We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Old Mac Daddy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Mac Daddy
Ranked #23 of 269 Overberg District B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Choose the theme of your trailor to set the scene for your stay. We had the best time and our kids were swept away by the theme of our accommodation as well as the entertainment and play areas on the premises. Lovely dinner and beautiful setting. A must for any family, very kids fiendly!

Room Tip: If you want less noise, choose a trailor far away from the restaurant and stairs leading to each ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    211
    52
    8
    5
See reviews for
243
329
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked Yellow Submarine, it was cute and definitely one of the better ones. Some were sadly not up to scratch and were looking shabby. The setting was lovely, the staff was great; helpful and friendly. The let-down was the restaurant. I am told they are completely separate so Old Mac Daddy should dispense with then forthwith and hire a new team! The food was so bad it was funny, if we didn't laugh it would have destroyed our 2 days completely! The pizzas were raw and disgusting, the burger was pretty but tasteless the steak was chewy. Breakfast was late. When the bouncy eggs eventually emerged at 8.35am we just wanted to get out of there! If I hadn't got this on a Daddy's Deal I would probably have complained. I guess that means it was R500 worth, definitely not a cent more! No wonder they have to give deals.

Room Tip: Yellow Submarine was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing midweek getaway! Everything has been so well thought through and incredibly put together. Thank you for the excellent service and delicious meals. I highly recommend this attraction to anyone seeking a different experience. We will see you soon! :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nastassia_e5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for the time you have expended to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel location, the restaurant, facilities and the staff.

We are very happy that we covered your expectations. We always try to adapt our services to our guest needs.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

General Manager
Old Mac Daddy
021-844 0241
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We loved visiting Old Mac Daddy and looking at all the different trailers. It is certainly a lot of fun. I loved the eco-friendly design of the place and can imagine that in summer it must be a lovely outdoorsey space. Our food at the restaurant was not fine dining but certainly tasty and well priced in comparison to what you'd get of the same quality in Cape Town.

Contrary to some previous reviews, we found the staff to be very friendly. The guy who checked us in was extremely helpful and carried our bags to our rooms for us which we were grateful for because we were right at the top of the hill.

The furnishings of the trailers are not always the best but what they may lack in practicality they make up in novelty and good laughs. We stayed in the Dirkie Sanchez suite which is totally impractical (having to climb through the ropes to get to the bed and having no bed side light) but it was fine for one night.

Room Tip: The rooms were all so different and you cannot tell from the pictures what they are like in real lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Monique

Thank you for the time that you took to write a review of your stay with us.
We always try to adapt our services to our guest needs.

We really glad that you enjoyed your stay and had lots of laughter at Old Mac Daddy.
So pleased that you could see some of the other trailers as it is always much better seeing it in person.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Regards

General Manager
Old Mac Daddy
021-844 0241
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This is truely something different and a great experience. The trailers are well equipt and lots of fun. The food at the restaurant was ok with a limited selection, the pizza oven did not work so our options were a bit limited.
I would really have liked to give an excelent rating, something the different has the potential to be great but we had some trouble with the plugs in our unit and the shower did not have constent hot water rendering it unusable on a August morning. That with the restaurant limitations brought the rating down, but can easily be addressed i believe.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raka25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went there for my wife's 40th. Let me start by saying that I'm a glass half full type of guy. I don't like people that complain, but in this instance I gave them fair chance to respond to my feedback and no luck.

The good:
1) The setting is fantastic
2) The other trailer accommodation is fantastic (not the one we stayed in)
3) The staff is friendly (local employment)
4) It is a great summer place

The bad:
1) Avoid the trailer called Birdie; it is shocking and the same price as the others
2) The staff is untrained and illiterate
3) The food is shocking
4) Make sure you are not there when they rent the rest of the venue out to a corporate "conference"
5) Seemingly very little interest from ownership. Maybe they have too many hotels now?

Room Tip: Not a lakeside room; and certainly not "Birdie"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slabberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, General Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Old Mac Daddy

Input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

All our themed airstream's are unique and special, each with its personal fun quality. We regret that you did not enjoy the Birdie trailer, which is one of our popular lakeside trailers.

Unfortunately as you booked via a travel website, you are allocated to any available airstream. You have to specify which themed trailer you would prefer -in the note/ request section on the travel site, in order to get a theme that you desire.

Your experience at the restaurant is an unfortunate one and we are continually in communication with Brinny Breezes Restaurant to improve where they need to.

Lastly we take proud in what we have to offer here at Old Mac Daddy and want all our guests to leave feeling relaxed and well rested, so hopefully we will see you again to come an experience the true magic Old Mac Daddy has to offer.

Warmest:

GM
Old Mac Daddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our 4th visit to Old Mac Daddy's and we're already planning the next!
The limited cellphone signal gives you time to relax! The restaurant is amazing and the staff friendly. There is loads to do and just close enough to the city for some shopping. Be prepared to sleep late and enjoy the rest!! We stayed in Birdie which is on the dam. So tranquil and relaxing!

Room Tip: Visit the website before booking... Each room has a theme and you'll be able to find something t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMacDaddy, Manager at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a review about Old Mac Daddy

We are SO! happy we met your expectations. We always try to adapt our services to the guest needs.

Hope to welcome you back soon again. 
Regards

General Manager
Old Mac Daddy
021-844 0241
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overberg District
6.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Hill - The Guesthouse
4.3 mi away
Tri Active Lodge
Tri Active Lodge
#2 of 11 in Grabouw
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Elgin Valley Inn
Elgin Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Grabouw
68 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Exner
Villa Exner
#1 of 2 in Grabouw
124 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paul Wallace Wines and Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mac Daddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mac Daddy

Property: Old Mac Daddy
Address: 112 Valley Road | Grabouw, 7160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Overberg District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Mac Daddy 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part wholesome caravan park, part designer farm lodge, Old Mac Daddy Trailer Hotel is a new chapter in adventure, escapism and pure relaxation. Set on the pine-whispering slopes of a beautiful corner of the Elgin Valley, Old Mac Daddy is a collection of vintage Airstream Trailer Suites, each designed by an artist, designer or creative living and working in Cape Town. Fully catered and serviced; Old Mac Daddy offers trailer units with themed bedrooms and earth-friendly living spaces. A big designer barn is the communal area where all meals are served. Visit the Grolsch bar or take a dip in the swimming pool, explore the area or just relax. TRAILER SUITES Old Mac Daddy consists of ten trailer suites, two lake-side units and a family farm house - Daddy’s Villa. Each of our trailer suites is a world of its own. The Airstreams themselves have been transformed into bespoke bedrooms; each with its own theme, style and feeling from the magical to the quirky and a whole range of delicate and wonderful things in between. All but the lakeside suites, have additional living areas and decks, which allow for light-filled lounging (or use it as a kids bedroom) and time out. An en-suite bathroom with shower adds luxury to the experience making it a camping holiday like no other. Heated in winter, cooled in summer and cleverly insulated throughout, you will be sleeping way past the first cock-a-doodle-doo! THE BARN, RESTAURANT AND GROLSCH BARThis barn is more of an off-piste designer ski-lodge (without the snow, of course) boasting dramatic agrarian vistas and a vibe that says poolside in summer, fireside in winter. The indoor-outdoor Barn is where guests can enjoy healthy, wholesome meals, and treats throughout the day. Chef Siya Mnguni and restaurateur Gordon Manuel have composed a kitchen vision that centres around fresh, local ingredients and big appetites. Grolsch, the premium Dutch beer behind the sleek, magnetic Airstream, is also the creative force behind the world-class bar at the heart of the park. The large 13-metre bar makes a bold statement with its size and striking finishes. One of only a few to offer Grolsch draught, the bar is fitted with a stainless steel tap imported from Europe. Old Mac Daddy welcomes small people with an indoor-outdoor play area and a daily kiddies meal. Parents must take heed however that a pool and natural, unfenced lakes are a part of this landscape and children should be watched at all times. CONFERENCING & CELEBRATIONSA brilliant venue for conferences, meetings, pow-wows, retreats, celebrations and weddings – Old Mac Daddy can be rented entirely for functions or partially for meetings. A boardroom/conference area is located on the property (seats 20). Wireless broadband is available for those needing to get some work done. WHO IS IT FOR?Old Mac Daddy is for anyone who needs a break from the city. Anyone who wants to breathe fresh air, have apple juice run down their chin and swim in the farm dam and spend star-shot nights melting marshmallows over the fire. It’s for anyone who loves to take brisk walks in winter and then curl up in front of a cosy fire. Old Mac Daddy is for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Mac Daddy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mac Daddy South Africa/Overberg District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing