We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Preis/Leistungsverhältnis !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Koggala Village
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Preis/Leistungsverhältnis !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Very nice hotel at a wonderful beach, simple but clean, and the staff was highly motivated and eager to do everything to make your stay as good as possible.
In the restaurant I could always enjoy the spicy meals, the restaurant manager, Mr. Hewawasam did everything for the guests convenience.

Room Tip: Ich hatte ein Zimmer mit Poolblick, die sind nicht so toll, aber nur zum Schlafen ok. Wer Wert drauf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helga123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    43
    23
    22
See reviews for
50
83
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling around the island. The pool is great but almost everything else is not that nice. Food is terrible and the service is slow. We had four rooms and two of them had some strange smell in them.

Would not recommend this place and will certainly never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigrún
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koggala hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and my family stayed here for one night during Christmas 2012. Before I start on the negative, let me mention the one and only good thing about this hotel: the ocean views and pool were good. Anyway, there were numerous things wrong with this hotel:

1. No rooms were ready for us upon arrival

2. The two rooms (out of 4 booked) that they did get ready a while after, both had a disgusting smell of urine and mold.

3. The rooms lacked everything from soap to sheets

4. The staff did not speak sufficient English to be able to understand our needs - or complaints

5. We asked in the afternoon, if the restaurant had an a-la-carte menu, since we'd eaten the buffet upon our arrival. We were told "yes", and shown the menu. When we arrived for dinner, they refused to serve items off the menu we'd seen, and directed us to the buffet.

6. We walked over to the extended part of the hotel - the Koggala Beach, and tried to order there. We waited for 1 hour and 45 minutes, with 3 (out of 8) people being served the wrong thing - the other 5, didn't receive their orders at all. We left, and ended up having to eat the buffet at the original restaurant at Club Koggala Village.

7. The restaurant gave several people in our group food poisoning.


... I could easily stretch this list up to about 15-20 points, but quite frankly, I'm starting to get upset about how bad this stay was. This so-called "hotel" needs to be shut down immediately.

Don't stay here - I beg you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teotef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

After almost daily checking of trip advisor left us worrying about our stay at Koggala village -our advice would be don’t let the other reviews put you off, we stayed at the Koggala village for a week before moving onto another hotel in Sri Lanka and while we personally prefer Goa, thought the hotel and resort was not as bad as the reviews made out.

Managed to get a cheap deal All Inclusive deal and felt that we got our monies worth.The bar had a half decent mix of spirits available including an okay Bacardi (although we could have done with a selection of spicy olives on the bar) and the curries served at dinner, what they lacked for in appearance made up for in spice! Having had upset tummy’s while on holiday in Kenya, now religiously carry antibiotics with us everywhere and didn’t have to use them once!

Don’t get us wrong the place could do with a Dyson hover and a better Juke box collection at the bar, but we've been to a lot worse!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlocallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here for the Test cricket in March/April 2012.
The hotel (sort of two hotels in one) has one of the best beachfronts you could wish to experience, even through swimming wasn't for the faint-hearted as the undertow was fierce and the waves big.
We had to be realistic about what to expect accommodation wise as the price was pegged to keep the overall trip realistic. However, it was a bit basic to say the least.
The first room we were shown to was like a prison cell. However, a small electric shock and a scalding from a faulty shower later, we had a much nicer room.
Staff were all very nice. They had very little English (and why would they?) but this made ordering a bit of a nightmare. When you consistently ask for 'red wine' and get 'white wine', even after pointing to a picture, you can't help but feel a little training might be in order.
The fact we were not full board but wanted to eat in the restaurant at night seemed to confuse them every night. There was a long wait to sign all the endless paperwork and we were even ordered back to our seat one night when we tried to leave, which was a bit off.
Food was okay/disappointing but there was at least plenty of rotation.
There were two nice-sized pools and plenty of sunloungers for all. The place was clean, too, which is something to be said for it.

Room Tip: I think we were around 510 - beachfront cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jothegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of April. Our friends were staying and getting married at the fortress next door.
Our room 712 was clean and comfortable and overlooked the pool and we also had a sea view.
The main issue we had with the room was ants, they were everywhere. We left half a glass of pepsi overnight and there must have been a hundred ants in the glass by the next day.
There was also ants at the fortress but not as many and we did see pest control over there. We saw 2 cockroaches in our room and our friends had 1 cockroach in there 5* room.
I think this is quite normal for such a hot and humid country.
My main issue with the hotel was the food. Breakfast finished at 09:30 which was a bit early for holiday especially as we hadn't arrived until late the previous night but tea and coffee was available.
Lunch is served from 12:30 at the adjoining hotel Koggala beach, I have to say that lunch was generally nicer and better quality than dinner and it was cooked and served straight away.
Dinner started at 19:30 and the food had been cooked earlier in the day and then chilled so at 19:30 it was put out cold with an oil burner underneath.
So essentially everything was cold, rice, curries, stews, roast potatoes it was all cold and i think unless the hygiene is strictly controlled it can cause issues. I got really sick within 2 days but my partner was fine. I did have salads but there was water in the bottom of the containers and I have to question whether tap water was used.

I think we were spoilt by spending time at the fortress where the level of service and quality was far superior.
The beach is beautiful but the sea has very strong current and swimming is prohibited, there is a sheltered bay just past the fortress where people swim first thing in the morning.
There isn't much around the hotels and tuk tuk is essential to get around. There is a little alley way in-between the fortress & club koggala where Sienna & Indiga hang out these 2 guys took us anywhere we wanted to go. They even arranged a trip to Yala for us at a fraction of what the fortress wanted to get us all there. When i got sick they took me to their home to try and help. These guys were amazing! There houses were washed away by the tsunami and got rebuilt by international aide and have a little plaque on there home.
When you see pictures of the hotel, just think that the wave came over the top of it and caused wide spread devastation, even after all these years some of the destruction is still visible as you drive around the island.
If you need a tuk tuk try and find Sienna or Indiga they are nice guys that you can trust. They are normally in the alley way or on the beach as they are fishermen as well.

Sri lanka is a beautiful place and we look forward to going back to see all the things we didn't have time to see. We would probably stay at Long beach rather than Club Koggala

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights end of March 2012. We came to watch the Cricket and were part of a larger group. We were shown to our rooms on arrival which we found to be FILTHY! I complained and asked to be moved however there was a queue of people already changing rooms and we were stuck with this one.
We sprayed the bed with insect repellent however the next morning we were both covered in bites.
We were only on B & B as we were at the cricket match each day however even the breakfasts were pretty poor. Like other reviewers we thought Ok, we're in Asia maybe this is the standard to expect. But our second week we stayed in Colombo at the Global Towers and there was no comparison.
There are two hotels either side of Koggala, Long Beach and The Fortress which are fantastic. I would recommend the resort as it has the best beaches and beautiful warm sea. The locals are extremely friendly and one of the Tuk Tuk drivers took us to a herbalist to get some aloe vera for our bites.
My advice would be go to Koggala but stay away form the Koggala Village Hotel and the Koggala Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EwanMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
5.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.6 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Koggala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Koggala Village

Property: Club Koggala Village
Address: Habaraduwa, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Koggala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Koggala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Koggala Village Hotel Koggala
Club Koggala Village Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing