We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very clean place”
Review of Amarylis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarylis Hotel
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We staid there for three weeks and can not com plane for anything. It was very clean and the hole family, which are the owners were very polite and even john offered us to take us to olimpos for a day trip for free. Thank you john.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELIAS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 days, Yianni and the family were very helpful. The rooms were large and everything you could want was provided. Yianni picked us up at the port and his brother dropped us back when we left. It was well situated for the tavernas, may need to consider that it is at the top of a steep hill. There is a lift in the hotel which helps when you have a few suitcases.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddymCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We just returned from Karpathos and stayed at this lovely family-run hotel for 8 days. Initially we had just wanted to stay for 1 or 2 nights and then travel on to a different island. But after having been there for 1 night we changed our plans and stayed on. The atmosphere there is great and so are the hosts – very hospitable, generous (we got spoiled with home-made cakes) and always ready to assist, no matter what. The rooms are very nice too, all furnished with a balcony and a beautiful view and it takes you only 2 to 5 minutes to get to the harbour or "downtown" Karpathos. If you go to Karpathos, don't miss out on the Amarylis Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have stayed here several times now usually on my way to and from Diafani. Again lovely stay and looked after by John and Margarita. Rooms big and spacious, everything provided for. Excellent Wifi in all rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Only stayed here for one night, but it was great and could have stayed longer. Very reasonable priced, I arrived by boat and Yanni was there to pick me up and take me to port next day. Yanni was so helpful and a mind of information. Very central for everything in the town, hill is a bit steep so maybe not for anbody with disabilities, but inside hotel there is a lift. Would definitely book again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

I spent a lovely week at the Amarylis in August 2006. This isn't a fancy hotel by any means, as Karpathos isn't a resort hotspot. However, it was clean and quiet and run by very friendly people who made our stay a very pleasant one.

We had a large double room with two twin beds which were comfortable despite being on the small side. There was a small kitchenette, a TV with local stations and a couple of international ones, a sitting area, bathroom with a stand-up shower and air conditioning which could be controlled from inside the room. The balcony had a partial view of the rest of the town and the sea beyond and a small sitting area as well. It was very quiet and definitely a relaxing place to stay.

While the space in the room could possibly have been better utilized for more closet space and a larger bathroom, as a whole the place was wonderful. When the AC started leaking one night, the problem was resolved quickly, though often the AC was not needed at all with the island's strong breeze. Downstairs, the small but modest lobby was decorated just like a local living room, and also featured a small snack bar area for a drink or a sandwich. There were no meals per se, but the room was inexpensive and right in the midst of Pigadia, literally a two minute walk from many restaurants and cafes as well as the taxi stand.

The family that owns the hotel was always present and was especially helpful, arranging for a cab anytime we needed to get anyplace and occasionally leaving some fresh fruit for us in the room as well.

The main drawback, if you could call it one, is that the hotel is 3/4 of the way up a steep hill, so it is a bit of a trek to walk to it, especially in the hot summer sun (but it's great exercise!).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Panagiotis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
0.6 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#9 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#7 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#13 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarylis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarylis Hotel

Address: Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 85700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Price Range: £19 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amarylis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarylis Hotel is located in the center of Pigadia, the capital of the beautiful island of Karpathos. Perfect place for relaxation, quietness and strolls in the numerous seashore routes of Karpathos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Amarylis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarylis Hotel Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing