We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well appointed hotel with a view and swimming pool not to be missed!”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This fifth generation family run hotel sits at a point on an arm of the Hardangerfjord with stunning view of glaciers down the fjord. The family has "stayed ahead of the game" by constantly upgrading this very historic hotel. They have enhanced their pool by making it one of the most unique I have ever seen. Their buffet is massive and well done and, even though they cater to many tour groups,their dining area is large enough that you feel don't constricted or hurried. The front desk and managerial staff are very accommodating...we had a " no show" from a bus driver and they rounded up four of their employees who shuttled us to our hiking point in their own personal vehicles so that our group did not miss anything. Kudos to a hotel that understands what service is all about...

Room Tip: Obviously...get a room facing the fjord and not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our tour guide arranged for the ferry boat to land at the hotel's own dock to minimize luggage hassle. This was just the beginning of a great stay.

There are lots of pleasant surprises including the channelized swimming pool, fine art on the walls, superb buffets, and more.

The downsides are that complimentary coffee is hard to come by, which is unusual in Norway and that the hotel is overwhelmed with large tours.

The best time for pictures from the balconies is mid morning when the sun is at the right azimuth.

Room Tip: Fjord view. Upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were on a tour, stayed 2 nights, coming from Bergen late afternoon and then heading to Oslo. Hotel is magnificent on the outside, grounds are a nice way to wander around for an hour or so just to enjoy the views of the fjord. The Edward Griegs home is right on the hotel grounds.
Gardens, swimming areas/pools are all great.

Buffet dinner was really great, with so many choices of everything. Roast reindeer (not gamey), elk, lamb, beef, pork, chicken, huge variety of seafood, and I am not just talking about native catches. Crawfish anyone? The seafood seems to be primarily those with shell, including shrimp, mussels, crab legs, etc., but there were native fish such as salmon prepared different ways, as well as herring. 4 kinds of caviar, lots of fruits such as kiwi, apple, grapes, and 3 kinds of melons that I do not recognize but were good, as well as veggies and usual salad stuff.
Service people were very friendly and helpful.
Main drawbacks that cause me NOT to give it an Excellent? These might be considered minor, but ... there were only 2 small elevators that can hold barely 4 people, which can cause a bit of problems when you've got 40 tourists coming in with luggage. Room does NOT lock automatically when you leave the room, but you need to insert the key to lock it - 'everybody here can be trusted' - thanks, but I prefer lock and key anyday. The shower has those half-glass doors that leak water all over the bathroom when you shower, no water heater so you can enjoy a cup of tea in your room any time YOU want it, lights are extremely difficult to figure out and after a while, you give up. Be nice to have a laundry line.
Signs - Shops and directions are in Norse language only - not that great if you do not understand Norse and if you want tourists from other countries.....
Not major, but having more than one computer in the lobby would be extremely helpful

In spite of all this, I would rate the hotel Very Good, bordering on excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed in Ullensvang for two days in May 2011 and decided to come back this year to make it a base for me and my friends for exploring the area and hiking.

NOT SO GOOD: The hotel is quite basic in way of room decoration. Austere even. There are large tourist groups staying in the hotel. Imagine having evening drinks on a terrace overlooking the fjord in the evening - and a group of 50 Tourists who were just brought in a large bus all pour onto the terrace discussing and enthusiastically making photos?

VERY GOOD: The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodated/directed our every request - such as preparing early breakfasts, lunch baskets to take to our hiking trips, arranging for guides etc.

EXCELLENT: The buffet at the hotel was to die for, and I liked it much better than the a la carte restaurant, which was also very very good. People working in the restaurant were not Norwegian, but were also incredibly friendly and very welcoming.

If I need to come back to this part of Norway again, I might consider staying in Ullensvag yet again, because for all its limitations the hotel owners/management is managing to do a very good job.

Room Tip: I would only chose rooms facing the lake - other rooms are on the well travelled road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed one night at a lovely summer's day. Room was good, with a small balcony, but with view towards the orchards and not the sea. It does not matter much, there is no reason to stay in the room: The garden and swimming facilities are wonderful.
We had dinner at that restaurant and not the buffet - this was a wonderful meal - of really high standard. Wine selection per glass could be better, and I had a an IPA beer initially that was poured to rapidly, making it very unclear - but these are really very minor issues: The service was great, staff wonderful and friendly, and food delicious and very well presented.
Swimming facilities was a bit hard to figure out, with some weird fences, probably to keep an adult and a family area separate - but, again - it is overwhelmingly nice, and and a really great swimming and relaxing area.
Room was large, bed good, but with a touch of the eighties with bathroom tiles that make you wonder. Hard to find good power outlets for charging mobiles and computers - but unplugging the TV made the trick.
Highly recommended - We want to come back to hike in the mountains here - and stay for some relaxing days.

Room Tip: Ask for sea side if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lynxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear lynxh
Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your recent stay at Hotel Ullensvang. We are delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in so many different areas. Your kind words about our employees make us very proud. Also that you appreciated the food in our à la carte restaurant "Zanoni" so much. We thank you also for your inputs with regards to both wine and beer.
The fence in the pool area is indeed to keep the adult area for adults only as it is otherwise very tempting for our small guests to be there as well.
With regards to the bathrooms we thank you for the input. We renovate and modernize some of our rooms (and other facilities) each year, but since we are family-owned, we don't have the funds to modernize the whole hotel at once. But all the profit is continuously re-invested in the hotel.
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return for hiking and relaxing! Check in. Breathe out.
Best regards
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not much to add to the raves below. Beautiful fjordside location, rooms with a terrace view of the fjordside scenery are recommended, but the hotel has plenty of public terracespace and comfortable sitting rooms with views if one wants to economize a little by not having the "private" view. Pool facility is one of the best at any hotel I've visited; swimming in the lengthy heated lappool outdoors in July while seeing snow on the fjordside mountains (or hanging out in the adjacent infinity pool or the indoor pool with underwater lounging racks) is as sybaritic as it gets. Dinner buffet offers unbelievable variety of well-prepared, tasty food; almost no-one eats in the a la carte and there is absolutely no reason to do so. As noted, the Grieg cabin and other outbuildings add a bit of history. We took the "fruit walk", a self-guided loop that starts and ends at the hotel and goes through the nearby cherry, apple and pear orchards, with views; recommended. The bundled cost of the room/dinner/breakfast was on a par with other nice Norwegian hotels and less than some. Only "issue" was that the plumbing sounds seem to carry from room to room so that during the night when people in neighboring room(s) flushed, we heard it in our room. May or may not be confined to the particular room we were in; in any event, a minor nuisance. We stopped here overnight on our first night out of Bergen, and found it a delightful introduction to fjord country, a nice combination of comfortable amenities and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gonebabygone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear gonebabygone5
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Hotel Ullensvang experience on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated our dinner buffet, the pool facilities, the views and nearby hiking options. We would have loved to hear about the "plumbing sounds" upon check-out in order to fix this for future hotel guests as this must be a problem in your particular room. Having a relaxing good night's sleep is so important.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had one night's stay here on our Norway road-trip. We were a little anxious about getting a vegeatrian meal, because it is isolated, and there is little choice outside the hotel. They exploit this by charging 500NK for an evening buffet, but to our delight they were happy to cook a vegetarian pasta just for my wife and charge a reasonable 250NK, because she would not be having any of the meat. That was such a nice touch. The hotel is very well maintained, and we were glad we paid the extra for a fjord view because it is stunning. However, the rear of the building looks on to the hills so I guess it isn't too bad. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was also good. We did an evening walk on the 'fruit trail' just behind the hotel. Good hour walk up to some waterfalls, and along a river. Good for working up an appetite for dinner - an eat as much as you like buffet, which was pretty good. WiFi is pathetic in the evening when everyone is surfing. Constantly breaking contact. Works fine in the morning. They need to invest in an upgrade.

Room Tip: fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Dekard
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review on TA. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the vegetarian option as well as the breakfast, your fjord view room and the nearby hiking possibilities.
With regards to WIFI, we unfortunately experienced some technical problems a week ago, supposingly when you stayed with us. The problem is now solved. However, when the hotel is full and everybody is online (often with several devices), it can be a bit slower than it is in the morning, when some guests already have left.
Welcome back!
Your sincerely
Barbara Zanoni Utne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
3.9 mi away
First Hotel Kinsarvik
First Hotel Kinsarvik
#1 of 2 in Kinsarvik
62 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
290 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hardangerfjord Hotel
Hardangerfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oystese
58 reviews
17.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range: £229 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing