. Our kids had a great time in the 67 meter outdoor pool on brilliant sunny days, and paddle-boats on the fjord. Wonderful hike up to a waterfall nearby.

Hotel Ullensvang is pretty large compared to the typical fjordland hotel, and so you don't get the personal touch you do elsewhere. It is a large scale operation, and feels like it. Most guests do the buffet dinner in a very large dining room. Assigned seating, same table each night and morning. But the food is good, and the dessert table is amazing. Only bad item was coffee, which was terrible from every pot every morning. In the evening, there is a harpist playing through dinner.

We would go back any time. Might consider paying up for the fjord-view rooms.

One note: On Sunday, there is no grocery store or even mini-market open in town; every is closed. So if you want a picnic lunch on Sunday, get it on Saturday, or pack some food from the breakfast buffet.

If you arrive by ferry, ask the captain if he can drop you off at the hotel dock, instead of in town. I understand they do that sometimes, and you'll avoid porting your bags from the main dock to the hotel.

Room Tip: Mountain side rooms face the road, which is not too busy. But tour buses arrive at all hours and id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kevin B

Thank you for your visit at Hotel Ullensvang and your kind feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. We are of course very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

As a little tip, should one wish to enjoy more privacy during dinner, we have an intimate à la carte restaurant open from Tues - Sat during the summer months.

We are glad to hear that you ejoyed the various hiking tours in the area. We are gladly making lunch packagesfor that purpose also on Sundays when the local shop is closed (we don't allow food to be taken out from the dining room).

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

When we entered this historic hotel, one of the owners was there to greet us. The hotel setting and facility is beautiful, with a magnificent view of the fjord, and common areas filled with interesting historical pictures and artifacts. We fell in love with the view from our room overlooking the fjord and spent hours gazing at the changing views of the fjord. The room was spacious and comfortable. There were a few caveats about the room-the mattress topper was soft and kept sliding off the bed and the lighting in the bathroom was poor. We took advantage of the amazing aquatic area and its many sections. The staff was excellent and friendly and steered us to walks through the many fruit orchards and to a lovely waterfall. The hotel also has row boats for its guests. The breakfast was ordinary and somewhat limited compared to others we had on this trip. People who had been there for a week told us that it was exactly the same everyday. We had dinner at the hotel and that was excellent. tour buses use this hotel so meals were extremely crowded early. In fact, the hotel probably needs to examine how it manages its food on the buffets because the bus people seem to swarm it as if this was their last meal. In some cases, certain dishes were not replaced.

Room Tip: Fjord views are amazing. It is hard to put "value" on anything in Norway because everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear mxalpert
Many thanks for taking the time to comment your Hotel Ullensvang experience on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to hear that you all in all have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ullensvang!
Concerning breakfast: it is correct that we offer the same breakfast every day. It consist of a large variety of food (just like our dinner buffet), so that there should be plenty to choose from. We are therefore very sorry to read that you weren't satisfied with it.
I understand that it can feel busy during the meals when the hotel is quite full. We try very hard to spread our guests so that both individual guests and groups should have a pleasant experience at all times. Your comments about the rooms have been acknowledged.
Your sincerely, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here two nights and wished we had stayed just one. There is nothing to do here but relax. We arrived on a Sunday and the hotel was full of lots of people and children. The swimming pool is quite remarkable. We had a fjord view room but the sun was coming in so strongly we had to close the blackout curtains which made the room so hot and defeated the purpose of having a fjord view. The so called air conditioning was pretty much a fan. We called for them to come and check it and they said it wouldn't get any cooler. We asked to be moved. They moved us to the 5th floor and the outside deck had a big overhang so the sun couldn't get in. So the room was much cooler and we liked it better. This hotel is kind of expensive (about $450 a night) and its nothing special. The restaurant was closed both nights we were there so the only option was the buffet for $90/person. There is a hamburger place next door and for 2 burgers and 2 drinks it was over $50. But we kind of got used to that in Norway. We bought fresh cherries at a roadside stand and they were the best I have ever eaten. We took the free rowboat out early in the morning, the water was glassy. Tour busses come here so there are a lot of people here. Mostly laying in the sun on the grass or on lounge chairs. Beautiful surroundings, it's right on the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear cindyhart
First of all, we wish to thank you for your feedback and regret to hear that you would have preferred to leave after one night.
You certainly visited us during the hottest days of the year and we understand that you experienced our fjordview rooms as quite warm during the day. It is correct that we don't have an air-conditioning system in our hotel. The temperatures in Norway are in average quite low, so once you open the windows when the sun goes down, it feels quickly cool. We chose to work as environmental friendly as only possible. In summer, we take the cold water from the bottom of the fjord pressing it through fun coilers that are placed in each guest room that disposes its own control panel. In winter time it works the other way round. But I'm glad you were happy with the room change made.
Numerous guests come here to relax, but many enjoy also being active, by using our in- and outdoor facilities as well as they exploit the nearby area, either by foot, by car or by boat.
Thank you once more for your comment, we remain with kind regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tired and late on the road we came upon this gorgeous looking property but did not even think of staying here, as we knew it would be exorbitant! Just so happened that we got a good deal (being late in the evening I suppose). Unfortunately we did not have enough to enjoy what it offered. Excellent location, lots of activities---swimming, tennis, boating, etc. Extremely tastefully done and emanating a feeling of class. As all of Norway, friendly staff too. Staying right on the banks of the Fjiord, what more could one want. If you can afford it, stay here but at least for 2 days, not one night as we did.

Room Tip: Try getting a room facing the Hardanger Fjiord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeerjaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear NeerjaDehli
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.
We were absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that your encouraging words have been shared with all our employees.
Best regards, Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
6.7 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
121 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
119 reviews
15.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
214 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
259 reviews
19.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Property: Hotel Ullensvang
Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing