We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suitable for a night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Robinson Hotel

Robinson Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robinson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Kataragama B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suitable for a night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for a night and the rooms were very basic. But there were Air conditioners which was a plus point. The food was also very basic but for a night we could manage. However the staff was very freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

First impressions were not really good. When entering the hotel, you feel like you are entering a 'house converted to a hotel' but we still felt optimistic. The front lobby was clean and had comfortable chairs to relax on. Our room was on the top floor and dear me what a sight! The walls along the entire length of the corridors were stained as if someone had spilled strong coffee all over. Even the walls along the staircase was stained and it really looked disgusting for a hotel.
However, the room was a surprise as it was very clean and spacious and also had a TV with local channels. However, the pillows were rock hard and not something I have ever experienced in any hotel. Apart from soap and towel no other basic amenities are provided. The bathroom was horrible. All the metal taps were rusted and it didn't look clean at all. The food prepared on the other hand was excellent. It was all Sri Lankan and was delicious. We were grateful we only went there for just 1 night. It is certainly not a value for money hotel and if you are staying for more than one night, I would suggest you spend a few bucks extra and go to Mandara Rosen which is a heavenly paradise. I've been there 4 times and I was always pleased. If you are on a more strict budget, I've heard from many travelers that Tourist board, Kataragama has been renovated as is now really good so that could be an option. Robinson Hotel is not recommended and will not go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kataragama hotels

Colombo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Robinson is a great place to stay if you are visiting the holy city of Kataragama. I went with my Wife and my 8 month old baby, the place had clean rooms, clean bathrooms and good food. The service was very good and they even got us "Bed Tea" ( at 7 am they bring tea to your room) which is quite rare these days.

Beds were comfortable and you can get either rooms with AC or non AC depending on your budget

There was ample parking .

will go again when I am visiting Kataragama

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

being to tissa/yala since 2006 -imo tissa is now a tourist trap with unjustifiable prices
a local friend got me to this place --nice location and atmosphere
rooms very modern with both standard and foreign plugs - a plus for photo people off for gala
also included walled lcd screen and great shower head ! food also very good
both sri lankan and western at an acceptable price and safari- saw 2 leopard -nuff said
bar the accommodating staff and best french fries in SL-all for 50 use

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kataragama hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senora
Hotel Senora
#3 of 38 in Kataragama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sunflower
Hotel Sunflower
#16 of 38 in Kataragama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samwill Holiday Resort
Samwill Holiday Resort
#7 of 38 in Kataragama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lavendish Okrin Hotel
Lavendish Okrin Hotel
#2 of 38 in Kataragama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camp Leopard - Yala Safari Glamping
0.0 mi away
Wellassa Resort
Wellassa Resort
#12 of 38 in Kataragama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson Hotel

Property: Robinson Hotel
Address: Tissamaharama Road, Kataragama 91400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Kataragama
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Robinson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Hotel Sri Lanka/Kataragama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing