We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for friends and family”
Review of Tisara Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tisara Villas
Ranked #5 of 8 Koggala B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for friends and family”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Tisara Villas was an amazing place to stay for a long weekend. The bungalows are spacious and tidy and the setting is idyllic. There is a huge pool that is perfect for relaxing or even swimming laps. The breakfast is simple but fresh and delicious - and served outside in the garden each morning. The service was excellent, everyone was so welcoming and polite. We really felt truly at home at Tisara. The value is excellent for what you are paying and it is so much better than staying at one of the large resorts. It is a great oasis and escape.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the beginning of December 2012.

In order to keep this review short, we have split our review into pros and cons:

+ The villas are all separate and spacious, and with only a limited number of villas it's a quiet location without package tourists
+ The peaceful swimming pool is surrounded by trees with dozens of beautiful birds to watch
+ Breakfast is served next to the pool, and includes a fruit platter, eggs, toast, and sausages (although the fruit platter became smaller day by day)
+ Service was generally attentive (for example we spent 1 day at the pool, and we were offered a fresh coconut for free)
+ Since there is no beach at the villas, guests are able to use the facilities at the nearby Koggala Beach Hotel (which has the same owners) which is located directly on the beach, for free

- Although some aspects of the service were good, at times it was disappointing. The wifi in our villa never worked, and we were never given a code for our safe (we couldn't set our own code). We complained about these points several times and were always promised they would be addressed, but never got any results.
- The staff at the villa promote the services of a tuk-tuk driver who lives next door. He can drive guests into the village of Koggala for free, but will spend the time trying to sell you trips to other places, and at very inflated prices. Since the property is just outside of the village, the only other option is to walk into the village (which only takes 10 minutes), where you can find other tuk-tuk drivers and bargain a much better price, for example for trips to Galle or Unawatuna.
- Koggala is a very small village with few things to do or visit with the exception of the beach and the nearby spice garden (at Koggala lake), although even this is basically a tourist trap. Staying in a more established village or resort like Unawatuna gives you a lot more options for food, entertainment, and activities.
- The wardrobes in our bedroom were full of moth balls, with the result that they STANK! We didn't use them in the end, as otherwise our clothes would have smelled too. The room itself smelled from the moth balls, and at the end of our stay our clothes had begun to smell too.
- One of the biggest negative points during our stay was the mosquitoes. Even though they advertised that mosquitoes wouldn't be a problem, they were around all day and were particularly annoying in the late afternoon. Even with strong mosquito repellent, a mosquito coil, and a mosquito net on the bed, we were bitten several times every day. The villas are made with French doors to access a small private garden, but opening these would let mosquitoes in whenever we opened them and so we kept these closed all day. Mosquitoes were also a problem around the pool (mainly in the late afternoon), which was surrounded by trees and vegetation.
- Due to the mosquito problem, we kept the large French doors closed all the time in our villa. In our bedroom we only had 2 small windows otherwise which left the room very dark.
- Not obvious at first, we only noticed the other major problem with our villa towards the end of our stay: BED BUGS! With all the mosquitoes around we initially assumed all our itchy bites came from mosquitoes. However we noticed that we always had more in the mornings, despite the mosquito net, and some of the bites were smaller. It was only just before we left that we realized that they came from bed bugs - and a day later one of us even found a bed bug traveling with us!

Value for money for 2 people wasn't great (4 people could have stayed in our villa for the same price, which would have been a more reasonable price). For people who don't mind mosquitoes too much, this is potentially a problem that can be lived with. The bed bug problem however is something that can and needs to be solved, as this is a major issue. Ignoring this problem, overall the villa was a quiet and peaceful place to stay, but as Koggala is a very small village with little to do, the location could be better. Tisara Villas is potentially more suitable for families who can get better value for money from the villas (provided they don't mind the mosquitoes!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mystrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

excellent value for money! excellent service, very friendly staff. The villas are a generous size each with their own little garden. The villas and grounds are clean and child friendly. It had a very social atmosphere with a good number of families.
we would stay here again.
The Farbrothers, Hants,UK

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

my husband and I stayed in this villa for almost a week. the Villa was great, nice and quite, away from Tourist bankers. Staff were very friendly...food was good, the best meal was traditional Sri Lanka food.
Rooms were big and clean, bed with mosquitoes net, would've been better if all windows had mosquitoes net.
they put Mothballs in wardrobe so much that the entire room, and eventually yourself and your entire suitcase smell of Mothballs
Alcoholic drinks sold by Villa were extremely expensive. for two bottle of wine (cheap wine that you'll normally pay around EUR5.00 in Europe) we paid almost EUR50.00 even for Swiss standard it was expensive. I'd say its best to buy from outside, or ask for price list first, which we failed to do.
the hotel is located in an area surrounded by locals, so you'll get few very persistent guys trying to sell you anything from shampoo to safari trips, watch out for a guy called Sri, a took took driver next door and avoid him...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at Tisara villa for a week and had a wonderful time. After a 2 hour drive from Colombo on the new express-way arriving at the villas was a great feeling! Our villa was ready for us and check in was a breeze...the villa was beautiful, very clean and comfortably furnished.. with.a functional kitchen, and a private garden where we spent most of our evenings! The pool was just a step away and was lovely, the kids enjoyed it very much. The garden is filled with birds and flowers...there are 2 lilly ponds too.
I think the best part was having food served in your own villa at your own table. Our kids were very comfortable and meal times were relaxed( ;) ) The food is good too. The staff are really sweet and try their best to make your stay comfortable. Namal(?) and Ajuntha (??) were very helpful.
Our thanks to Mr Anura , his Manager Mr Neel and all the staff at Tisara villa.....My family enjoyed our stay so much that my daughter calls it Paradise Villa ! Would we go back....yes for sure!

Room Tip: You will need mosquito repelleant in the evenings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brinnell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of march ,opportunistically taking in a couple of days of the test match at Galle that is 20 mins away.
We had the largest villa ,which has 4 enormous bedrooms and its own private garden and housekeeper.
He kept the place spick and span ,bought us treats such as king coconut juice and did any clothes washing as we needed.
The accommodation was fantastic ,the pool was large and cool(as in temp, a lot of pools were too hot).
The only slight bleamish and it is only a small gripe ,certainly not a deal breaker,was the food was only average and a little pricey.
Breakfast likewise was fine ,but nothing special
.A couple of evenings we asked our driver to take us to Unuwatuna where there are loads of places to eat on the beach which was great fun with all the cricket crowd in town.
We enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great food, great staff team, great vibe.

We were lucky enough to be staying at Tisara the week that the owner flew in some celebrity chef called Herman to train the three resident chefs and improve the menu. So we were guinea pigs for some delicious new additions including fresh rock oysters, kingfish with pumpkin mash, green mango and papaya salads and suchi and sashimi yum yum! The resident chefs haven't quite got Herman's flare (I think partly because they were too preoccupied with the Lanka-England test match to inject passion into their cuisine) but they don't do a bad job either. Apparently they are adding a clay oven pizza soon too so if you stay here for too long you’ll be packing on the pounds. We had had a frustrating time of it up in the hill country with standards of service repeatedly disappointing. By contrast the staff at Tisara – from the four dedicated gardeners, the boys who clean your villa and make your beds every day, the guy with a big moustache who gives great massages through to Neil the manager and Anura the owner … were outstanding in terms of cheer and bending over backwards to make our stay relaxed. Our kids loved the place as its so secure they could just roam free in the garden and frolic in the pool all day. We’ll be coming back, and for longer than a week next time as I was just starting to feel like a reformed movie star when we had to hit the highway and head back to our rat race existences.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
1.1 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
7.1 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
205 reviews
4.3 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tisara Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tisara Villas

Property: Tisara Villas
Address: Duwa Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel with 8 villas set in a lush tropical garden, Tisara Villas is a quiet oasis of tranquility. Only 500 metres form the beach, Tisara Villas offers you a very private and secluded villa for complete relaxation. Very close to Galle, Unawatuna, Thalpe and koggala. Scuba diving, snorkeling, whale watching, surfing, visits to rain forests, safaris, and other excursions arranged for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tisara Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tisara Villas Hotel Koggala
Tisara Villas Sri Lanka/Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing