We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Glen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Sleights B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this super b&b. The hosts were friendly and so helpful. We particularly enjoyed the homemade scones and tea when we arrived. The breakfast was lovely with quality ingredients and the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We will certainly return again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fiona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently had a two day stay here and wished it had been longer. Trish and Robin are wonderful hosts. We were given a very warm welcome with scones and tea. Robin gave us lots of useful information about the local area. The accommodation was excellent. Extremely clean. Big rooms, comfy beds and a lovely bathroom. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anniegreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Tucked away down an inauspicious looking, narrow road, is one of the best B&Bs I have ever had the good fortune to stay in (and I've tried quite a few) A very warm welcome, delicious scones in the garden, a host with excellent local knowledge and recommendations, first class accommodation with top of the range finishes and an extremely comfortable king size bed, (we stayed in the Garden Studio) and delicious breakfasts of local produce, served by our friendly, charming hosts. Just brilliant! Only down side was having to leave, especially saying goodbye to Bob the dog, who had made great friends with my husband, along with Mr Fox the cat. I loved watching the chickens strutting around the beautiful, large garden. Convenient for Whitby, the NYMR steam trains, the Moors and much, much more. We stayed 4 nights and would love to go back. Try it!

Room Tip: Garden studio has plenty of space and very useful kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very comfortable bed and huge bathroom - we so appreciate space to move around in. Robin was particularly helpful even before we arrived, as I needed an urgent doctor appointment which he arranged for the morning requested, and even managed to get me in earlier, almost as soon as we turned up at Sherwood Glen. The chooks wandering around the lovely gardens were a homely touch, as were the 20 year old 'Mr. Fox' - a lovely old puss now blind and deaf, but still up for a purring cuddle, and 'Mr. Bob' - their dog who is always ready for a play. We enjoyed our three nights here very much - thank you Robin and Trish.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Been coming here for last five years - Trisha and Robin are excellent hosts. The rooms are wonderful - we've sampled them all - as is the welcome cake and tea and the fantastic breakfast with eggs layed by the hens who have free range of the delightful gardens. An absolute must stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Superb B&B. Robin and Trish were excellent hosts, rooms were lovely comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. The location is quiet yet handy for Whitby. We couldn't have asked for more thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4stonesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I can't fault this excellent establishment, you've got to try it!!. The view across the valley was lovely , especially as I was born and grew up in the close vicinity. I have a feeling that we will be visiting regularly! Thank you Robin and Trish.
Kate P

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate65pennock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sherwood Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Glen Guest House

Address: Orchard Road | Near Whitby, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sleights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sleights
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Glen is a beautiful Edwardian Guest House offering bed and breakfast accommodation on the very edge of the North Yorkshire Moors and less than 3 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. Perfectly located for visiting Whitby, strolling in Goathland the home of “Heartbeat,” beachcombing at Sandsend and Saltwick, “fossilling” at Robin Hoods Bay, riding the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, walking the Cleveland Way, or simply exploring the rugged coast and beautiful moors countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherwood Glen Guest House Sleights, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing