We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakaway!”
Review of Old Mac Daddy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Mac Daddy
Ranked #23 of 266 Overberg District B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent breakaway!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Old Mac Daddy as a breakaway destination truly impressed! The beautiful surrounds create an atmosphere of the utmost peace and tranquility. The amenities are top class including a modern swimming pool, a top notch restaurant and beautiful mountain bikes which can be used to ride surrounding trails. The caravans are beyond quirky and are kitted out with everything one may need; each has so much character which makes one just want to return again and again so as to experience every single one! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A great breakaway from city life where time seemed to stand still and where one is able to lose oneself in the gorgeous views, surrounds and simple peace that is the Elgin valley. This is a highly recommended destination which all should experience. Thank you Old Mac Daddy for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Mills and Boon is a great caravan for couples looking for more of a romantic atmosphere and time awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K5134509876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, General Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for the time you have expended to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel location, the caravans, restaurant, facilities and the staff.
We are very happy that we covered your expectations. We always try to adapt our services to our guest needs.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

General Manager
Old Mac Daddy
021-844 0241
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    205
    51
    8
    5
See reviews for
236
318
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We got married at Old Mac Daddy's on 22 March 2014. It was absolutely amazing and we had the best time.

The reception took place in Old Mac Daddy's restaurant, Brinny Breezes. The food was absolutely amazing, 5 star - from the canapés to the mains. The staff was professional, helpful and friendly. We really didn't have to worry about anything during the wedding.

If you get married on a Saturday, you book Old Mac Daddy's for the whole weekend. This was lovely, as we got to spend the weekend with our family and close friends who stayed over there. We had a pizza evening on the Friday, which everyone really enjoyed, and the pizza was great too.

Of course, Old Mac Daddy's is set in a beautiful location and the trailers really are an experience to stay in. It made for a really beautiful wedding.

Their wedding coordinator, Wendy, really goes out of her way to help, answering questions in millions of e-mails I've sent her in the run-up to the wedding. She saw to it that everything ran smoothly on the day - didn't have to worry about anything.

We will definately be back again for a stay!!

Irene + Du Toit Louw

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenelovesthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, General Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Irene & Du Toit

Thank you for the kind words, it does motivate us to keep on our game! It is always a pleasure to be part of such a special occasion and I will pass your compliments on to those concerned. We wish you all the best for your life together and when you have the time. we hope you will pay us a visit again soon! Best wishes and many thanks, the Old Mac Daddy team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Old Mac Daddy. We stayed only three nights but I could happily have stayed for a month. It was simply divine. The location is peaceful and pretty, close to the wine areas. The accommodation is unique and fun, as well as comfortable. We stayed in the Private Life of Plants trailer and it was retro and kitsch - so nice to have our comfy little nook for three days. The attached living space is calming and comfortable - minimalist and airy. The fridge is well stocked. We made our own coffee each morning. And the nougat left on our bed each day was appreciated! The shower and bathroom amenities were great. We wandered down to the lake after breakfast one morning and spend over an hour just lying on the deck reading and enjoying the serenity. The food was delicious! The pool was perfectly located and gorgeous. The backgammon board helped me learn a new skill! What else can I say?? I definitely hope to come back here someday.

Room Tip: Private Life of Plants was gorgeous - a fair hike up the stairs but quiet and with a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Alison

It is always rewarding to hear good things and we are stoked that you had a super stay. I will pass your good words on to our staff and we certainly hope you may one day find your way back to us, even if it is a long way to come!

Many Thanks

The Old Mac Daddy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I recently had the opportunity, to get out of the city and enjoy a night's getaway a short hours drive away. We arrived in the late afternoon, and left the next morning so never had time for activities but sure made the most of it. Our Mills and Boom Caravan was just gorgeous, and the perfect love shack theme really set the romance for the rest of the evening. Dinner was incredible, and highly recommend the mushroom risotto and chicken + prawn curry. Room service was amazing, and dinner and drinks were served on our veranda. I highly recommend this for honeymooners, or those looking for a romantic night's getaway.

Room Tip: The mills and boom room is strongly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed with our 2 small children in The Dream cottage for 2 nights, great stay, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful decoration, good food at the Brinny Breeze and nice area to visit and relax. The mountain bike ride was also really nice (we rode to Almenkerk wine estate where we tasted their delicious wines). Will be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MCourant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of the best experiences to be had in the Overberg District, it feels like a secret Hide Away far from the City, but it is only 60 minutes from Cape Town. The restaurant is excellent, the pizza is advisable. The staff is very helpful but lets you be on your own.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was taken here as a pre-birthday surprise - and enjoyed every minute. As it was a last minute booking, we stayed in the Villa. The views are superb. My grandsons spent a lot of time in the chlidrens area, where Cindy was marvellous with them. My family are planning to return to enjoy the comforts of one of the caravans.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overberg District
6.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
822 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elgin Valley Inn
Elgin Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Grabouw
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Hill - The Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tri Active Lodge
Tri Active Lodge
#2 of 11 in Grabouw
40 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paul Wallace Wines and Guest Cottages
6.5 mi away
Belfield Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mac Daddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mac Daddy

Property: Old Mac Daddy
Address: 112 Valley Road | Grabouw, 7160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Overberg District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Mac Daddy 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part wholesome caravan park, part designer farm lodge, Old Mac Daddy Trailer Hotel is a new chapter in adventure, escapism and pure relaxation. Set on the pine-whispering slopes of a beautiful corner of the Elgin Valley, Old Mac Daddy is a collection of vintage Airstream Trailer Suites, each designed by an artist, designer or creative living and working in Cape Town. Fully catered and serviced; Old Mac Daddy offers trailer units with themed bedrooms and earth-friendly living spaces. A big designer barn is the communal area where all meals are served. Visit the Grolsch bar or take a dip in the swimming pool, explore the area or just relax. TRAILER SUITES Old Mac Daddy consists of ten trailer suites, two lake-side units and a family farm house - Daddy’s Villa. Each of our trailer suites is a world of its own. The Airstreams themselves have been transformed into bespoke bedrooms; each with its own theme, style and feeling from the magical to the quirky and a whole range of delicate and wonderful things in between. All but the lakeside suites, have additional living areas and decks, which allow for light-filled lounging (or use it as a kids bedroom) and time out. An en-suite bathroom with shower adds luxury to the experience making it a camping holiday like no other. Heated in winter, cooled in summer and cleverly insulated throughout, you will be sleeping way past the first cock-a-doodle-doo! THE BARN, RESTAURANT AND GROLSCH BARThis barn is more of an off-piste designer ski-lodge (without the snow, of course) boasting dramatic agrarian vistas and a vibe that says poolside in summer, fireside in winter. The indoor-outdoor Barn is where guests can enjoy healthy, wholesome meals, and treats throughout the day. Chef Siya Mnguni and restaurateur Gordon Manuel have composed a kitchen vision that centres around fresh, local ingredients and big appetites. Grolsch, the premium Dutch beer behind the sleek, magnetic Airstream, is also the creative force behind the world-class bar at the heart of the park. The large 13-metre bar makes a bold statement with its size and striking finishes. One of only a few to offer Grolsch draught, the bar is fitted with a stainless steel tap imported from Europe. Old Mac Daddy welcomes small people with an indoor-outdoor play area and a daily kiddies meal. Parents must take heed however that a pool and natural, unfenced lakes are a part of this landscape and children should be watched at all times. CONFERENCING & CELEBRATIONSA brilliant venue for conferences, meetings, pow-wows, retreats, celebrations and weddings – Old Mac Daddy can be rented entirely for functions or partially for meetings. A boardroom/conference area is located on the property (seats 20). Wireless broadband is available for those needing to get some work done. WHO IS IT FOR?Old Mac Daddy is for anyone who needs a break from the city. Anyone who wants to breathe fresh air, have apple juice run down their chin and swim in the farm dam and spend star-shot nights melting marshmallows over the fire. It’s for anyone who loves to take brisk walks in winter and then curl up in front of a cosy fire. Old Mac Daddy is for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Old Mac Daddy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mac Daddy South Africa/Overberg District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing