We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulously luxurious!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Entrance to Cliff Farm, 'No long bumpy farm tracks to drive down here' South facing garden, 'who's doing the cooking tonight'?  Table for two, with a view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Entrance to Cliff Farm, 'No long bumpy farm tracks to drive down here'
South facing garden, 'who's doing the cooking tonight'?  Table for two, with a view.
The village of Iburndale
Our guests tell us they like a 'bath marathon'. one each for the couple with aching limbs.
Large shower cubicle with raindrop shower head, check yourself out in the freestanding mirror.
Bespoke hand made kitchen, a delight to use the double oven whilst chatting to guests.
'Lets have an aperitif in the courtyard before dinner'
'Wow it's hot today, where's my sunhat'?
I think I'll do a bit of dead heading before breakfast'
'King size and comfy, what more could you want'?
'How quaint can you get'? 'Which side do you want'?
King size and comfy, with soaking tub in your room. Own sink and toilet to this bedroom too
What a place for a BBQ. yes we have Webber BBQ's for your use
Make a wish!!
Out of the gate straight on circular walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deakin2
Nottingham England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulously luxurious!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just returned from a lovely short break at Drake Cottage., Which is gorgeous and fully lived up to expectations. Fully agree with all other reviews, fabulous bathroom, sumptuous bedroom high quality finish throughout. Thanks to you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for taking time to review our cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and being here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaAnnE...
England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Super cottage, finished to an extremely high standard. Fabulous bathroom with a rainfall shower and roll top bath, just lovely. Perfect location for visiting Whitby and the lovely shops in Sleights - particularly Radfords Butchers. Everything was perfect and Robert and Julie perfect hosts. Thank you - we will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a great week at Drake Cottage, situated 4 miles outside Whitby in the North Yorkshire National Park. Fantastic accommodation which owners Julie & Robert have furnished to a very high standard. The cottage is suitable for 2 couples or a family with 2 children & is also dog friendly. The kitchen is kitted out with everything you'll need although the chip shop at the bottom of the road will tempt you back time & again. Great location for exploring the NE coast with Robin Hood Bay, Staithes, Saltburn, Filey & Scarborough all on the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed our cottage and the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keefb1
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect 5 star cottage!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Drakes Cottage for the first week of July 2016. When we arrived we were greeted by our hosts June and Robert who were extremely welcoming and showed us around the cottage. We were overwhelmed by the quality of the cottage, a lovely enclosed courtyard decked with beautiful rose beds greeted us on our way into the huge kitchen with high quality fittings and dining table. Through to the lounge with extremely comfortable furniture (which was very welcoming after days of walking). Huge TV and freesat + DVD etc..... Upstairs 2 double bedrooms, (1 bedroom with luxury bath and bedroom 2 with "massive" ensuite bathroom with luxury bath and shower etc.....). The cottage was also extremely clean, no dust anywhere! Plenty of parking! And easy access to the surrounding areas of Whitby and Scarborough! ...... It was perfect for us and our little dog! ...... Will definitely be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Drakes cottage is situated in a tranquil setting. The cottage is tastefully decorated and the furnishings are superb. It's about a ten minute drive from Whitby and central to all the beauty spots around that area. Robert and Julie are friendly people who have done a wonderful renovation job on the cottages and land that they are set in. They live in a house on the land and are always around if there should ever be a problem. This cottage is so well equipt,washer,dish washer, wood burner,hair dryer I think they have thought of everything to make your holiday the best. There is great butchers nearby also a bakers and a Spa shop,if you should need them . There are some very good pubs for meals and most are dog friendly. I can't recommend this cottage enough.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupleapi...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Drake cottage is truly a home away from home, currently sat in the living room of the beautiful cottage and appreciating the beautiful decor, high spec kitchen and amazing bedrooms and bathroom! Close to Whitby 10 min drive and some amazing costal walks with our black Labrador Benson. The owners Robert and Julie have created some beautiful cottages in a lovely location, we would recommend this cottage to friends and family and will hopefully be back for another stay soon.

Thanks
Romy and Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal0
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our third trip to Drakes and still as wonderful. We had another fantastic weekend hosted by the lovely Rob who was as accomodating as always. We were sorry to have missed Julie this time who was poorly (we hope you're feeling better).
As always, Drakes was up to scratch and the usual 5 star accomodation. We did the obligatory trips out early into Whitby and local areas but we would look forward to getting back to put our feet up with a glass of wine and chilling in the lovely cottage in front of the fire.
Good tip for anyone does online shopping, we ordered logs from Asda to be delivered along with our other essentials; made it all a little easier than having to nip out for any during the stay.
We were thrilled to see that Rob has installed a doggie bath/shower next to the cottage; very nice touch for us dog owners. Hot water shower and even a little ramp attached to help the four legged friends to get up and down. Came in extremely handy after a trip with Millie & Dolly to Sandsend and a morning run along the beach! Rob also supplied us with extra doggie. Nothing's too much trouble for their guest and makes staying at Drakes that little more special.
Can't wait to rebook; we love it there and look forward to our weekends away at Drakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing