We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place to stay round Whitby”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Patio
Underhill Holiday Cottage
View
North Yorkshire Moors
Whitby Whale Bones
Steam Train
Whitby at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidJ501...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best place to stay round Whitby”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Arrived to find a fabulous cottage, fully equipped and in a beautiful area. Wonderful welcoming reception from Tina and Andy.this has definitely been our favourite place to stay round Whitby. Even though the weather was unsettled it didn't matter because we felt so at home and comfortable in the property. We can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
508myron
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant location, lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ideal location for Goathland, Whitby, Runswick Bay and Staithes.
Beautiful cottage with all the amenities
Will be back next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenknig...
West Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful retreat”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Underhill cottage is set in an idyllic location. Set back away from the road in beautiful countryside. My husband and I spent 4 nights there. The cottage is spotless and very cosy. The weather was faultless so we took advantage sitting outside having our breakfasts on the private patio in a little sun trap. I had originally been trying to find a location on the sea front but booking at the last minute became impossible. However, the cottage proved to be so delightful I have no regrets and would definitely go back again. It's location is central to so many areas worth visiting including the beach. It was always comforting to return to our tranquil retreat at the end of the day.
Tina,Andy and the children made us feel very welcome with a welcoming selection of tea coffee and fresh milk on arrival.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem in amazing location.”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just got home from Underhill Holiday cottage. Despite the weather we had a fabulous break in this excellent place. Beautifully presented, very clean inside and out, had no problems with my allergies. Tina very hospitable and her children delightful. Access a bit hair raising but you do get used to the bumpy ride. Long stone steps to door so not for very elderly or disabled I would say. We had no complaints and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah-ann...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very clean and cosy. Tina and Andy are a lovely couple and are very welcoming. The views are lovely. We will be back to stay again. A massive thank you to Tina and Andy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely view over the valley to Whitby, Well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stress free break. One recommendation is to approach the entrance on the road from Whitby. The left turn is just at the end of the emergency lane which is on the opposite carriageway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard
Liked least: The steep uneven access road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing