We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet complex on beautiful spot.”
Review of Sound of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sound of the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here in September 2011. We had a one room studio on the ground floor. Our studio was spacious with twin beds, bathroom en-suite, kitchinette and balcony.
The beds were fairly hard but the owners can supply a foam top matrass if required.
The furniture was fairly basic. We would have liked more storage space.
The bathroom was OK with a good shower (sometimes limited hot water in the morning).
As in most Greek accomodations, the WC paper has to be put in a bin. Pity!!!
The walking distance to the town centre/harbour is about 20 mins walk up and down a hill.
The nearest beach is about 30 mins away. We would recommend hiring your own transport to get around.

Room Tip: The view from some ground-floor studios is restricted. Some accommodations are wheelchair accessibl...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Sound of the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Loud music bý the pool and reception area all day long. Requests to lower the music were ignored. Instead of "Sound of the sea" this hotel should be named "Sound of music". A pity, the rooms were large, some with a nice sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smilla02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I anticipate this is not a review on the accomodation itself but on the unprofessional attitude of the staff of the "Sound of the Sea" hotel in Karpathos.
In summer you can't wait for an answer regarding your reservation request too long, otherwise you miss other opportunities to find an accomodation.
Well, I wrote on the message board of the "sound of the sea" asking for infos about rooms and rates, waited more than one day, than sent an e-mail because I thought they might not have seen my first message.
After several days I am still waiting for an answer which, very likely, I will never get. In the meantime I reserved another accomodation, of course.
I point out that all the other hotels big ones and family run, even the more "crowded" and and even when fully booked, answered to my e-mails in a reasonable time;.
I think that, even in case there were no rooms available, not answering to attempt of contacts from customers is very unprofessional, particularly from a so appearantly “organized” and not family run hotel.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Valefroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Sound of the Sea is a really unique place to stay. It's run by a Greek family who couldn't be friendlier. They put their heart and soul into running the place and it really shows. You are made to feel so welcome from the moment you arrive, and it's lovely to be in a place that the owners love and care about so much.

The location is fantastic. Near to Pigadia but still quiet and with unique views. The views from the balconies are stunning. Pigadia is within easy reach of so many wonderful places to see. We hired a moped and had the time of our lives. Karpathos is like paradise.

The rooms are quite basic but spotlessly clean and with comfortable beds, and the views are magnificent.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly for its wonderful atmosphere, cleanliness, and gorgeous views/ location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Helen, Roula and Michali are the best hosts I have ever met. You are made to feel like one of their family as soon as you arrive. The resort is new, with large cool rooms and great amenities. Views of the harbour are to die for, and easy access to the main town (Pigadia/Karpathos) by foot, or by rental car. We had a week there and celebrated our Goddaughter's 1st birthday with rotisseried chicken from the BBQ and a home-made birthday cake - thanks to Helen and her parents.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonQuadrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed there for 2 weeks,we are from england.It was the first time we visited this quaint little island south of rhodes, where we have been on many occasions. The studios all had a great view,and are very spacious and spotless. We had a kitchenette in our room,so we didn't need to eat out all the time, even though eating at Roula's was quite affordable, seeing she used to own restaurants in canada,she knows very well how to keep customers happy. The hotel is a family run business,and is very efficient in all aspects. It is located in an isolated area, but only 5 minute walk to downtown pigadia. My opinion is stay away from downtown pigadia, alot of noise, that's why this hotel has excellent location, very quiet. The hotel is about 5 years old with a beautiful swimming pool and a children's pool also. We stayed there with our 2 kids, and it was also very kid-friendly. We definetely plan to return, but this hotel presently has so much demand that we're going to book in advance. DO NOT TAKE A CHANCE SHOWING UP WITHOUT A RESERVATION. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank clarke431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2007

The best trip I've ever done in my life. The family was so nice and really enthusiast. Mrs. Roula Avgenikos is one of a kind. Whatever you ask her she'll do it with love. They are so determinated to make your stay a real paradise, Roula even makes fresh food for your supper. Hamburger, chicken, french fries, chicken burger, even greek food, you name it she'll do it with a smile.

I was really proud to meet such nice persons. The four members of the Avgenikos family where amazing. Roula, was my favorite, but Michael is a really good man too. Him and Helen are really hardworkers to make our trip an unbelievable experience. And Kevin (their grandson), he was really charming, having fun with the kids during our stay, making them laugh and participating in activities during our stay.

The island itself was beautiful, a paradisiac island with all kind of activities. The food is good and the people living the are really kind.

Karpathos is an island I suggest to everyone. For a honeymoon or for a two week stay in family.

I've seen a lot of hotels on this island but none of them looked as good as Sound of the Sea. and really the view we had at the hotel was amazing.

It was an amazing trip

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank KPAKPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
0.8 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
974 reviews
6.6 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Arkassa
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#7 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astron Princess Hotel
Astron Princess Hotel
#6 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound of the Sea

Address: Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 85700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Price Range: £89 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sound of the Sea is a 4 star complex on Karpathos offering all sea view studios, suites and maisonettes. We have something for everyone; tennis, fitness room, playground, spa and massage, 2 pools one for adults and a one for children nad a lending library. You may swim at the cozy stony beach of Agios Petros only 350 meters away or even walk to the sandy beach only a 15 minute walk away. It is 100 meters from town and 650 meters from the centre where the taxi, bus and supermarkets are located. All apartments have frontal sea view and balcony, fully equipped kitchenettes, air condition, hair dryer and safe in room. The area is a wonderful balance between ocean and green-forested mountains. You will be able to listen to the waves crashing on shore while even lying in bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sound Of The Sea Hotel Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Sound Of The Sea Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing