We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Koggala Village
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Weston-super-Mare
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent 3 weeks at Koggala Village Hotel on a bargain trip with Mercury Direct, which gave me 2 weeks on All-Inclusive plus a 3rd week free on room only, and I didn't have to pay a single supplement, so it was an excellent value holiday. This is a 3 star hotel so I didn't expect much luxury, and although the rooms and facilities were quite plain, I found it very comfortable, with excellent staff and a delicious buffet at every meal. I had a bungalow room which faced directly onto the sea, so the view of huge crashing waves was spectacular! Unfortunately it was still the wet season so everything felt damp and occasionally rainwater flowed into my room under the door, but this was no problem as my friendly helpful room-boy was always on hand to mop it up. The restaurant upstairs was lovely with views in all directions, and a terrace where you could take your meal if you liked (weather permitting, which it often didn't!). The buffet was very generous with many different foods available - some European items such as pizza and pasta, but also a great range of Sri Lankan dishes to enjoy, including plenty of choices for vegetarians. The only problem was that it was very difficult to get drinks served in the restaurant as there was usually just one waiter serving the drinks, and he had to go downstairs to the bar to fetch each order. I found the best way was to order a drink at the bar beforehand, and carry it upstairs to the restaurant. I mentioned this problem to the staff, and was told they were about to install a fridge upstairs so drinks would be available. This will definitely improve mealtimes, if it actually happens.

There was entertainment in the restaurant every night from a 3-piece band who moved around the tables playing and singing to guests. They were very professional and played a great choice of music, both Sri Lankan songs, and also German, Russian and British music to suit guests' tastes. Apart from the band, the only other entertainment during my 3 week stay was one cultural evening, with traditional costumed dancers and a drummer, which was spectacular and very entertaining. I think entertainment of this kind should be provided at least once a week.

My room backed onto the very large swimming-pool, and there was a choice of sunbathing by the pool, or on the grassed area along the seafront, a few feet above the gorgeous sandy beach. There were plenty of sunbeds available for everyone, and I really appreciated the lovely big pool, as at this time of year the sea was too rough to swim comfortably. Altogether I found all the facilities at the hotel excellent, and ideal for a perfect holiday. It's easy to get about the area as tuktuks are always available outside the hotel, and buses go past every 5 minutes, so transport is convenient and very cheap. The town of Habaraduwa is 1km away, with local shops where you can get everything you need. There's a cheap internet cafe there too if you don't have your own smartphone, laptop etc., as using the hotel's computer is far too expensive, although wi-fi is free. Also at Habaraduwa is a money-changer who offers a better rate than banks, and FAR better than the hotel's very low rate.

There are plenty of interesting places to visit nearby, such as Martin Wickramasinghe Museum of Sri Lankan culture, just a short walk from the hotel. I also enjoyed Kathaluwa Buddhist Temple, and the Turtle Hatchery on the beach at Habaraduwa. Koggala Lake is a huge and beautiful sight, but shop around for a boat trip as the main providers charge far too much. Also in the area is the very interesting Handunugoda Tea Estate, where you can have a totally free tour of tea gardens and factory, and a tea-tasting session, plus taking tea and cake on the terrace of a beautiful bungalow. Just ask a tuktuk driver to take you to any of these places, but be sure to fix the price of the ride first! My favourite trip was the ultimate, to see real live blue whales and dolphins, not far away at Mirissa. This is definitely not to be missed!

Room Tip: A bungalow room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    64
    45
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
85
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited our group of families today ......this place is a lovely simple and well maintained place. Staff is very good and friendly. There's many kind of foods to choose for anyone's choices at restaurant.we all have fun and relax....... Thanks for everyone of the staff...... Specialy we are thanking for Mr. siriwardana for the everything he has done on this event...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Very nice hotel at a wonderful beach, simple but clean, and the staff was highly motivated and eager to do everything to make your stay as good as possible.
In the restaurant I could always enjoy the spicy meals, the restaurant manager, Mr. Hewawasam did everything for the guests convenience.

Room Tip: Ich hatte ein Zimmer mit Poolblick, die sind nicht so toll, aber nur zum Schlafen ok. Wer Wert drauf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helga123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling around the island. The pool is great but almost everything else is not that nice. Food is terrible and the service is slow. We had four rooms and two of them had some strange smell in them.

Would not recommend this place and will certainly never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigrún
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koggala hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and my family stayed here for one night during Christmas 2012. Before I start on the negative, let me mention the one and only good thing about this hotel: the ocean views and pool were good. Anyway, there were numerous things wrong with this hotel:

1. No rooms were ready for us upon arrival

2. The two rooms (out of 4 booked) that they did get ready a while after, both had a disgusting smell of urine and mold.

3. The rooms lacked everything from soap to sheets

4. The staff did not speak sufficient English to be able to understand our needs - or complaints

5. We asked in the afternoon, if the restaurant had an a-la-carte menu, since we'd eaten the buffet upon our arrival. We were told "yes", and shown the menu. When we arrived for dinner, they refused to serve items off the menu we'd seen, and directed us to the buffet.

6. We walked over to the extended part of the hotel - the Koggala Beach, and tried to order there. We waited for 1 hour and 45 minutes, with 3 (out of 8) people being served the wrong thing - the other 5, didn't receive their orders at all. We left, and ended up having to eat the buffet at the original restaurant at Club Koggala Village.

7. The restaurant gave several people in our group food poisoning.


... I could easily stretch this list up to about 15-20 points, but quite frankly, I'm starting to get upset about how bad this stay was. This so-called "hotel" needs to be shut down immediately.

Don't stay here - I beg you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teotef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

After almost daily checking of trip advisor left us worrying about our stay at Koggala village -our advice would be don’t let the other reviews put you off, we stayed at the Koggala village for a week before moving onto another hotel in Sri Lanka and while we personally prefer Goa, thought the hotel and resort was not as bad as the reviews made out.

Managed to get a cheap deal All Inclusive deal and felt that we got our monies worth.The bar had a half decent mix of spirits available including an okay Bacardi (although we could have done with a selection of spicy olives on the bar) and the curries served at dinner, what they lacked for in appearance made up for in spice! Having had upset tummy’s while on holiday in Kenya, now religiously carry antibiotics with us everywhere and didn’t have to use them once!

Don’t get us wrong the place could do with a Dyson hover and a better Juke box collection at the bar, but we've been to a lot worse!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlocallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here for the Test cricket in March/April 2012.
The hotel (sort of two hotels in one) has one of the best beachfronts you could wish to experience, even through swimming wasn't for the faint-hearted as the undertow was fierce and the waves big.
We had to be realistic about what to expect accommodation wise as the price was pegged to keep the overall trip realistic. However, it was a bit basic to say the least.
The first room we were shown to was like a prison cell. However, a small electric shock and a scalding from a faulty shower later, we had a much nicer room.
Staff were all very nice. They had very little English (and why would they?) but this made ordering a bit of a nightmare. When you consistently ask for 'red wine' and get 'white wine', even after pointing to a picture, you can't help but feel a little training might be in order.
The fact we were not full board but wanted to eat in the restaurant at night seemed to confuse them every night. There was a long wait to sign all the endless paperwork and we were even ordered back to our seat one night when we tried to leave, which was a bit off.
Food was okay/disappointing but there was at least plenty of rotation.
There were two nice-sized pools and plenty of sunloungers for all. The place was clean, too, which is something to be said for it.

Room Tip: I think we were around 510 - beachfront cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jothegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
18.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
694 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Koggala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Koggala Village

Property: Club Koggala Village
Address: Habaraduwa, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Koggala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Koggala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Koggala Village Hotel Koggala
Club Koggala Village Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing