We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koggala Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This was our last stop on our tour of Sri Lanka. All we wanted was a rest before making the journey home. The hotel about 1 1/4 hours journey from Colombo down their new two-lane motorway.

The hotel is 3-star so we didn't expect luxury. We weren't disappointed. As a background to this hotel, in 2006 it suffered a 3 metre wave from the tsunami and parts of it were just opened in early 2012. It was a much larger hotel but has been split into 2/3/4 hotels next door to one another.
Our room was quite basic but the bathroom/shower were good. The beach was only 20 metres from our room via a convenient door. The housekeeper kept the room spotless every day and supplied us with clean linen and towels daily.
The meals were nothing to write home about but were fresh and hot, buffet style. The hotel management were always available for their customers should you require assistance. We were in October and, unfortunately, the sea was quite rough but the hotel has an infinity pool.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

The most terrible hotel ....we just hoped for a nice place to have real holiday on the beach. The room was old and at the very end of the hotel. The sun beds broke and dirty. The housekeeping was friendly. The restaurant was like a cantina from the army, poor choice of food and not clean.
Not a 3 star but a 1 star hotel with no personality.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is a 3 star hotel,with 5 star staff and great views and beach. The room we had was fine, good size, good shower room, kept really clean by a lovely housekeeper. We were all inc. and it was great value. The food was good, good variety, and the hygiene excellent, with food always covered. The drinks were goood quality, the bar staff a great laugh, and the grounds were kept very clean. Ok some of the furniture and sunbeds are dated, but that sure didn't spoil a great holiday. Fab location for exploring some great beaches and cities. Do use the local busses as well as the tuk tuks, there great fun, and a good way to meet the locals.

Room Tip: 1st floor room near to reception., ask for a mosquito net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibbo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

this is a 3 star hotel, so don't expect great luxury, it's very clean and tidy,and some furniture and sun loungers could do with renewing. The rooms are fine, the bathroom clean and a good shower. The bed was comfy and the room was kept very clean by a great housekeeper. There was a good choice of Sri Lankan food at all meal times, most very tasty ,some cooked to order, and the food was always covered, and the cleanliness was really good. The staff were all great, they cannot do enough for you. We were all inclusive, the drinks were all good, and most times staff were there to serve you. The beach and the view from the pool are brilliant. The sister hotels are ok. Also it's a great location to go and visit some fab beaches, and do use the local busses, a great experience. Overall it's a 3 star hotel with 5 star staff and a 5 star location. We had a great holiday and would definitely go back..

Room Tip: Try get a room on the 1st floor, and in the main hotel complex,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ibbo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just back from the Kogalla Beach Hotel . This is a 3 star hotel ! Some of the poor reviews must be from virgin travellers or people expecting a 5 star hotel. The staff were all so good nothing was too much trouble. On arrival i requested a room nearer reception only to be invited into the general managers office who explained that a room was unavailable as all 8 world cup cricket ladies t20 teams were staying here and in the sister hotel The Long Beach. The hotel standard obviously reaches those required for international sports teams . He apologised for being unable to move rooms imediately but offered any room in the hotel when the cricketers left and a free upgrade. He was so helpful.
The food had great variety and the service was fine.
The hotel location is fantastic, 15 mins on the bus to Unawatuna and 25 mins to Mirissa two of the nicest beaches in Sri Lanka.
The view from the pool is amazing out towards the beautiful beach to the sea.
Please remember this is a 3 star hotel in Asia . Fantastic place and will return.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors but a very long hotel so a request for a room nearer reception pool etc is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

If u want just a place to bunk... and you dont care how the room, the service and the food is... this is the place for you...
We had made a reservation and went in and were given 2 rooms at the extreme end of the hotel.. the were facing the sea.. and it was all awesome till we went in.. one room was stinking of rotten fish and other other one has a problem with the A/c. the A/C guy tried his best to get it fixed for over 2 hours and failed. we had to keep bugging the front desk to get a change of rooms and very reluctantly gave us one in the evening. For the smelly one, they clean, washed and sprayed air freshner to no use and ultimately gave a room after about 4 hours of trouble!.
Food was such a flop and the only positive of this palce is the service staff at the restaurant. they were cool.
I would never go there... and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel and rooms are a bit worn and tired but it's certainly got a nice resort feel. The rooms are a bit dull and need an upgrade. The bar and lounge area looks over the beach and pool area. The beach is right in front and is quite beautiful. If you get the rooms at a good price, then it's an ok place to stay. More like a 2.5 to 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dropbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
229 reviews
5.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koggala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sunspot Tours, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koggala Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing