We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My looking forward restaurant”

The Life of Angels Restaurant
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Outdoor above the sea in the heart of Pigadia Bay. We feature traditional Karpathian cuisine, artisan bread, and fresh, organic ingredients from local farmers and from organic farms in Crete. Everything is baked or cooked daily by Mama Zoe. Come in the afternoon to learn how to stuff grape leaves or zucchini flowers. We believe in conservation. Water is a scarce resource on our island and we try to keep trash to a minimum. Therefore we do not use tablecloths or paper/plastic table covers and we use all food leftovers to feed local animals - from pigs, goats and dogs. Our great feature is our food and view. We do not sell luxury. Enjoy our restaurant.
De Meern, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My looking forward restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

During ou stays at Karpathos we will have a lot of times diner in the restaurant "The Life of Angels; Pigadia). The traditional Karpathian foood is very good and the atmosphere excellent. Please continue in the way.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    33
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grape's”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

When you walk in, you can already see the grape's abouve your head you will get for desert.
When you come in the morning the owner is already preparing dinner, so everything you eat is fresh. Always time for a talk,a drink and a laugh. A place you will go back to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank issemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent service and tasty greek food. They offer a variety of courses. Sea-view.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hwa058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karpathos Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“KARPATHOS SUGGESTION”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great food and unparalleled view of Karpathos harbour!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Karpathian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“:(”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

in MY experience, although it has a nice name, nice colours, a wonderful terrace roof with panoramic view of sea, I didn't enjoy a nice time mainly because of the waiters (which I suppose are the owners). They didn't know what to suggest, weren't willing to explain the composition of certain uncommon dishes, seemed always busy so to pay attention if I was having a nice time or not... and the bill was huge, comparing to what they offered. Although Karpathos people are not as friendly as Dodecanese or Cyclades people, these people at the restaurant were ruder than the average!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Life of Angels Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
in MY experience, although it has a nice name, nice colours, a wonderful terrace roof with panoramic view of sea, I didn't enjoy a nice time mainly because of the waiters (which I suppose are the owners). They didn't know what to suggest, weren't willing to explain the composition of certain uncommon dishes, seemed always busy so to pay attention if I was having a nice time or not... and the bill was huge, comparing to what they offered. Although Karpathos people are not as friendly as Dodecanese or Cyclades people, these people at the restaurant were ruder than the average!

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us besides the view from our balcony and sea-view table section. Our waitress is trained in Food & Beverage Management and Customer Service and the helpers are just to facilitate the two main waitresses and they don't know what comprises each dish. Though we do get crazy busy during the evening we do try to take the time to check on each and every customer that we serve. We are open to any positive suggestions you can make service wise. We are renown for are large portions and for using organic vegetables, fresh meat, fresh seafood, and whatever is available to us from the island. VAT is 16% plus Municipality tax. We may be on the higher end of most restaurant prices but you are eating quality fresh food not frozen and from days before. We also have menus at the front of the store before people enter to examine the price list before entering if it is not within their means. Thank you for your review. We will endeavor to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Life of Angels Restaurant also viewed

Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
 
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
 
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Karpathos
 

Been to The Life of Angels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing