We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff team, great vibe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tisara Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tisara Villas
Ranked #4 of 8 Koggala B&B and Inns
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff team, great vibe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great food, great staff team, great vibe.

We were lucky enough to be staying at Tisara the week that the owner flew in some celebrity chef called Herman to train the three resident chefs and improve the menu. So we were guinea pigs for some delicious new additions including fresh rock oysters, kingfish with pumpkin mash, green mango and papaya salads and suchi and sashimi yum yum! The resident chefs haven't quite got Herman's flare (I think partly because they were too preoccupied with the Lanka-England test match to inject passion into their cuisine) but they don't do a bad job either. Apparently they are adding a clay oven pizza soon too so if you stay here for too long you’ll be packing on the pounds. We had had a frustrating time of it up in the hill country with standards of service repeatedly disappointing. By contrast the staff at Tisara – from the four dedicated gardeners, the boys who clean your villa and make your beds every day, the guy with a big moustache who gives great massages through to Neil the manager and Anura the owner … were outstanding in terms of cheer and bending over backwards to make our stay relaxed. Our kids loved the place as its so secure they could just roam free in the garden and frolic in the pool all day. We’ll be coming back, and for longer than a week next time as I was just starting to feel like a reformed movie star when we had to hit the highway and head back to our rat race existences.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Rest and Recuperation were the name of the game when we stayed at Tisara Villas after an exhausting island tour in mid march. This place is like a secret garden of eden, only a few hundred metres from Koggala Lake on one side and a giant stretch of empty tropical beachfront on the other. The villas are super-spacious - almost Spanish Hacienda style - with incredibly comfortable oversized four poster beds, giant half open air bathrooms (watch our for monkeys watching you from the trees!) and their own private gardens. I don’t think I’ve ever luxuriated in such a beautiful swimming pool before. Its such a gorgeous colour and so well maintained. One of the online reviews says its great for swimming lengths but I personally never had the energy. Its got this amazing giant tree next to it that provides a mesmerising green canopy shade. We were worried that mosquitos were going to be a problem being set back from the seafront but actually they really weren’t as the manager had started having the whole place sprayed regularly before we arrived. Really recommend this place. I felt so rested. Loads of great beach bars, boutique hotels and the Galle Fort (really romantic and historic) are all within short tuk tuk rides and you can ask the staff to do you candlelit dinners by the pool. Bring your own booze from Duty Free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in one of the two-bedroom villas for three nights while exploring the south coast. There were a number of positives: good price; great size; good location for day trips; great rice and curry dinner (for, I think, 1,100 rupees); good breakfast; comfy (firm) beds; daily cleaning service; very friendly staff; and good a/c in the bedrooms.

However, there were also a lot of negatives. Equipment was lacking in the kitchen e.g. four pan lids but no pans, only one spoon, no kettle, no cupboards or boxes to secure food away from insects. Cutlery and crockery had been put back without being washed up, and there was no drying rack or drying-up towels, so we couldn’t wash up ourselves. There were large holes in the mossie nets over one of the beds. There was no info in the rooms about the area, or even about the accommodation e.g. a map of the grounds, a food menu, details of spa treatments, an emergency number for overnight issues (as there's no overnight manager that we could see). There was a power cut for two hours one night, and there’s no back-up generator (which are very common in SL). There are glassless air vents and windows everywhere except in the bedrooms, so there's no way of keeping out mossies.

Overall, I think that the villa we were staying in hadn’t been well looked-after – we may just have been unlucky, as each villa is privately owned and only rented out when the owners are away, so our villa’s owners may have taken less care of it than other owners. We left a note explaining all the problems for the manager, but haven’t had any response.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We spend two weeks in Tisara Villas and had a very pleasant stay. The garden is beautiful with fantastic fauna and there a lots of animals - having a drink in your private garden only gets better by watching colorful birds and a couple of mongoose playing in front of you. All the staff is very kind and polite and really want to make you feel welcome.

Both breakfast and dinner was well prepared and you could chose between having it served in your villa or next to the pool area. Dinner by the pool was very cosy with torches lit, fireflies and star lighted sky.

The area is very local, and you only find a few tourist. The nearby beach is very beautiful, but a bit rough with fairly high waves (approximately 1½ meters high), but if you like body boarding it is perfect. There is a small restaurant with a few sunbeds by the beach, where you can buy lunch, soda and bear. You have the beach almost for yourself and there is sand as far as you can see.

Tisare Villas should have free "Tuctuc" (small three-wheeler) service to the beach. The one time we tried to go with that Tuctuc, the driver was not very friendly and would not take us because we had been driving with another Tuctuc driver during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Lund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mosta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

just comeback after spending 12 days at tisara villas.what can i say?great value for money--clean very spacious villas,we were a party of 4 adults and there was plenty space for all of us.
the large garden was fantastic ,full of different types of trees,birds and a big pool right in the middle.very quite and chilled,yet only a 15 minute tuk tuk ride to unawatuna beach.oh and the highlight for me was taking a dip in the pool late at night and just listenind to the resident frogs croaking away!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The villas are clean and well laid out around a great pool. The staff are friendly and attentive and there is a broad menu with a mix of Sri Lankan and Western dishes.

Reception can organise tuktuks and taxis and there are also bicycles that you can borrow to ride round Koggala lake/into town. There is a very quiet beach nearby which is great for an early morning swim.

We were very well looked after at Tisara and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreyhoundRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karachi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

we were at the villas for 3 nights. We had a very good time. The staff is attentive and the ambience excellent. You wake up in the morning to the tweeting of birds.The villas are a bit isloted though so there is little to do in the evenings. Dining options are limited to eating in. While ordering food at the villas stick to Sri Lankan. If you like being indoors and finish a book, this is the place. There are three options in case you decide to go out. A trip on the Koggala Lake which about 15 minutes tuk tuk drive and costs about Sri Lankan Rs 100. The second option is the Unawatuna beach and the third option is about half an hour tuk tuk ride to Galle. When taking the tuk tuk use the villa staff to make arrangements to avoid being cheated and usual hassels of taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Each villa has 2 bedrooms, which can accomodate 4 people. Individual rooms cannot be booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
1.1 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Modarawattha
Villa Modarawattha
#3 of 8 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Cabanas Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tisara Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tisara Villas

Property: Tisara Villas
Address: Duwa Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel with 8 villas set in a lush tropical garden, Tisara Villas is a quiet oasis of tranquility. Only 500 metres form the beach, Tisara Villas offers you a very private and secluded villa for complete relaxation. Very close to Galle, Unawatuna, Thalpe and koggala. Scuba diving, snorkeling, whale watching, surfing, visits to rain forests, safaris, and other excursions arranged for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tisara Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tisara Villas Hotel Koggala
Tisara Villas Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing