We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one week holiday. Great hotel, lovely family room overlooking the beach. Food was good quality and a nice touch that you are served drinks at your table, rather than getting them yourself. Staff were super, absolutely faultless. Evening entertainment was fairly standard fare, but always performed with good spirit and energy by the entertainment crew. I can't fault the place nor staff. Just as a heads up, the pool is salt water, it didn't 'appear' to be graduated at all, pretty much 1'6 all the way around (even coming out of the slide) There are two very shallow areas for small kids.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,503)
There are newer reviews for Roda Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 2,503 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a last minute break, fuelled by a desire to grab some cheap sun, so I was not expecting a 5 start resort. Having spent time in Greece before, I knew that their idea and standards of a 5 star were different to what we are used to at home. Nevertheless, we had a lovely time.
We booked this independently, flights through On The Beach, and the hotel through Hotels4U. I pre-booked the transfer through Corfu Airport Transfers and a fraction of the price at approx £60 return for 3, there was only one other couple on so the journey was approx 1hr 15 mins. Other companies wanted in excess of £100, some for long transfers on a big coach.
The hotel at arrival looked really pretty, the drive is long way down so you see the sea from the top. Drive past lots of bungalows and rooms down to reception.
Check in was fine, no problems and there were multilingual staff. This is the building that houses the main lobby, another one on the ground floor and the main buffet restaurant on the top floor.
Our room was close by, and a family room, so this had a double room with a seperate area with sliding doors with 2 little sofas of which one had been converted into a bed for our daughter. The balcony was through this little room, a small balcony but sufficient. We had lovely views over the lower buildings to the sea. The room was fine, a little basic, but clean and well presented, bathroom was very nice with a bath and vicious overhead hand-held shower. Plenty of space for clothes. The TV- no English channels. Small fridge with water supplied, there is space for you to store other things in there.
The main pool is big, grab a sunbed early as they go quickly, but deep everywhere. There is a small children's pool, but this is very shallow, there is no inbetween. There are other pools, they are all saltwater and cool, but this is the end of May and I am sure they will be warmer as the months go on. The parasols are a frustration, as they are fixed and also you cannot close them. If you want to spend a lot of time in the shade, great, if not then this is frustrating.
A little noisy as these pools always have entertainment, but really not too bad. There is a pool bar where you can go to get drinks, hot dogs, ice cream, popcorn and other snacks. There are a fewer other bars too, they all have the same food and drinks.
The beach is narrow, nothing particularly pretty about it, but functional. Lots of seaweed, and stones, not grumbling but of you are looking for a clear golden beach of sand with beautiful blue waters, then you will not find it here. Shallow for a long way out, so swimming with children is easy.
Here you can get pedals and other sports equipment, and the Kids Club come here to play at times.
My daughter went one time, on the day it rained for the the Chocolate Party and she had great fun. Non Thomas Cook customers need to pay, but is only €5 for a 2 hour session, the party was €12. They seemed to have lots of activities every day, but this is the only one she tried. There was a disco very night, but personally at 9 or 9.30pm I think this is late for little people also it means the adults have to watch kiddies stuff at that time of night!
The Spa....hmmmmmmm. All of the treatments looked super expensive, but this is often the case for hotels in comparison to spas at home. One treatment I looked at was a massage for approx €300! OH thought it would be nice to book the hydrotherapy session, which is for the indoor pool and jets, a relaxing session of 50 minutes. This is only a €10 per person, and we thought would be a nice way to warm up on a cold rainy day...well the pool is cold! So not relaxing, as it is better to use as a pool to swim up and down to stay warm I was expecting bath temperature as is usually the case with these, only 2 jets so nothing special...and cold. The are some beds to lie on and you are given a robe, but by this time you end warming up. Really poor, not about the price but about the experience. Having done these before in other hotels, I have always had a lovely time, this was just not one of those.
Food- one buffet restaurant which was incredibly busy, always, there was even a huge queue waiting to get in on opening. The space in the buffet is tight, there are a lot of people in there, but the restaurant size is good and the outdoor seating on the balcony is lovely. The buffet is good, the salad remain the same, there are some staple foods every day, but the hot food tends to change...this is always the longest queue. There are lots of meats being grilled, kebab station, hot foods such as lasagnes, lamb stew, Greek specialities, Greek pies, fish etc, the choice is good. There are lots of cheeses and meats if you want cold, breads, salads, yogurts etc. the fruit is poor, generally only apples, oranges and grapefruit, nectarines if they appear are rock hard, and we saw melon once...disppointing. Strawberries appeared on a platter as a garnish, and one ignorant woman took twist of them! Tons of desserts, I avoided these but this table was popular, and an ice cream station which the children loved. Labelling is an issue, unless it was on the hot food, you had to guess what most was. For many this may not be an issue, my daughter has a nut allergy so I was extra cautious and this made me avoid desserts and cakes. Drinks were terrible, cocktails apalling. After 2 nights I gave up and just had wine.
Trying to get a drink from the staff or cutlery if the table was not set, was a challenge. They are all friendly, but very busy and I feel that they are just not trained very well. You may get coffee, but then have to wait for the milk, or a teaspoon or sugar, the service is just not cohesive. There is no fresh juice, anything they serve or from the machine at breakfast, is a horrible mixture. I had to buy juice from the shop and take with us for mealtimes. Local wine is fine.
The restaurants on the beach, we tried the Greek and Italian...the Greek was on a warm night and the tables were outside, lovely ambience. The menu was limited but lovely, although the OH had the lamb with potatoes and this was a poor meal as very small with no accompaniments, everything else was lovely. The Italian was on the one cool rainy day and was all inside...felt more like a beach cafe, lacked atmosphere, lights too bright and the the menu was very limited, just pizza and pasta. Was ok, but for restaurants that needed pre-booking, I expected better. Still, a change from the madness of the buffet was nice. Mould bread served at Greek which was sent back, they then struggled to find more....a little amateurish.
I would make the effort to go into Roda for dinner, we went during the day and walled, approx 20 mins and then went back in the evening for dinner, a taxi is. €5 each way so totally worth it. You can have a really reasonably priced meal there, and a lovely evening out.

Overall, a lovely holiday at a lovely hotel, met my expectations of what it would be, just a few small things to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewa_suzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We've just come back and you won't find anywhere better for a good value all inc family holiday. The whole area is kept clean and tidy, the staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful. The good is lovely too with a wide variety and choice in the restaurants. Makarim and the animation team are great too with something for all ages. I'd highly recommend this to anyone!! *****+

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank PhilVikkiFreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Firstly, not been to a Mitsis Hotel before and was keen to see the standard of the hotel as well as food, location etc. Prior to this holiday considered the two Iberostar hotels previously visited as the best hotels we have been to in Europe. Mitsis Roda turned out to be the best of all!

The staff could not do enough for their guests and were very friendly throughout our 2 week stay in May 2014.

The food in the main restaurant was very good with good choices - perhaps a bit repetitive .i.e burgers, fried chicken, souvilaki. The potato choices as an alternative to chips were outstanding. Some food was not clearly marked in the restaurant particularly the cheeses.

We dined in the Greek taverna twice - once for lunch which was excellent and once in the evening which was a bit lacking in atmosphere and a little clinical and rushed.

.Did not go to Italian as main restaurant had wood burning oven and choice of pastas.

All the bars were very good and service excellent.

We had contacted Minas the Reservations Manager prior to arriving requesting a shower and was told that all rooms had a bath tub with overhead shower and only one room had a proper shower but he would try to arrange we had the room with the shower. Arriving late we were allocated a room which was not what we had requested but two days later we were moved to a room close to the beach which was fine with a proper shower.

Surprised to find no kettle in room for tea or coffee for early risers.

The location of the resort is splendid with great views over the bay to other villages and resorts.The hotel gardens were well manicured and colourful.

There was very little to complain about generally but I was surprised that there was no Martini or Cinzano etc. on aperitif list .I do not consider ouzo or peach schnapps to be aperitifs. Only drinks avalable were included in all inclusive no other drinks available to purchase.

The entertainment was not brilliant and the kids disco at 21.00 was too late. Parents with children tended to stay on well after 21.30 with the children being mainly unsupervised-more like a free-baby sitting session and the room became noisy-not for those seeking a quiet drink! Similarly children unsupervised in bars and restaurants, running around both a danger to themselves and other guests-realise this is not the fault of the hotel but annoying never-the-less.

Clearly indicated in hotel that shorts were not appropriate for dinner but a number of guests turned up in shorts and were served - mainly men!

All in all a lovely hotel and would like to return.

Room Tip: Nearest beach the bungalow 581 has the only stand up shower in the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardramsay282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

had a lovely week here and everything was spotless - seaview room was perfect although beds very hard..cleaner was so friendly and worked very hard and other staff genuinely nice people as well as the locals in roda. saved €40 doing the trip to corfu town through an agency in roda rather than through thomas cook - the T.C. rep was very poor and hardly spoke..didnt even ask if we'd had a nice holiday when putting us on the bus home to airport. The food here is good quality and we also managed no bother to get booked into the al la carte restaurents on the beach. The archery, canoes and pedalos proved great fun and also the boules! entertainment at night would be much better if the half hour bingo session was removed and the mini disco was earlier but all in all a fantastic atmosphere throughout the day and night...would love to go back :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank ohsunshinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We just came back after an all inclusive week at Mitsis Roda in Corfu (19th-26May 2014). We had a very good time as the resort and facilities were spotless and the staff there were SO friendly and helpful. The food was very varied at the main restaurant and I recommend the Chinese restaurant which requires booking (in our package we only got the option of choosing 1of the 3 themed restaurants once (the other 2 options are Italian and Greek). The only thing that faults this hotel it is the beach, which is not nice at all. It has black and mercky sand so if you are looking to do some snorkelling, this is not the place to go to. Another thing to bear in mind is that the pool has salty water, which did not bother us but I know some people are not very keen on.
We rented a car for 3 days and did lots of traveling around. We found Arillas beach not far from Roda (about 20 mins drive) where my husband was able to do some snorkelling while my daughter and myself played in the sand. Another clear beautiful beach we found was Kavos beach, but of course this is at the very bottom of the island so this requires a bit of driving (about 2 hours 20 minutes from top to bottom of the island).
One thing we definitely recommend (specially if you are traveling with children) is to book a private taxi to take you from the airport to the Roda resort and back. We used CORFU AIRPORT TRANSFER |2000 Travel Services and payed 94 Euros round trip (Thomas Cook were wanting about £150!!) It took us about 35-40 mins to reach the hotel without dropping people off in different places. This also allowed us to have breakfast on the return date as we did not have to leave the hotel until 1 hour after the Thomas Cook people were collected. The people people at the taxi services were so friendly and replied to each email when I requested confirmation a couple of days prior to traveling.

In all, we had such a good time visiting the Achilleon Palace, the old Fortress, Kavos beach, Arillas Beach, Paleocastritsa so we do recommend to escape the English rain and have fun under the sun in Corfu for a few days.

Room Tip: Our sea view room was number 407 (by the kids pool area) and was away from all the entertainment noi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from a 2 week holiday with family and friends and we had a fantastic time. Hotel was amazing very clean maids came to clean room ever day. Food was amazing lots to choose from. Can't fault any of the staff all very polite and helpful. Animation team where excellent they made our holiday enjoyable. I will definitely be going back to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rachscotty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karousades
4.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,165 reviews
21.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
17.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.0 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
10.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Karousades 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Karousades
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roda Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roda Beach Resort & SPA is a gorgeous all-inclusive hotel located at the northeastern coast of Corfu, a few minutes walk from the village Roda. Spread out in 25 acres of beautiful gardens, it reaches its own sandy beach and the turquoise Ionian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Roda Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Roda Beach Hotel Karousades
Mitsis Roda Beach Karousades
Roda Beach Corfu
Roda Beach Hotel Corfu
Roda Beach Resort & Spa Corfu, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing