We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alimounda Mare
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Electra Beach Hotel(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramare Bay(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Astron Princess Hotel(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Romantica Apartments(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Seven Stars(Karpathos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanis Hotel(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sunrise(Karpathos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Konstantinos Palace(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aparthotel Diakonis(Karpathos Town (Pigadia))
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
659
237
63
21
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
237
63
21
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgreat hotelsea viewstar hotelprivate beachhalf boardcomfortable sunbedsmini marketbest hotel on the islandthird visita great vacationbreakfast and dinnersnack barspecial thanksbars and restaurantsbeachfront hoteltv in the mirror
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent a family vacation August 2014, and took three rooms. The staff was very hospitable and efficient and the rooms were clean, well-maintained and spacious. The spa was suprisingly good, much better than we expected. The food at the snack-bar was also good and with good service. We chose not to get too fussy about the partial sea-view, because we spent most or our time outside the hotel anyway (sailing, hiking an so on). We were offered the option of adding 90E per person for upgrading to full sea-view and eventually prefered to invest this money in activities. All in all we had great time. Not sure we're coming back to the island because it's rather small and a bit under-developed (part of it's charm..), but for a one-time visit it was fine.

Room Tip: Try to bargain a full sea-view room, although the partial view is more than OK
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noamsharon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Although the hotel and its stuff are excellent I cant get over the fact that the hotel is intentionally cheating its clients by calling all the rooms "sea side". Dont be suprised when you will see supporting wall of a bar and a swimming pool from your window.

You will be ensured later by the stuff with an american smile that hotel calls these rooms sea side rooms and that if you bend over the railing of your balcony you will see a stripe of sea.

Also as seen in other reviews, internet connection is from 1980s ...

I have seen at least 3 other guests complaining about the "sea side" when passing the lobby, this calls for an intervention from some Greek bussines control authority....

A bit acoustic issues of the building... can hear the lift several rooms away...

Otherwise happy

Room Tip: Definetely not sea side room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mak0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBN847, Sales Executive at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Mak0v,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

We are sorry to hear that we couldn’t meet your expectations regarding the room.
Please let us clarify that hotel has rooms with side sea view, sea view and with frontal sea view, as per our website and descriptions.

Upon availability room changes are offered when contacting the reception. Upgrades for a higher room category are with charge.

Regarding the WiFi, this is available in the lobby area and is free of charge.

Once again than you for your comments and wishing you a nice summer still.

Yours Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This should be listed as a 4-star hotel, not 5-star. With that in mind, the property was well-maintained and conveniently located near the port town of Karpathos (7-10 minute walk). We upgraded to a sea view room, and the view was worth the extra cash. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and kept very clean during our 3-night stay. Service throughout the hotel was friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend the spa -- I enjoyed a WONDERFUL 30-minute neck and shoulder massage. The pool area is very nice, although it can be hard to find a bed as guests do use their towels to reserve spots, even though it's not allowed.

Breakfast is redundant one day to the next, although there are plenty of options. We also had lunch one day at the a la carte restaurant, which we found to be reasonably priced. Poolside drinks are also reasonably priced, which was a nice surprise for a hotel pool bar.

I highly recommend the Alimounda Mare, but go there with expectations for a 4-star hotel, not 5-star.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a great view of the courtyard, infinity pool, and the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RachIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Who is looking for five star hotel with equivalent service will be disappointed.
Negatives:
-Room-no pen or pencil, paper information leaflets about hotel, telephone directory
-Paying an extra for sea view, we got only partial one if we lean out of the balcony
-The service in the main restaurant-we got ignored by some staff, waiting for being seated, hunting for baby chair. Maybe of the lack of staff the service was very rush, waiters did not manage to clean and set up tables, especially during breakfast there was lack of tableware.
The hotel is oriented on Italian clientele someone can get a feeling that they are preferred.
-The beach and pool have comfortable beds but there is a lack of them. During our stay in June we had to usually wake up at 7 a.m. to go and reserve them with towels even though it was not allowed. After 9 you hardly can get some especially you have a kid and you want to be close to pool or beach.
-The sea shore is full of stones; only two narrow corridors are cleaned and marked for entry .It is very uncomfortable especially if you have kids. The right hand side of the beach which is public is cleaned of stones. It is not understandable why the hotel does not make an effort to clean it.
-Italian travel agencies were organizing farewell party for their clients at tavern next to the hotel till late night, it was impossible to stay in the room.
Positives:
-price, now we know why...Less money less quality
-The service of the waiter Gabriel from Romania and beach boy Thomas from Slovak rep.

We can recommend Palazzo del Mare Hotel in Kos Island from Blue Lagoon Group which we visited twice in the past and we were very sorry we have chosen this one this year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBN847, Sales Executive at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Koc P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We apologize that we were not able fulfill your expectations regarding your holiday.

We are sorry to hear that there were equipment missing from your room. Sometimes in the rush, if there is something missing, this is not noticed immediately by housekeeping. However, our reception is happy to provide them when informed accordingly.

Regarding the rooms, our front office offers room changes upon availability, when reception is informed accordingly.

Please be assured that our personnel is dedicated to give the best service to our guests. We apologize, if you felt that you were not given good service at any times.

We want to thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff and hope to be able to welcoming you back in one of our hotels again.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we came for a long weekend. the hotel is new and it looks great. the beach is charming and very well maintaind. the pool is simply amazing, food is great. just a wonderfull place to be in and rest. we will defenitly come again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank אלון פ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews