We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and welcoming stay”
Review of Albatros Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gialos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albatros Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Gialos B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location and welcoming stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed in Albatros Hotel early September.

Very central, just up from the port (30 second walk), from where the boats for the beaches leave
Nice building, with beautiful pastel colours, like the rest of the buildings in Symi. Well decorated rooms, with very clean on-suite bathroom facilities.
Welcoming mother and son team, who offer to collect you from the port when you arrive (although this is not really necessary as it is a 5minute walk on the flat, rather than the surrounding hillsides around the port).
Simple, nice continental breakfasts, albeit a little late for early to rise folk like ourselves (breakfast is normally at 9am at the hotel, judging on the several days we stayed). The owner did politely offer to make us an early breakfast on the last day when we left to go back to the ferry port, but we decided not to risk waiting around. Ended up going for a walk around the port every morning while waiting for our breakfast.
Fair price for the season and the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richkendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Feeling a little 'wobbly' after the boat from Rhodes for my day excursion to Symi. , l decided to find a room, to use as a base, for the 8 hours l'd be on Symi. l couldnt have stumbled across a more delightful small hotel ! Charming Fabian welcomed me as if l'd just in for a month ! l was soo impressed with Fabian, Nicolas and stunninly handsome Symi..l'm planning to go back in September...and guess where l'll be staying !!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The rooms are small but beautifully and essentially decorated by Fabienne and Stelios, the ownwers. Air con, spotless clean, 1 minute walk from the harbour on a quiet lane. Very good price. Excellent breakfast served by Fabienne herself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel Albatros is an ideal solution for someone who wants to stay in Symi, near the port and all the action, without having to spend a fortune. Fabienne and Nicolas (the owners, mother and son) are very friendly and helpful. They will come to the port to collect you and give you information about everything you want. Its location is perfect, just 2-3 minutes walk from the ships, departing every morning for the beaches. The rooms are warm and clean, equipped with A/C and refrigerator. The only two drawbacks of the hotel are (i) the very small shower (ii) the quite boring breakfast (Bread, marmalade and coffee/juice). You can avoid paying the extra 8€ for the breakfast and have a snack at the cafeterias. We paid for the room 60€ (52€ + 8€ for breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas P, Ιδιοκτήτης at Albatros Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Sorry for the late answer.Thanks a lot for the comment :D !Just to mention that the breakfast now is offering bread,marmelades,butter,honey,tea on 3 different flavors,milk,juice,coffe,fresh greek and traditional cookies of symi,yogourt,kornflakes.The price is the same 4 euros for each person, and they can consume as much as they want.It is true that for those that they want english breakfast it is better to go in a small caffeteria at the harbour or even a restorant.Thanks again for the comment.
Best wishes nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greek walker
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a first class small hotel in a super location. The french lady owner is charming helpful and full of useful infomation about Symi. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the harbour and tavernas .The room was lovely , well equipped and decorated. If we return to Symi the Albatros will be our first choice

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiathos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Fabienne will come to the ferry to meet you, bring you back to the hotel and provide all the info. you need in English, fluent Greek or her native French about restaurants, sites and even the boat rides around the island which leave 100 meters from the hotel. She runs this small hotel with her Greek husband (Stelios)and her young bilingual Franco-Greek son (Nicolas). The rooms are very clean, with AC and a balcony overlooking a quiet side street a few meters from both the port ( for day excursions and water taxis to the beaches) and one of the best taverns MERAKLIS. The hotel is simple but very practical in an ideal location with a good breakfast including warm fresh bread and a lending library ( no TV). I will definitely return - just like most of the clients- who have been returning to SYMH and the Albatros for 15 years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Typam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gialos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#2 of 11 in Symi
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opera House Apartments
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iapetos Village
Iapetos Village
#1 of 3 in Gialos
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pedi Beach Hotel
Pedi Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Symi
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Symi Center
Symi Center
#5 of 17 in Symi
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Hotel

Property: Albatros Hotel
Address: Symi Yialos, Gialos 856 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi > Gialos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will easily find the Albatros. It is a small family run hotel with five comfortable bedrooms with en suite bathrooms. Situationed in a quiet street just off the harbour. You will receive a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Symi, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing