We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embrace the scale”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

In glorious weather late in the season, with the apple orchards heavy with fruit and the coach tours thin on the ground, I really enjoyed this hotel. It's NOT a small place - but the staff were extremely friendly (senior directors included), the views are stunning, the swimming facilities amazing.

The slightly Hardanger theme park circa 1987 style of the decor takes a bit of getting used to - but look at some of the individual pieces of local craft and individual paintings and you will see that they are stunning. It's not cheap, but then where is in Norway?

If you're feeling fit enough and the weather is good, do consider the hike up the Monk's steps to the Nosi. The views are spectacular - but it's steep in both directions!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank StansPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear StansPal

Thank you for choosing the historical and traditional Hotel Ullensvang and thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a great stay with us and in particular appreciated the service provided by our staff. Rest assured that we have already shared your kind review with the entire team.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here while on a tour. The location is strategically great for exploring the fjord the hotel sits near. Better yet, the rooms are quite nice with a closet, modern and spacious bathroom and comfortable beds. There is free wifi and it works great. A small desk with lamp, small patio with chairs and a 2 person love seat, round out the little extras. Breakfast spread is huge and varied. There is a pool, hot tub and sauna. I have just a couple pet peeves that prevent a 5 star rating.
The water in the bathroom sink is in a fine spray format, great for washing fruits and veggies but not so much for hands etc. and then there's the shower. My wife managed to turn the thing on but then shouted to me she could not turn it off. So I decided to take my shower and then turn it off for my sometimes mechanically challenged spouse. Short story: it took me 5 minutes of tinkering and adjusting 3 different unlabeled knobs before the water magically turned off. I have no idea how it happened and thanked God we did not have to use the thing again. Seriously, folks, if you have a shower that requires an advanced degree in engineering to operate, you ought to post a set of instructions in the bath. Perhaps Scandinavian clients intuit the operation but we have been all over Europe and never encountered a shower like this one. PS the shower water pressure was fine and there was plenty of hot water. We just couldn't shut it off. Think about the wasted water.
Bottom line this is a great place to stay and we would return. Only thing is we would ask for a copy of the shower instruction manual upon check in. Hotel tip. It appears that the even numbered rooms face the parking lot and the odd numbers have the view. Since this was a tour of course we overlooked the parking lot. If you book on your own ask about the view because the water side of the hotel has fabulous scenery but I'm sure commands a premium rate.
If you found this review helpful, please click the button below.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Frenchguy48

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an overall positive stay. We thank you for the detailed shower description - there is very few rooms equiped with the newest high-tec showers and we clearly see the need for an instruction!

With regards to the view, we guarantee fjord view which in return costs a supplement. Your tour organiser chose to go for mountain view rooms.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were blessed to stay here with our SmarTours travel group. What beautiful views of the fjord and mountains,wonderful 10 course buffet,the most beautiful of swimming pools and heated spas. The rooms were very nice and all seem to have a nice view of something pleasant if not the fjord and mountains,perhaps a beautiful apple orchard like the one on the hill outside our room.. Charming young people wait on the tables and clean your rooms. If you are in Norway be sure and look for this hotel ...just amazing!

Room Tip: All roms are nice but if you can get one facing the fjords you will get a breathtaking view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Pettitt5

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and that you can recommend it further without hesitation.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Norway With a great location right on the fjord in Hardanger With great view to the fjord and the Mountains. Rooms are Nice but not "overstuffed"
and they have a very good buffet for dinner. There is also a gourmet restaurant, but the buffet is so good that we have that one. A Family hotel for several generations and the Family, now 2 generations operate the hotel. Best pool area ever. Beautiful decorations and Furniture. Can be recommend

Room Tip: Take a room With a terrace on the fjord side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Anders H

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your stay at Hotel Ullensvang.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Best regards
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We would normally never stay in a hotel of this size however this place was amazing.
Ideally situated for breathtaking views of the fjord and mountains from an extremely comfortable room.
The hotel amenities are faultless and the buffet meals sumptuous.
Lazing in the large extensive swimming pools and heated spas with the mountain backdrop is just perfect.
A perfect spot to stay. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: A fjord view room for a memorable stay. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear DJbelmont

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your "Hotel Ullensvang experience" on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanon Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

As if the breathtaking views of the fjords weren't enough on their own, you can view them from one of the pools this beautiful hotel has, including a super long stretch of crystal clean water just for distance swimming. There's a warm infinity pool, and even the sauna has a glass wall to sit and watch the fjords. And spa pools, and jets, and indoor-outdoor pools. Really, I think they are the best in the world.
The smorgasbord breakfasts offer so much variety that I had a hard time deciding. Eat breakfast all day? Or soak all day? Both!
This beautiful hotel is really just on a fjord. If Lofthus is a town, I never noticed it. But who needs a town when there are apple orchards galore!
Edvard Grieg's original piano studio is on the property here, and you can peek in the windows.
If I ever get to Norway again, I'm making a beeline for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLM_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear KLM_Cody

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your Hotel Ullensvang experience.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil so many aspects of your expectations.

A warm welcome back!

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful place to stay. There are great views, great service, comfortable rooms, and good food. Lofthus is beautiful and the hotel is a wonderful place to enjoy the area.The food was excellent and a good variety. This hotel provides a good place to relax and just enjoy Norway.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1846, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Brian W

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated the view, the rooms, the food and the service of our staff.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
17 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
290 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
17 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
143 reviews
22.4 mi away
Fleischer's Hotel
Fleischer's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossevangen
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range: £235 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing