We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on a tour. The location is strategically great for exploring the fjord the hotel sits near. Better yet, the rooms are quite nice with a closet, modern and spacious bathroom and comfortable beds. There is free wifi and it works great. A small desk with lamp, small patio with chairs and a 2 person love seat, round out the little extras. Breakfast spread is huge and varied. There is a pool, hot tub and sauna. I have just a couple pet peeves that prevent a 5 star rating.
The water in the bathroom sink is in a fine spray format, great for washing fruits and veggies but not so much for hands etc. and then there's the shower. My wife managed to turn the thing on but then shouted to me she could not turn it off. So I decided to take my shower and then turn it off for my sometimes mechanically challenged spouse. Short story: it took me 5 minutes of tinkering and adjusting 3 different unlabeled knobs before the water magically turned off. I have no idea how it happened and thanked God we did not have to use the thing again. Seriously, folks, if you have a shower that requires an advanced degree in engineering to operate, you ought to post a set of instructions in the bath. Perhaps Scandinavian clients intuit the operation but we have been all over Europe and never encountered a shower like this one. PS the shower water pressure was fine and there was plenty of hot water. We just couldn't shut it off. Think about the wasted water.
Bottom line this is a great place to stay and we would return. Only thing is we would ask for a copy of the shower instruction manual upon check in. Hotel tip. It appears that the even numbered rooms face the parking lot and the odd numbers have the view. Since this was a tour of course we overlooked the parking lot. If you book on your own ask about the view because the water side of the hotel has fabulous scenery but I'm sure commands a premium rate.
If you found this review helpful, please click the button below.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Frenchguy48

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an overall positive stay. We thank you for the detailed shower description - there is very few rooms equiped with the newest high-tec showers and we clearly see the need for an instruction!

With regards to the view, we guarantee fjord view which in return costs a supplement. Your tour organiser chose to go for mountain view rooms.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    122
    29
    17
    6
See reviews for
113
212
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fl.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were blessed to stay here with our SmarTours travel group. What beautiful views of the fjord and mountains,wonderful 10 course buffet,the most beautiful of swimming pools and heated spas. The rooms were very nice and all seem to have a nice view of something pleasant if not the fjord and mountains,perhaps a beautiful apple orchard like the one on the hill outside our room.. Charming young people wait on the tables and clean your rooms. If you are in Norway be sure and look for this hotel ...just amazing!

Room Tip: All roms are nice but if you can get one facing the fjords you will get a breathtaking view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Pettitt5

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and that you can recommend it further without hesitation.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Norway With a great location right on the fjord in Hardanger With great view to the fjord and the Mountains. Rooms are Nice but not "overstuffed"
and they have a very good buffet for dinner. There is also a gourmet restaurant, but the buffet is so good that we have that one. A Family hotel for several generations and the Family, now 2 generations operate the hotel. Best pool area ever. Beautiful decorations and Furniture. Can be recommend

Room Tip: Take a room With a terrace on the fjord side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Anders H

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your stay at Hotel Ullensvang.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Best regards
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We would normally never stay in a hotel of this size however this place was amazing.
Ideally situated for breathtaking views of the fjord and mountains from an extremely comfortable room.
The hotel amenities are faultless and the buffet meals sumptuous.
Lazing in the large extensive swimming pools and heated spas with the mountain backdrop is just perfect.
A perfect spot to stay. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: A fjord view room for a memorable stay. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear DJbelmont

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your "Hotel Ullensvang experience" on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanon Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

As if the breathtaking views of the fjords weren't enough on their own, you can view them from one of the pools this beautiful hotel has, including a super long stretch of crystal clean water just for distance swimming. There's a warm infinity pool, and even the sauna has a glass wall to sit and watch the fjords. And spa pools, and jets, and indoor-outdoor pools. Really, I think they are the best in the world.
The smorgasbord breakfasts offer so much variety that I had a hard time deciding. Eat breakfast all day? Or soak all day? Both!
This beautiful hotel is really just on a fjord. If Lofthus is a town, I never noticed it. But who needs a town when there are apple orchards galore!
Edvard Grieg's original piano studio is on the property here, and you can peek in the windows.
If I ever get to Norway again, I'm making a beeline for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear KLM_Cody

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your Hotel Ullensvang experience.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil so many aspects of your expectations.

A warm welcome back!

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful place to stay. There are great views, great service, comfortable rooms, and good food. Lofthus is beautiful and the hotel is a wonderful place to enjoy the area.The food was excellent and a good variety. This hotel provides a good place to relax and just enjoy Norway.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Brian W

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated the view, the rooms, the food and the service of our staff.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is just wonderful! The scenery is amazing, the food is incredible, the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) are so relaxing. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The hotel facilities are great! The outdoor swimming pools are amazing - looking out over the fjord while swimming (or sitting in the heated outdoor pool for adults) is just beautiful! There's also a jacuzi to relax in. The grounds of the hotel are lovely to wander around in and there are plenty of walking trails and other activities close to the hotel too. The rooms in the public area of the hotel are beautiful - each one is a little bit different and all are incredibly comfortable. The bedrooms were basic but more than adequate. Request a room overlooking the fjord if possible! We had a room looking at the mountains, which was quite nice but I'd imagine a view over the fjord would be much nicer. The food that we ate in this hotel was the best that we had in the whole trip to Norway (both breakfast and dinner). We only had one night in Lofthus in this beautiful hotel and I just wish that we had longer to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the Fjord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Niamh_012

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your views about your „Hotel Ullensvang experience” in such a detailed way.

Rest assured that your kind and encouraging review has already been shared with the entire team. Your thoughtful words are a great motivation for us all!

Welcome back!

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
6.7 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
15.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
19.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Property: Hotel Ullensvang
Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing