We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joan M
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week's stay in the Coach House. The cottages are renovated to an excellent standard, everything you could possibly need is at hand. It's a perfect location to explore Whitby and the coast and to travel on the North Yorkshire Steam Train, all within very easy access. There's a Spa/Post Office, butchers and bakers in Sleights and the Eskdale Fisheries have wonderful freshly cooked fish and chips at a reasonable price. Rob and Julie (the owners) are very friendly and welcoming and deserve every credit for restoring these wonderful buildings into ideal holiday cottages. We didn't want to leave and would love to return.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P
Ulceby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a fantastic time in Mr Ralph's cottage. The cottage was beautifully presented, warm, cosy and peaceful. Truly perfect for our romantic stay in North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnyboy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent stay!”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great 3 nights in mr ralphs cottage, just outside whitby, it was very quiet and a lovely setting. The cottage has been finished to a very high specification and was very spacious, we traveled as a couple and stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage. We got the log burner going and relaxed in the evening in a very comfortable lounge with large flatscreen and netflix. Kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need and the place was spotless when we arrived. The owners were great and even came to pick us up when we had done a 6 mile walk and then realised there were no trains running back to sleights, they popped in the pub and we had a drink with them which was nice. I would definitely recommend this cottage and will no doubt return at some point. The only improvement i could think of would be a toilet door between the bedroom and en-suite, it didn't bother us too much but it may for some couples, all in all though, the place cannot be faulted, very impressed!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
378jeanc
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC BREAK”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are just back from the most wonderful holiday spent at Ralph's Cottage in Iburndale. The cottage was cosy, exceptionally comfortable, beautifully furnished and a real haven to come home to. The area has the most fantastic scenery - the lovely Yorkshire sunshine did help. Visited some quirky and picturesque spots - felt we were in Last of the Summer Wine. Great eateries with fish in abundance. Spent a couple of days in York - just under an hour by car and experienced "again" Betty's Tearoom. It's pricey but well worth it. Meals are to die for. We loved our holiday so much we have booked up again for Xmas - can't wait. Must also add that the owners Rob and Julie were brilliant - unobtrusive but there when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance of an old country cottage but with bang up to date facilities
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone and everyone! The cottage is one bedroom with a bed settee in the lounge so will sleep 4. A second, 2 bedroom cottage is also available. Fully equipped with excellent off road parking. We received a tremendous welcome from Julie and Rob who gave us as much information about the area as possible and greeted us with bread, milk, wine and a lovely walnut cake! Very relaxing and laid back holiday in beautiful surroundings. Plenty of places to visit; Whitby, Goathland, Beck Hole, Guisborough (a lovely market town about 20 miles away), Runswick Bay, Sandsend, Filey and Scarborough (great shopping town) and the Egton Agricultural Show that is held the third week of every August. We also called in to Thornton le Dale to visit the small Motor Museum based in the centre of the village. Well worth a look! Pubs, tearooms and food in abundance throughout the area. Will definitely go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, exceptionally clean and excellent off road parking
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;