We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Las Mayoralas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Mayoralas
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?? We have travelled a lot & this is without a doubt one of the best places we have stayed. The location is wonderful with stunning views. The bungalow is well equipped & beautifully decorated. Each has its own pool,lovely grassed area a terrace & a further outdoor seating area. Perfect for peace & quiet & a relaxing break. Check in was very efficient & friendly. The on site bar & restaurant is great & the food was outstanding & reasonably priced. They are did friendly too so great if you want to take your pooch along! I honestly couldn't find a fault with the place. We will definatly be back, but next time for longer than 1 night! Keep up the good work las mayoralas.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennettkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irenealicia, Gerente at Las Mayoralas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015
Google Translation

Le agradecemos sus comentarios. Un placer atenderles.
Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Las Mayoralas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at Las Mayoralas this past easter, being lucky enough to get the very last cottage. The charming little casitas all have their own pool and private garden, although overlooked by one another, you still have enough privacy to enjoy a relaxing stay.
We were visited by the complex owners's dog, Tango, a beautiful German Shepherd mix, who decided to stay with us during our stay, despite his owner many attempts to have him back in his own house! this did not bother us, as we love animals, neither the visit of some other neighbour's dogs that came to make friends with our own doggies, but it could bother some people that do not appretiate unexpected visits from other guest's pets.
The cottage has everything needed to enjoy your stay, however, we found the beds a bit uncomfortable and small.
The staff is absolutely fantastic, specially Alfonso, whose attentive manners and courtesy were a refreshing experience, after being used to the rather abrupt ways of the service down here, in Andalucia.
They treated us to a free meal at the restaurant, the food was delicious, and the only bad note is the bull heads hanging on the walls of the massive restaurant, I mentioned this to Alfonso and he assured me that they are in the process of removing them as it upsets many foreigner visitors as well, people that come from places where animal welfare is as normal as human rights, normally north european countries.
The cottage overlooks Lago Vinuela, and the views are simply breathtaking. The crisp mountain air and the scent of grass and the many different plants found everywhere will make you lose a few years off your skin, this is a very inspiring place perfect to take some time write or read a book, or paint.
You can walk down the hill to the lake, but you will be encountering some dogs that will bark fiercely as you walk past their property, and the thought of that thin metalic gate simly giving up to their weight does always crosses one's mind, so it's better to take your car. The exit and entrance to the property is quite a steep hill, up on the way in and down on the way out, we had to go in first gear to make it up there, but it is only just a few yards, and my car is a few years old now, with many miles on the odometer....
If you decide to visit the surrounding places, you must go to Comares, where you will be driving through the heart of the Axarquia, the unspoiled Andalucia, away from crowds and urbanizations and golf courses and all of the things that you are really trying to get away from, and you will find yourself driving thourgh strikingly beautiful and peaceful roads, were green can be seen for as far as meets the eye, depending on the time of year, (we traveled in Spring).
Once you get off the comarcal road MA-169, on to the MA-165, you will find yourself in a mountain road that narrows up all the way on a constant uphill during 5 kilometres, the longest 5 kilometres you might have traveled in a while, but totally worth it once you are up there, if I made it, anyone can make it!
There is ample parking lot outside the village, just before you enter the historical sites. Do not try to venture in with your car as this is a typical spanish town, with very narrow streets, not designed for cars.
As soon as you step out the car you will be rewarded with astonishing views, that strech all the way to the Mediterranean Sea. Comares is the highest village in the area, so you will be looking down to all the little white towns on the distance.
There are foot print shaped tiles on the streets to guide your visit, all you need to do is follow them and you will be on your way. This is a very picturesque place with tons of opportunities for a good picture, and hardly anybody to get on your way. We went there on a Sunday and no shops were open, only a small souvenir little place and a bar or two.
Bring
-A good camera with a good lense, there are tons of little villages on the distance to capture on a shot
-Good walking boots
-Bring your dogs, they will enjoy a very peaceful place, both where we stayed and Comares

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irenealicia, Departamento de recepción at Las Mayoralas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por tantos cumplidos, fue un placer atenderles.

Saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The location was excellent for a get away from it all break. Very quiet and relaxing. We were disappointed that the air conditioning was only in the main room, not any of the bedrooms and spent a restless, very hot first night, it was August. We bought fans from the supermarket in Velez-Malaga the following day. This made a real difference. Also there was no oven in the kitchen area. There 2 hib rings, a microwave, toaster and washing machine, but no kettle!
We ate in the restaurant a few times and food and service were great.
You may need a phrase book as the staff have very little English.
We stayed as 2 couples as we were attending a wedding in the area. The location is 'off the beaten track', but great for exploring the area, 40 mins to the beach and overlooking Lake Vinuela.
Overall a highly enjoyable stay, I would like to think we might return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irenealicia, Departamento de recepción at Las Mayoralas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias, reciba un cordial saludo de todo el equipo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank CAM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMalcaucin, Gerente at Las Mayoralas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatriz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Arien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank George v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Periana
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
#1 of 3 in Alcaucin
114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cortijo Las Monjas
Cortijo Las Monjas
#4 of 4 in Periana
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Vinuela
Hotel La Vinuela
#1 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cantueso Cottages
Cantueso Cottages
#2 of 4 in Periana
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mayoralas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mayoralas

Address: Aldea Las Mayoralas s/n, 29710 Periana, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Periana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Periana
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Mayoralas 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mayoralas Resort, which was inaugurated in 2008, is located near the town of Periana, La Axarquia, Malaga, a place of great beauty and natural wealth. Las Mayoralas is in a privileged location surrounded by olive groves and Mediterranean forest, with spectacular views in all directions, from the resort you can seen all the extension of the lake of Viñuela, Tejeda Mountain range and the smooth and fertile valley of Periana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Mayoralas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing