We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for 1 night if you are just pasing through!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Hallingdal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK for 1 night if you are just pasing through!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I would rank this hotel on the level of an average, older Motel 6 in the USA, except at twice the price. It does have a nice breakfast though. This is one of Mr. Thon's first hotels. He does not seem to have the pride of ownership. The place needs rehabiltation quite badly. Everything is average. Not special, but not horrible either. It is perfectly fine if you are just driving through and need a place for one night. I think a person who stays more than one night would begin to find fault with it right away. It is NOT a resort; you would not want to spend a week vacation here anyway. There is a lot of potential, but it will take money and vision.

The location is beautiful. Ål is between Bergen and Oslo. I've heard that in the winter this place is nice for skiing. The town is quaint and cozy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNorwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
26
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We visited This pensjonate visiting family in the area. The place is absolutely beautiful, old and antique but with newly remodeled rooms! We had a 3 course dinner in the small but really nice restaurant, the food was soo amazing and very traditional Norwegian!! The service was fantastic and personal!! This is a place u should defenetly visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine_sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Very sad and cold room. Not very clean bathroom, worn. Also warn in halls and common areas. Ok - but not cheap - trout dinner. Not to be repeated.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thon Hotel Hallingdal is situated in Al, halfway between Gol and Geilo. The majestetic mountains around Al create a special athmosphere. The hotel is located in the centre of beautiful Al - with a short walk to skiing facilities, museums and the cultural centre. The hotel offers free parking. The railway is within walking distance to the hotel.

Room Tip: take the upper floor with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I’ve read a lot of bad reviews about this hotel. I guess one needs to keep in perspective where the hotel is located. The town of Al is very small and quaint town. The hotel reflects this. I can’t say for sure, but I don’t think that there is a better hotel in Al. I read one review where the person complained about that the bar and the reception had the same person in charge – what they left out is that the reception and bar are connected and it takes the person about 2 seconds to go back and forth. Or, if you wanted to, it would take you 5 seconds to walk to the bar. Not a big deal in my opinion. Please see my picture of the reception - you can see the door with the diamond on it that goes to the bar.

The hotel is needs to upgrade the carpet, lights, and paint its walls. However, all the basics were covered for a good stay: clean room, friendly service, free WI-FI, and a good breakfast. There was also a PC in the lobby that provided free Internet.

We had supper in the restaurant one night, while the food was great it was very expensive.

I have posted pictures of our room - 321.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Nothing special about anything here but the worst was the food. We bought meals included and at the other 6 hotels we stayed at In Norwayincluding 2 other Thon hotels, the food was great. Here the dinner was disgusting. Chicken, rice, tortillas, with a sauce plus Canned pudding And jello.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

The Reception and the Bar had the same person in charge, that means on several occations the reception was empty, it was very seldom you could just go to the reception and talk to them, you always had to call the bell and wait. One other thing to remember is that i ordered a superior room to about $200 a night, my friend ordered a 3-4 person room, which they only paid 50 or 100$ for all 3!!! They had alot of rooms on top of the hotel with one double bed, and two beds in top of each other, theese rooms were huge, to an incrediable price compared to my room, resulting that i actually paid almost twice as much as my 3 friends.. for a smaller room... Also no minibar on the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al
14.0 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
14.1 mi away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#5 of 8 in Gol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Hallingdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Hallingdal

Property: Thon Hotel Hallingdal
Address: Sundrevegen 82, Al 3570, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Al Municipality > Al
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Hallingdal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Hallingdal is located in Al, close to national road 7 ond Al Railway station, halfway between Oslo and Bergen. The hotel has 67 rooms, 7 apartments with Kitchen for long term rental and a modern fitness-center. The hotel has a New an top modern Conference-center, With a capacity for 150 persons. Thon Hotel Hallingdal is perfecly situated for outdoor activities. It is close to the Mountains and highlan of Southern Norway, and cykling and skiing is superb in the area. Welcome to Hallingdal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Hallingdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing