We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koggala Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Excellent location next to sea with very clean beach. Sea here is Blue...!! Hotel has nice clean swimming pool. Rooms are big enough with pvt balconies with sea view. Cleanliness in bathroom needs to be improved. Food is basic and is repetitive if u go for buffet and stay over 2 to 3 days..! Overall its good hotel. Nice and cooperative staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tushar06007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stating the Night Club in the Koggala is very Good idea. Because People who want to enjoy have to go to the Unawatuna in the Night. But Now Club 52 in Koggala Beach Hotel Makes everybody Happy.
I specially Thank Mr. Upeksha Food & Beverage Manager for his Idea and His Talent.
I wish All the Best to CLUB 52 and Mr. Upeksha to Full Success in feature.

Thanks..

Jeab

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeabNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stating the Night Club in the Koggala is very Good idea. Because People who want to enjoy have to go to the Unawatuna in the Night. But Now Club 52 in Koggala Beach Hotel Makes everybody Happy.
I specially Thank Mr. Upeksha Food & Beverage Manager for his Idea and His Talent.
I wish All the Best to CLUB 52 and Mr. Upeksha to Full Success in feature.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeabNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent three weeks here from 24th November to 15th December and had a relaxing time. The rooms are quite large with fridge/tea/coffee/kettle etc. and cleaned everyday with clean towels & sheets. The restaurant was well laid out and kept very clean. The food was varied and they even managed my gluten free diet - a credit to all the chefs. The bar area was great for pre dinner drinks and to talk to other guests about trips etc. Our favorite was Uda Walawe National Park where we saw elephant with their babies. We loved the warm swimming pool, and you could use the pools at the Village and Long Beach Hotel as well. As the beach is about 5 miles (8 Kl.) long it was never crowded and it was lovely to walk. We shall be back as the all the staff made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. This was our 5 visit to Sri Lanka, the first being in 1972 !!!

Room Tip: We like a room with a balcony overlooking the sea - to have a cup of tea and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ellieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It was fortunate that we managed to get a room by just walking in (no thanks to our tour agents United Holidays for screwing up our stay plans!). We were initially told that there were no more rooms because the last 2 rooms were secured for online booking. But we negotiated and they accommodated to us, which was really nice of them. They even agreed to charge us the online price, which was cheaper than the walk-in price.
The room is big, comfortable and clean. The weird thing about many of the hotels I've stayed in Sri Lanka is that they do not have blankets! And this hotel as well only had a measly piece of thin sheet provided. But what I really liked about the room is that it has a little porch area with a table and 2 chairs. Nice to just chill and enjoy the beach and the sound of the waves. But do go prepared with mosquito repellent!
The food at the hotel isn't all that great and the breakfast buffet actually ends at 9.00am! That's pretty early.
However, the lazing area and the beach is just amazing! It is so relaxing to just lie on the lazy chairs provided by the hotel, just watching and listening to the waves. The beach is really clean and the water is amazing! Not quite for swimming as the wave and the current can be pretty strong.

Would definitely go back to the Koggala beach!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stay at Koggala Beach Hotel in March 2011 and we were very pleased by hospitality of locals and hotel staff. Room was small, but nice and clean and housekeeper came every day to make sure, that we are happy. Air condition was little bit louder than we want at night. Food at the hotel was simply amazing, i mean it. We tried many restaurants, but hotel cousine was simply the best of all. Beach in front of the hotel is just unbelievable, very long, clean, very romantic. We literally spend hours just walking here and there... If you wanna go with your kids, choose another place, sea is in south Sri Lanka "wild" and for kids is not safe to swimm there .-) (they can play in the pool, fo course, but the ocean is another thing).

Worth to try:

- trips with locals using tuk-tuks (they are really cheap and very helpful), they can show you local art workshop, spice gardens, beautiful lake...;
- trip to safari in Yala National Park (Elefants, Monkeys, Snakes, Birds - amazing Wildlife);
- trip to Galle (city nearby);
- trip to Buddhist temple in Matara (!!!);
- trip to tea plantations;

PS: It is maybe a three star hotel, but don't expect luxury. It is not Europe or USA, it's Asia ;-) ...
PPS: we can definitely reccomend this place ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladaF-CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This was our last stop on our tour of Sri Lanka. All we wanted was a rest before making the journey home. The hotel about 1 1/4 hours journey from Colombo down their new two-lane motorway.

The hotel is 3-star so we didn't expect luxury. We weren't disappointed. As a background to this hotel, in 2006 it suffered a 3 metre wave from the tsunami and parts of it were just opened in early 2012. It was a much larger hotel but has been split into 2/3/4 hotels next door to one another.
Our room was quite basic but the bathroom/shower were good. The beach was only 20 metres from our room via a convenient door. The housekeeper kept the room spotless every day and supplied us with clean linen and towels daily.
The meals were nothing to write home about but were fresh and hot, buffet style. The hotel management were always available for their customers should you require assistance. We were in October and, unfortunately, the sea was quite rough but the hotel has an infinity pool.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
211 reviews
18.4 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koggala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: £35 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sunspot Tours, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koggala Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing