We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of Hotel Ullensvang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ullensvang
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The setting was gorgeous and the food was good. The staff was pleasant and it would have been a pleasant stay if there was more than 10 watts of electricity to see by. The maids insisted on closing all the drapes and upon entering the room it was so dark you could have seen better in a cave. My husband walked into a wall and took the skin off his forehead. You couldn't keep the drapes open as you were sitting on the road. The first floor was wasted space full of unused couches and chairs. They could use an efficiency expert on use of space.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kstorrs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We accidentally stumbled upon this magical hotel and it ended up being one of our moest memorable moments during our visit to Norway. The place is so serene and surreal. It totally reminded me of Captain Von Trapp's house in the movie Sound of Music. Beautiful views! Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nightpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed with the family (2 american kids, one adult american and one adult norwegian) for two nights using Ullensvang as our base from which to explore the inner Hardangerfjord. Service was wonderful and it's obvious that the family who owns it takes great pride in being warm and accommodating. The amenities, location and landscape are second to none. Postcard beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

Kids really enjoyed the heated pool, though I wish they kept at least the indoor part open later into the evening. There is a separate adults-only area.

Food was great, expensive even by norwegian standards, but it is very authentically norwegian.

There is a bar with a band downstairs. It was deserted when we stopped in but the drinks were good and the music recognizable to most. I'm told that it's livelier in the middle of summer but were there in mid August as things are winding down for the season. Other activities include rowboats, paddle boats and tennis.

Decor throughout the hotel was what I call "80s traditional norwegian" except the bathrooms, which were older and left a LOT to be desired. If you weren't in Norway in the 80s, it'll just look traditional in that historic way-- nothing new and shiny here though everything is well maintained and clean. Loved the murphy bunk beds for the kids!!

As for that bathroom, the plain white tiles didn't offend me. They are both traditional and modern. However, ceiling panels were hiding who knows what. Old bathtub/shower combo that was yellowing with age with a half wall of glass to unsuccessfully contain water from the shower. Shower fixtures were deplorable. Full sized towels were sparse, especially if you were using them for the pool. The ultimate let-down, and I know this seems like a small thing, was the wall mounted hair dryer that both looked and smelled like it had been there for 40 years. It smelled so bad (kind of a combination of your grandmother's hair products combined with her burnt hair) I had to hold my breath while using it, and I quickly gave up because it didn't work well anyway.

Overall, this is the THE hotel in the area. In a way, it's a destination itself, so don't hesitate. But do get on here after you return and back me up on the bathroom thing :)

Room Tip: fjord view, high floor. Rooms, at least the one we stayed in, could accommodate 2 adults and 2 child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sirisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was recommended by all agencies, and we had great expectations. The dinner buffet was certainly up to expectations, and the same with the breakfast buffet. We appreciated both as did the grandkids. But it was not all that kept the same standard. The rooms were quite ordinary and seemed a bit worn, and too hard mattresses. The children looked forward to the various activities that were announced, and the swimming facilities were first class. However, the bowling alley was open only Saturday and Sunday and the golf simulator was out of service. The grandparents had thereforeto be inventive to energize the kids. And costly were the stay, but it's how it is in Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SveinMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a lovely well kept and beautifully furnished hotel with a very good indoor and outdoor swimming pool together with sauna, fitness room and even rowing boats at no additional cost. You can also use, for a charge, an indoor tennis court, squash court pedaloes and a few other things I have forgotten!
The staff are all very helpful and polite and many also wear traditional dress which is a nice touch.
We stayed for two nights in room 525 which was a super room overlooking the fjord and hotel grounds. As the hotel has basically two sides, one alongside the fjord and one alongside the main road, you really would be advised to pay the extra for the fjord view rooms.
We were on a half board basis and were allocated a table by the window overlooking the fjord which is our table for both days and for dinner and breakfast. They tend to allocate these tables to the individual parties rather than the tours who are seated in the main room.
The dinner for us was buffet style, although there is an al la carte restaurant available should you have a lot of money.
The buffet dinner and breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and as usual there is so much temptation to eat too much! and all to the accompaniment of a harp Player!
Wifi is available for free throughout the hotel and appeared to be very effective in so much as I was able to log on in our room on 5th floor as well as lobby area and outside at a table by pool.
Bathroom is good with nice shower and hot water and lovely heated floor! Would be a bonus to have robes and slippers, but these were available for a fee. You do, however, get additional towels from reception if you go to the pools.
As with all the hotels we have stayed in through Norway, the ground floor is the 1st floor, however, at this hotel, the reception is on the 2nd floor(which is really the 1st floor). Confused?
There is free parking both directly outside the hotel and in an underground garage.
This is a very good hotel which I thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Has to be a fjord view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I don't have much to add to Gayterman's review below. If you are expecting all modern decor and Farrow & Ball colours, you'll be disappointed. However, if you can look passed the kitsch and see a warm welcome and a well (family) run hotel of the old school with great facilities, you'll love it was we did.

My daughter remarked "it's just like the Grand Hotel Budapest", which slightly undersells Ullensvang, but if you stay here and you've seen the film, you'll appreciate the parallel. Downstairs nightclub is bang on!

As Norwegian hotels go, it's highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a fjord view room and do the ferry trip to Eidfjord with bus tour - v relaxing and ferry picks u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This fifth generation family run hotel sits at a point on an arm of the Hardangerfjord with stunning view of glaciers down the fjord. The family has "stayed ahead of the game" by constantly upgrading this very historic hotel. They have enhanced their pool by making it one of the most unique I have ever seen. Their buffet is massive and well done and, even though they cater to many tour groups,their dining area is large enough that you feel don't constricted or hurried. The front desk and managerial staff are very accommodating...we had a " no show" from a bus driver and they rounded up four of their employees who shuttled us to our hiking point in their own personal vehicles so that our group did not miss anything. Kudos to a hotel that understands what service is all about...

Room Tip: Obviously...get a room facing the fjord and not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
3.9 mi away
First Hotel Kinsarvik
First Hotel Kinsarvik
#1 of 2 in Kinsarvik
62 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
290 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hardangerfjord Hotel
Hardangerfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oystese
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
#1 of 9 in Ullensvang
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ullensvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ullensvang

Address: Lofthus i Hardanger, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5787, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lofthus
Price Range: £228 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ullensvang 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ullensvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullensvang Hotel Lofthus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing