We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have just returned from a 2 week family holiday (kids 12-14) at this resort and i must say we have an excellent holiday. I had been watching Tripadvisor prior to going and started to panick with some of the reviews! All i can say is dont worry about the negative comments on there too much, like seaweed on the beach, poor foor and ants etc etc etc. Of course there is seaweed on the beach its comes from the sea which is part of the beach!!! The food we found to be of a very high quality and there was something to choose for everyone. There is a lot of ants outside but if you dont eat in the appartment then you will have no problems, however one did manage to get in but did not stay long ;-). We had booked a deluxe room but when we got there found it to be a bit small for us, so we spoke to the reservation manager (who was brilliant) and got moved to a swim up room (641) which was a fair bit bigger and had the pool right outside, all this for no extra cost. There are people checking out every day so if you are not happy speak to the staff and they will do their best to solve your problem. Bar staff in the main bar are great and if you tip every now and then they keep a good eye on your and your glass is never empty for long. We stayed up around our pool or on the beach as we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday which is exactly what we got. If you want games and entertainment the just pop down to the main pool and it is all there. Overall a great holiday and met some great people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    809
    340
    136
    85
See reviews for
1,304
697
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First of all this is a fantastic hotel. Views are outstanding and the sunsets beautiful. It is clean and spotless and the food is varied and delicious. A short stroll along the beach takes you into Roda which is great. Oscars bar was fantastic and we watched a fantastic Madness tribute there. I would recommend. Also pirates bar is great. We booked a premier room and please don't bother as you get absolutely nothing extra. We had a pool outside our block as with several places around the hotel and the staff said this is what we had paid extra for!!! Exclusive use....However every body was using each others pools as the hotel has one major fault...SUNBEDS.
On the first day when we walked round the main pool and the whole of the beach and all the other pools and could not find a sunbed, we put it down to us being late. The next morning we were up at 7am....no sunbeds. Everyone was complaining and the management said there was nothing they could do. 5 am the next morning and you would not believe how many beds were already reserved. This got so bad when we were walking back at 1am one morning they were being reserved then...This is a major problem with this hotel. Some sunbeds outside our room the towels never came off day or night and the family only ever turned up at 5pm each day. What people were doing was reserving at the beach and the pools. We even saw people hiding sun beds behind bushes.
Entertainment was non existent in the hotel. They had a small antitheatre where the entertainment team did various show or mini discos. They were awful. The table and seating situation in the evening in the hotel is nearly as bad as the sunbeds. However there is no music and no entertainment there. Completely devoid of atmosphere. The main restaurant plays music and toilets, but step outside nothing. The tables are even assembled so its difficult to chat and meet people. Luckily we met a couple of family's that were holidaying together and had a blast. Thanks to Ian, Vicky<Fiona and Phil and kids (George ,Tom, Cherry and Freya) it made the holiday much more entertaining. Thanks Guys.(good luck George with your GCSEs)

TOP TIPS
Complain when you get into room that there are no other dinks in your bar other than water. People did this and they filled them up. Apparently staff said people don't want anything other than water...Yes right.

If you want a late check out room it is 15 euros till 2.30pm 35 euros till 6.30pm please be aware you have to book this the day before and will not be told till 11am on day of departure. We had to move rooms and were put up the top of hill near main gate. The rooms were very old and needed to be knocked down really room 17 smelt very damp but it was only used to store bags and have a quick shower.

Get a taxi to the airport not a bus. The buses make you queue outside the airport for departure. This is in the heat. Taxi yourself and you don't have to be told what to do. Corfu airport is really tiny and disorganised.

Book trips through NSK travel in Roda.We paid 20 euros each for a fantastic boat trip and BBQ. The same trip with Thomas cook was 47 euros per adult and 23.50 per child.

Booking restaurants is done via computer near restaurants go in the morning to book. Seems this is the only time it works. We recommend the Italian great.

Main pool is salt water which is not a problem however it will burn your eyes its that strong. All the other pools have less salt. If you are sensitive bring goggles.

The shop along the beach is a lot cheaper than the hotel.

Wasps are a real issue so avoid eating outside on the veranda. I have never seen so many tables outside empty.

Go see George-ous in the bar in the middle pool (swim up rooms) He is so funny and very nice man.

The rooms are of a good standard but I would not pay extra for the swim up rooms as anyone can swim there anyway and they had smaller balcony's and look a bit tired.

Overall the hotel was great clean and I would recommend as we had a good holiday. However we had to go offsite a couple of times for some entertainment.
Would I return no , but im glad we went. We discovered we no longer want to do all inclusive and prices were cheap in town 8.50 euros for sirloin steak.

Room Tip: Don't bother with premier or swim up. All room are of same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comphealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I must admit went on this holiday with some anticipation after reading some of the negative reviews , ignore them most must be written by the professional moaners . Agree with all the positive reviews hotel spotless,food excellent enough variety to have something different each day we were in the height of the season and experienced no queuing although busy was run efficiently by the hard working staff , complex is as lively or quiet as you want it to be the animation team are fantastic and just as enthusiastic at midnight as they were at ten am .Unlike some reviews found the reception staff helpful and had the patience of saints the way some guests spoke to them one guy complained bitterly because he overslept ! even though reception had rung him and sent someone round to knock on his door .This is a great family hotel went with two teenage daughters and plenty to keep them occupied there is also a good mix of nationalities , the sunbed situation could be better and easily resolved if all towels were removed and folded up if placed before 8 am but we always managed to find four spare it was really annoying the one's placed the night before,my only complaint is with ThomasCook we had a late flight from Manchester and arrived next morning so we assumed that as we had paid for seven nights our room would be available on the seventh night but we had to be out by 12 and had an eighteen hour wait before our flight home , the hotel provided a shower room but could not keep our room on as hotel fully booked.
All in all though this was an excellent holiday and would recommend this hotel to any of my friends with families

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 21071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

On first arriving at the Mitsis hotel it looked very clean and welcoming and didnot dissapoint for rest of the holiday, everywhere was spotless from where we could see. Checking in was fast and friendly which is just what you need after travelling hours to get there.
Food is good but repetitive so if you fancy having something different then you might have to eat out, there are a few restaurants not so far away in Roda (on beach turn right and a 5 minute walk along (place called Roxannes was very nice food and partner loved there cocktails), other than the food been repetitive there was something for everyone.
Looking at the bad points if you can call them bad was the pools, salt water pools i must say i never enjoyed and also the pools are quite deep, no shallow end just straight into deep everywhere, there's also a toddlers pool.
There are alot of rooms at this hotel but there's also plenty room so your not feeling like your on top of one another, there's plenty sun beds (might have to get up early to get decent one) to go round, we spent first few day by pool then tried beach where we stayed for rest of holiday.
The Thomas Cook kids club well what can i say, well here goes, there good, there very good we never expected our 10 year old to go in but said just try it you never know, went in once and that was it wanted to be in all the time so full marks to them and also a big thank you to them.
Would i go back???No but only because of the pools.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellingly, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My experience is very positive regarding this hotel. We spent two weeks there with the family. Very child friend set up, also facilities to relax for the adults.
Lovely programs organised the entertainment manager. Thank you for Makram. Not to mention the whole animation group, everyone was lovely.
The rooms are decorated with lovely design and cleaned every day. The food is excellent always at least 6-7 choice of main meal. Always fresh fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from the Mitsis Roda Beach after months of excitement looking forward to our stay which was not cheap!

I will start with a few tips and then go through good and bad points.

Don't bother booking a transfer, we took a taxi and it works out roughly the same. The hotel will provide you with the number for Roda Taxis who were really good and waiting for us on arrival. The price is 53 euros each way.

If you need a room with two separate bedrooms, as we did going with two 15 year old girls! Make sure you check with who you book with and the hotel prior to going or you maybe disappointed. I called hotels4u and paid £260 extra to ensure we got one of these rooms of course when we arrived reception were not one bit bothered and we were stuck in a tiny room with the girls almost on top of us in bunk beds for two nights! Not good when the hotel is so expensive. When I finally got the right room on night 3 it was very nice. I will now take this up with hotels4u and see who is at fault but we did speak to other families who the exact same thing has happened and booked with different operators so I am suspecting it maybe the hotel at fault.
If you don't want the Butlins feel get beds at the pool furthest away from the main one, this is nice and quiet with families. The other small one with the bar has lots of toddlers.
Eat at the restaurants instead of the big canteen! If you do eat there sit outside on the balcony it is worth the extra journey to the buffet.

The highs of the hotel...

The resort is very pretty and spotless, with beautiful flowers and the views when you are eating dinner in any of the restaurants are stunning.
The quality of the food is wonderful, for such a busy buffet in the main restaurant they do a good job.
Most of the staff are nice and friendly, especially the chaps in the main hotel bar and all the girls.
The sea is very gently shelving, great for toddlers and very clear and pretty.
It is HOT with not a cloud in the sky, it's Greece!

The lows.... for us outweigh the highs unfortunately.

Reception staff, most unhelpful couldn't give one attitude. They cannot even reprint your boarding passes and we had to go into town to do it. Have you heard of a 5 star hotel with no computer facilities!
Booking the restaurants on the big ipad kinda thing in reception! Most people give up as you have a big queue behind you and it doesn't let you book what you want i.e just a table for 2 when there is 4 and nobody shows you how to use it. Tip is book for two days ahead as soon as you arrive and every morning and do not be deterred by the sighers behind you.
Drinks! Urgh. The rose is okish, there are no decent drinks we ended up buying cider and prosecco from the supermarket, 5 star indeed! I was also excited about the minibar, which I needn't have been as you are very lucky if you get a bottle of water in there! Misleading marketing I would say.
It is a big resort and a bit like butlins, ok for families with little kids but I would not say it is great for teenagers.
Roda is okish, with a few tacky bars, not my cup of tea at all. I like quaint little traditional villages with greek staff. Most of the bars were owned by english and had bingo, karaoke etc.
The beach is not nice, lots of seaweed and it is very narrow and a dirty dark sand.
There is zero ambience in the hotel. It is a shame as it could be so nice.

Changes desperately needed!!! To take it from a 3 star to the 5 it claims to be.

Get some beds! I don't want to set my alarm for 6am I am on holiday!! Get some decent wooden beds with nice mattresses in some of the pools.
Serve drinks in glasses at the beach bar in the evening and buy a few candles and some fairy lights! Nobody can see what they are doing or eating in the chinese!
Put some nice chill out tunes on in the bars to set a nice ambience, it is not difficult we are easily pleased!
I do not want to sit in a butlins theatre every night, have some entertainment on in the main hotel, a singer, a greek night etc or again just a little music and some candles.
Get some decent wines including prosecco and a variety of drinks i.e.cider etc. Mojitios would be nice!!! Fat chance of that!

Unfortunately I would not return the this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CheshireHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely location right on the beach, quiet and relaxing but with plenty of variety of entertainment day and evening. A real family atmosphere. Restaurant quality good particularly when booking the Chinese restaurant all included but offering a little extra special dining experience overlooking the sea. My teenage daughter met lots of friends and had a great time in the evening provided by the relentlessly hard working entertainment team - in a very safe environment too. Rooms very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabletopeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karousades
4.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,107 reviews
21.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,312 reviews
17.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.0 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
32.0 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Karousades 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Karousades
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roda Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roda Beach Resort & SPA is a gorgeous all-inclusive hotel located at the northeastern coast of Corfu, a few minutes walk from the village Roda. Spread out in 25 acres of beautiful gardens, it reaches its own sandy beach and the turquoise Ionian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roda Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Roda Beach Hotel Karousades
Mitsis Roda Beach Karousades
Roda Beach Corfu
Roda Beach Hotel Corfu
Roda Beach Resort & Spa Corfu, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing