We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky my head is actually connected !!”
Review of Royal Yeoman

Royal Yeoman
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Yeoman
Ranked #1 of 1 Grimstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good friendly customer service which was highlighted when I actually forgot all of my luggage when I left and the owners were good enough to ring my mobile to let me know. As I was only a few miles away at the Tolpuddle festival not a complete disaster. I stayed in room 2 which is a large pleasant room with a ceiling fan that helps when the weather is a little muggy. Very clean room and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the shower has little power and the temperature was at best tempremental which is a pity as the bathroom was again large and very clean. I did speak to the owner and she was aware of the problems. Also a little bugbear of mine is the size of the towels, they barely went round me ( size 36 waist). The breakfast offered a range of choices including a range of fruit and cereals. The cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

A very nice property with nice garden area and plenty of parking.Hosts very friendly and helpful. The room was large and spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice. We would be happy to recommend this hotel.
When here a trip to Poundbury is an interesting experience.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a wedding in Puddletown and had a lovely time at the Royal Yeoman. Nice sized, clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast selection. We got a taxi to take us to Puddletown which charged us for it's journey from Dorchester to our hotel and so ended up being quite a pricey taxi ride but no fault of the Royal Yeoman. We would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LenSmake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this is a beautiful little camp site, when we arrived the man who met us was 100% friendly and genuine.and made us feel really welcome , there is plenty of room between campers, a beautiful clear stream, brook, running along bottom of field, the shower and toilet are beautifully clean, hot water galore. WiFi on sight, and we was also offered a full English breakfast if we wanted if for only £5,, would defo stay here again if i was in this area.. the cost for a 1 night stay was £13, so a bargain , there are also picknic tables and a childs play area, i notice that dogs are allowed as well .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisagilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to a spacious double aspect room. The facilities were of a high standard. We were given plenty of tips on visiting in the area. It is a central spot for touring. There is a nice garden/caravan area at the rear. Also free WiFi. The breakfast was plentiful and varied from continental to a good fry-up. All together a friendly place to stay. Recommended highly.

Room Tip: Superior room at rear has a lovely double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent stay. Comfy room, Great breakfast, Friendly hospitality. From the start, Sue was warm and welcoming...showing me where to stroll after a long days driving. Real personal attention. Plenty of free parking and wifi was good. No reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank solosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very well run and cared for establishment with good attention to detail. Very comfortable and spacious room ( superior double at rear) with plenty of wardrobe/drawer space and armchairs. Convenient location just outside Dorchester, road fairly busy during the day but not a problem. Good breakfast and friendly owners, would be very happy to stay again if in the area. As stated by others, a very good local pub recommended by the owners for meals; having found it we ate there all 3 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monistrol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal Yeoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yeoman

Address: 9 Dorchester Road, Grimstone, Dorchester DT2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Grimstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grimstone
Price Range: £72 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Yeoman 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yeoman is a roadside bed & breakfast located about 4 miles from Dorchester offering excellent value comfortable accommodation. Rooms are en-suite and free wifi and plentiful parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Yeoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing